Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Face off against opposing crews online using your MyPLAYER. Create your logo and face off in 5v5 battles with other crews featuring leaderboards and stats. Play with 14 of the top European teams, featuring authentic uniforms and players. Player attributes and tendencies automatically update daily to reflect true life hot and cold streaks. Now, each game played in the NBA can have an effect on your game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    95
    The champion stays on top for now with their strongest effort yet. NBA 2K14 combines the rock-solid gameplay of the series with a great new control scheme and a fun LeBron-centric new mode that will suck you in.
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    92
    2K did it again. One more year, their NBA basketball franchise reinvents itself again so it can offer us an experience that is true to every small aspect of this high level sport. The inclusion of FIBA teams, or the "LeBron James: Path of the Greatness" game mode are the big new features in a game that is, maybe, perfect.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    One of the best sports games ever made and clear proof of the great work made by Visual Concepts during these last years.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    NBA 2K14 is a smaller step ahead than we’re used to, but still shines when it comes to game modes, controls, animations and atmosphere. Regarding sports games, this is the cream of the crop.
  5. 84
    Simply put, NBA 2K14 is better than NBA 2K13, and worth buying even if you picked up last year’s release.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    Overall it's the best NBA game to date; the team at Visual Concepts did extremely well tuning the new system controls, though I would not discard the idea that there is still work to do in this field. This 2014 version is not quite a farewell to this generation, because we will have the same game, a version on steroids for the new consoles later this year.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Outside of the new animations, it's hard to see where NBA 2K14 has really advanced ahead of last year's outing. [Issue#141, p.112]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 47
  2. Negative: 23 out of 47
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    It seemed absolutely identical to last years NBA 2K13, until I actually played it. Defense is better than ever, much more challenging, more modes than 2K13 and the improvements they made make this game the best basketball simulation ever. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    People trly don't understand how you can overlook the AI on defense. I am a hardcore 2k fan since 2k through ESPN basketball now to these! And I have to say, this is the first time, you really have to be smart on offense and play to your guys strengths, b/c korny dunks are done with (for the most part). Bad passes to the crowded interior don't happen. Dribbling through the defense is hopeless. Anyone who knows how the game of basketball is actually played, greatly respects this game! I think it's those people who like arcade like games and "fun" game modes that have a problem with this. If you like the actual feel of the NBA where people like Andre Iguodala DONT go off for 30 every night just because they can jump, then you love this game Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic as all others NBA 2ks...
    The only point is that it is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 and 2k12..
    There were no many
    changes. I really did not see any.
    It just became a bit difficult to make dribbles and easier to steal balls...

    But it is exactly the same.

    Despite that I love NBA 2k series so I have to give a great score.
    Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    yes the game looks like 2k13, and yes the menus and my player mode look almost identical. even tho lebron is great this whole game is to revolved around him. i would like my player to be more like 2k10 or 2k11(best 2k ever) in terms of being drafted based on multiple games instead of one game at the garden which doesnt even nake sense, even tho i got drafted 5th overall this time.

    in terms of gameplay im on da fence. the game is smooth, no lag, no choppyness, very free flowing. however i thought the creators would of learned from 2k12(worst 2k ever) that you can not make a game so real to the point were if the ball hits off of anyone's body part you loose it. many of times im playing 2k14, and someone feels the need to turn it into a football match at the line of scrimmage, ive had the basketball kneed, elbowed, headbutted and even butt fumbled away from me at least 12 times a game.

    the pro stick is a good idea but i dont think there was anything wrong with 2k13.s controls. stepback jumpshots and certain crossovers seem like your putting in a cheat code to attempt it. but the flashy passer is a dope idea i like the fact that you cant cheese with the spin layup like 2k13. only one way to to dunks with the computer choosing which dunks they want to do for you is no bueno, example blake griffin back a two hand dunk and places the ball on his back in the half court offense can be knocked out of his hands by anybody

    they put shot blocking in the game which is a great plus, dont kno why they ever took it out. but my biggest problem with 2k14 is the fact that AI does not respect perimeter players with out the ball. any and all perimeters player go unguarded on the perimeter for some strange reason. which is a big no-no because ive dropped 30+ with players like jason terry, kevin martin, derrick williams, vince carter, ben gordon, and even gerald green because off ball players have enough room to catch and shoot uncontested. and just like how i do it opponents do it as well even if you play the comp on hall of fame they dont gaurd you even if the person gets hot.
    Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    2
    I Have always loved the nba 2k games but i have to say this years installment was a complete disappointment. my favorite mode is career and they ruined it with awful AI for your team and crazy limitations on your players stats. The controls are different and although shooting layups on fast breaks is easier and dunks are now block able ever other feature has gotten worse in the game play. overall i wasted my money on this game when last years installment was one of my favorite sports games ever this one did not live up to my hopes Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    This game is trash the controls have changed for The worse I prefer using square and circle, the amount of reaching your allowed to do is ridiculous, obvious fouls are not called and some players are very overrated., Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    I cannot believe... This is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 in every aspect. Same movement, same animations, same menu, same dunks, same passes, same replays. Only the line ups are different.. Do not waste your money on this. Probably the next gen version will be much better, and thats all that counts in this year. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews