NBA 2K9 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MArkM.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    THis game is a lot better than the 09. Its contorls are very nice and the free throws are easy. Seriously i can hit almost every freethrow on perfect release except for those players with the "messed up" motion. 10 out of 10.XD
  2. RogerT.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    This game is thee best basketball game to date! 2K really did emprove alot...and not just the graphics!
  3. RobertC.
    Oct 11, 2008
    8
    This is definitely a game for the major basketball fanatic. The amount of depth that this game shows in the Association mode is crazy. The play calling is responsive and the ball handling is good as well. The game should only be played in 1080 or 720 resolution. Anything less will not do the graphics justice. The detail on the characters is well done although a few player models are off. This is definitely a game for the major basketball fanatic. The amount of depth that this game shows in the Association mode is crazy. The play calling is responsive and the ball handling is good as well. The game should only be played in 1080 or 720 resolution. Anything less will not do the graphics justice. The detail on the characters is well done although a few player models are off. The online needs a little work in the lobby department, but after the game is connected, it is a smooth experience. The blacktop modes could have been left out, but the best portions would have to be the dunk contest and 21. The three point shoot out, while simplified with just the player worrying about the shooting, is a little too simple once the timing is down. All in all, this is a great simulation basketball game with a few kinks that ultimately won't effect a great experience. A must buy! Expand
  4. LennyC
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    Great game. Def. better than live. Graphics aren't quite up to par with its rival, however gameplay and features are WAY better in 2K. Association 2.0 is great. 'east sideeee we readdyy, we readddyyy'.
  5. JayDu
    Oct 14, 2008
    8
    Honestly this game has made improvement from 2k8. Low Post Game really sucks gumballs, but overall though the game is really up to par. EA is falling of greatly compared to the 2k series.
  6. Filthy512
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    This game is feature-packed....I have had nba live and nba 2k9 for about a week and on the surface It looked like nba live had it, but having spent more time with 2k9, I can definitely see this is the better of the two by a long shot i'd give nba live a 8.1. If I could i'd give 2k9 a 9.5 it's not perfect but damn near
  7. AidaO.
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    Being previously a live player, I was at first disappointed in my switch to 2k. The menus suck, and the general feel is not good. However, the gameplay is SOOO much better than Live. Not a dunk fest and much more difficult to play. First game, on pro mode I hung with the opp but struggled as the game went on and the AI adjusted to my play. At least it is a challenge unlike Live. Tried the Being previously a live player, I was at first disappointed in my switch to 2k. The menus suck, and the general feel is not good. However, the gameplay is SOOO much better than Live. Not a dunk fest and much more difficult to play. First game, on pro mode I hung with the opp but struggled as the game went on and the AI adjusted to my play. At least it is a challenge unlike Live. Tried the assoc mode and picked up Pierce, Rondo, R.Davis, McDyess, Bogut and some good role players. Obviously didn't take enough notice of the cap so I'm stuck with some long contracts. Overall, I'm now glad I made the switch even after playing only 3-4 games. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Yes, NBA 2K9 is great. While Living Rosters and Five-on-Five online are noteworthy additions to the franchise, the game doesn’t feature much new stuff besides those two options. Instead, Visual Concepts tweaked, improved and continued to build upon several aspects the franchise has been accustomed to deliver year after year. It’s definitely good to see the improvement especially after the less-stellar 2K8. NBA 2K9 is the closest you will get to the NBA world and it’s definitely worth every penny.
  2. 67
    While this will probably be embraced by the fans, it’s just a little too realistic for its own good, and as such isn’t as fun as it could be. Anyone considering looking for a change could start this year.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    82
    The slickest and toughest basketball game of the year. [Dec 2008, p.84]