Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    90
    On Fire Edition is a great game, and at only $14.99, it could be one of the best deals on PSN right now. It will make you wonder how such a simple game can be so addicting. Kitrow may be right. Maybe it is the shoes.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    That this is the definitive version of NBA Jam is undeniable: it plays better, looks better and lasts better than any of the previous games in the series' history. The fact that it's a mere $14.99 USD only makes it an even more irresistible proposition.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    85
    NBA Jam: OFE is so much better than it's predecessor. Seeing how well this game is constructed, we don't even know why the first game was ever launched. This game is pure fun, especially with friends. A great substitute for when there's no basketball on TV.
  4. Oct 14, 2011
    85
    When a game so enjoyable and exciting -as the On Fire Edition of NBA Jam is- is offered in such an affordable price, then you know you're on for a real treat.
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    85
    Aside from these issues, I really enjoyed NBA Jam: On Fire Edition. It is certainly reminiscent of old-school NBA Jam, which is what I'm looking for.
  6. Good news for the pyromaniacs: this On Fire Edition of NBA Jam is a lot better than the Wii-port that was released a while back. This remake offers great value and is a great tribute to the 16 bit-classic. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    84
    There's no Remix modus and that's a shame, but this is by no means a gamebreaker. NBA Jam: On Fire is an accessible and incredibly fun game which will stay in your PS3 for a long time.
  8. Oct 5, 2011
    83
    It all gets old a little too quick-even faster if you don't play with friends. But if you do, or you were a fan of the old-school NBA Jam titles (or you're just stuck in the 90s like me), then NBA Jam: On Fire Edition is a slam dunk.
  9. On Fire is a substantial update to an already excellent game, adding a considerable selection of new features, modes, and unlockables that – taken as a whole – make this the definitive version of NBA Jam. [Dec 2011, p79]
  10. An evolution of last year's game rather than an overhaul. [Christmas 2011, p.109]
  11. We dug the re-worked campaign mode, but multiplayer matches for up to four players just can't be beat. [Holiday 2011, p.78]
  12. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    The rebirth of the NBA Jam series has found his ideal channel of distribution, with a new version which returns to the classic style of the original arcade. It has many changes in comparison with the game of last year, and it drops some of its features, but adds others which compensates for. A very interesting option with a good price.
  13. Oct 5, 2011
    80
    Once you get a game going with friends or online fodder, though, On Fire Edition shows its best side, and could easily turn "one more match" into hours spent cracking jokes and laughing at every comment the announcer makes. And for a b-ball know-nothing like me, that's more than enough justification to find yourself playing a sports game. Just don't take it too seriously.
  14. Oct 10, 2011
    78
    Simple, fast, fun, and even funny gameplay/presentation makes playing a few quick games the perfect way to burn a half an hour.
  15. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    The game has a lot of appeal. It fixes a lot of problems but there are some cuts that put a ding in the improvements. I like challenges but I hate how frustrating the AI can be. Play with friends online and locally and you'll have barrels of fun.
  16. Dec 1, 2011
    64
    Aside from some ramped-up AI, there isn't much depth here to differentiate one match from another. [Issue#212, p.103]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    This game really brought me back to the 16 bit days, when performing high altitude dunks meant something than just winning the game.
    This
    game is a much needed break from regular sport titles that try to be too simulation-like, and offers an altenative to when having fun can come from just about anything and anywhere.
    I was going to purchase the Wii version, but when I heard this title would be coming out, I waited to see just what it actually includes, in case it wasn't just a nerfed version of the retail copy.
    First, this game doesn't have the "Remix Mode" or boss battles that the retail version does. However this one is only $15 and includes; enhanced gameplay, better AI, improved online features, XP, unlockables, and challenges, and improved rosters.
    This game provides hours and hours or fantastic gameplay, audio, and more. Playing the game with co-op is even better imo, because you can pull off ridiculous moves and unlock tons of content.
    One main reason I see people picking up this version is for the better online. Out of the many games I played, I think I only had like 2-3 that were laggy. Even if you play offline games, you will still be able to earn xp, purchase teams, players, and other stuff, and get the whole experience, minus a few "Arena" challenges.
    Overall, this game is well worth the price to play it, and if the game has DLC or updates down the road, I probably would have no problem paying for those as well. Yes the people who bought the retail version might feel a little bit ripped off, but I urge anyone familiar with NBA Jam or any arcade sports games to give it a shot.
    I'm rating this game a 9/10. As it is very close to being perfect. The reason it's not a 10 is because they removed the "Remix Mode" and boss battles, which imo would have added even more gameplay and hours to the game.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    I can't remember when I had this much fun with a bball game. oh, wait, I can: genesis/megadrive era. not only does this game clear up some of the minor concerns of its parent property, it is also a strong contender for the most fun I've had with a sports title. oh, and It's incredible value. must have. Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    A very intense and fun game. Coming from someone who didn't enjoy the old Jams that much, this one really shined for me: the gameplay feels more fluent and not excessively fast, it has a nice career mode, has a ton of unlockable stuff, alot of settings you can change to spice up the gameplay, the dunks are borderline amazing, etc.

    My only complaints are that online can be a bit laggy (although it seems to dissipate over time, very quickly), shoving locks you in place, I haven't found any Juice mode and there aren't any injury ratings, but that's just about it. This is pure high-octane arcade action, a must-buy for the PS3.
    Full Review »