Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. NBA Live 08 doesn’t add a whole lot of new modes, but the stronger gameplay goes a long way. The improved, more realistic gameplay, coupled with the excellent presentation package make NBA Live 08 a must-have for basketball game fans.
  2. Still, NBA Live 08 can finally give 2K a run for its money and is a serious contender for your basketball dollars. [Dec 2007, p.81]
  3. The best place to shoot hoops both online and off. [Oct 2007, p.85]
  4. This year's game slam-dunks its predecessors, thanks to improved speed, more realistic player animations and most importantly, exquisite five-on-five play.
  5. 80
    Post play is not only a viable option this year, it's my preferred way to score, and I really can't remember the last time that was true in a basketball game.
  6. NBA Live 08 is in serious contention for Best Basketball Game this year. That just shows you how much improved 08 is after the disaster of 07. Who says EA doesn't listen?
  7. NBA Live 08 delivers arguably the most convincing looking and playing game of hoops. It may not be super rich in its mechanics, but that doesn't change the fact that the game just plays well and is the most fluid basketball game to control.
  8. This is NBA Live as it definitely should be - deep, engrossing, polished fun. [Dec 2007, p.114]
  9. What it lacks in features, it makes up for in gameplay and presentation.
  10. If EA sports manage to fix a couple of issues in this game, NBA live 09 will surely be the game to beat next year. Until then though, play some more 2k8.
  11. A great creation system, deep dynasty dynamics, amazing animations and terrific play-by-play are the hallmarks of this title. EA Sports, though, needs to get a better framerate to go along with the high-definition graphics it is pumping into the license.
  12. NBA Live 08 is a good game. It's not a great game yet. It has plenty of problems, and I must say it's still not quite on par with the impressive basketball simulation that is NBA 2K8. But the gap has closed this year. It plays, looks, and feels better than last year, and if it keeps improving, we'll have the great NBA Live series of old.
  13. NBA Live 08 has come a long way from the catastrophe of 2007.
  14. If you're passionate about basketball, this is as comprehensive a sim as you could hope for. [Nov 2007, p.84]
  15. NBA Live 08 is a vastly improved game that is nearly ready for primetime. With another year under its belt, NBA Live may be contending for the championship.
  16. Thanks to significantly improved gameplay, NBA Live 08 is a good, solid basketball game.
  17. This shot definitely goes in, but not before taking a few lucky bounces on the rim.
  18. NBA Live 08 is a big improvement over prior next-gen versions of the game, but it still has a bit to go before it will truly feel next-gen.
  19. 71
    Investment has been made on the aspects that really matter: control and gameplay. The resulting game is one that will stay with you for some time after you have finished playing.
  20. 70
    It's the best-looking entry in the series by far, and the gameplay is finally coming close to what gamers are looking for from their at-home NBA experience. But as good as NBA Live is this year, it's still not taking home the championship.
  21. It is not quite ready for the big time, but at least it is not the Sam Bowie of video games like "Live 07."
  22. While not perfect, it's immensely playable and plenty of fun.
  23. 69
    The bulk of the basketball still doesn’t feel natural with canned animations taking the control out of the user’s hands a bit too often. The game does have its shining moments though, and we’ll definitely be expecting next year’s game to return the series to prominence.
  24. So even though Live is lookin' better, it could still use more time in the gym. [Nov 2007, p.103]
  25. 65
    While Live 08 is definitely looking better in every respect (gameplay, graphics, and online), the series still needs more time in the gym.
  26. The real disappointment about this version is the lack of different modes and mini-games.
  27. 59
    The gameplay here is a sluggish journey in the wrong direction for the NBA Live series. [Issue#158, p.95]
  28. Another predictably mediocre basketball game. [Feb 2008, p.130]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Redd
    Jan 25, 2008
    8
    THE most irritating thing for me about this game, is every once in a while when you sub players in dynasty mode by pushing start and subbing THE most irritating thing for me about this game, is every once in a while when you sub players in dynasty mode by pushing start and subbing through that menu (because there is an alternative way to sub while you are playing, but its hard to do while the game is still playing), the player identification name and ring will disapear from benath the player once you return to the game, making it hard to tell which player you are controlling. Other than that I really like it. But that one thing can be huge at a time when you are down and trying to make a comeback, or it can cost you your lead. Full Review »
  2. BryanM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    Having not played 2k8 on the ps3 I can not really compare this game to that but I have played Nba 08 and that game just stunk. no wonder NBA Having not played 2k8 on the ps3 I can not really compare this game to that but I have played Nba 08 and that game just stunk. no wonder NBA live 08 is first in sales over NBa 08 and NBa 2k8. even though the offical reviews say that live is the 2nd best the sales say other words. the graphics are great the controls when you get used to them are also not bad. the only bad part is it seems kind of slow maybe it is just me! rent this first then you can rent NBA 08 or 2k8 and you deside which you like best. but out of the three I think this game is the only one that desirves to be bought, well at least for the ps3. the 360 is a whole diffrent story I would buy 2k8 for that system. Full Review »
  3. TimD.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    Sorry Live Fans but you have low expectations following Live 07. While this game is an improvement over Live 07, it still doesnt come close Sorry Live Fans but you have low expectations following Live 07. While this game is an improvement over Live 07, it still doesnt come close to the depth of 2k8. 2k8 is the solid choice this year again. Full Review »