Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NCAA 14 gives players enhanced control over their fate on the turf and as a head coach. The introduction of Infinity Engine 2 lets you play true to your team with gameplay tuned with the unique college game in mind, while new Coach Skills and Power Recruiting create an engrossing Dynasty experience. Also included is the Ultimate Team mode which includes a number of former NCAA stars. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    EA keeps up appearances with another excellent installment in the NCAA franchise. It adds a few token new features while putting another layer of polish on an already sparkling product. If you've been away a while it's time to get back on campus.
  2. 85
    Overall, NCAA Football 14 delivers in pretty much every way imaginable, with a few issues that arise from the Infinity Engine 2 and some issues with the no huddle offense. The improvements that it brings with this year’s installment are what fans have been asking for.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    85
    NCAA Football 14 offers a worthy culmination of this generation of football games. It won’t blow anyone out of the water, but again, we really have come to a point where only so much is going to happen this generation.
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    75
    In short, if you’re a big college football fan and you know what to expect, go for it. Otherwise, wait until next generation.
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    74
    here’s a good football game here, but it’s far from an impressive package.
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    65
    A few tweaks, a couple of tacked-on modes, and some better mechanics from the borrowed Madden engine can’t overcome the basic logic flaws and imbalances that seem to be annual staples in NCAA.
  7. 65
    A decent final entry in this generation, NCAA Football 14 sports a better physics engine, more refined gameplay and mild tweaks to some game modes. We have higher hopes, however, that we see more substantial changes as this franchise makes its way to next-gen consoles.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This game is great I guess people are being so critical of it because its getting old reviewing what seems to be the same game every year. I skipped NCAA 12 and 13 and I have to say the only college game that comes close to this is NCAA 06 which was last gen. Everything is better stop hating on it! Makes me really want Madden I know its gonna be better than this. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    NCAA brought it this year.Love the OL/DL interaction this year hopefully we will see more changes in the future. Adding the "Infinity Engine" was a big plus especially when it was missing in last year's title. Also added one of my favorite modes in Ultimate Team with some sweet legends. I still want to see more with Road to Glory in terms of overall interaction. If you've never played the NCAA Football series or have been away for awhile then go out and pick it up you wont be disappointed. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Solid sports game not much has changed, I wish the game clock was at the top of the screen. Also they need new announcers same guys year in and out get boring. it's a good buy for me until madden 25 comes out on the ps4. Expand
  4. May 3, 2014
    8
    From the view of a casual football fan, this game is quite good. I've never owned a NCAA game, so I can't compare from year to year, but the gameplay is decent and fluid, with the exception of a few bugs. All teams have kit and stadia, and if you download a roster pack, correct player names.
    Only problem is that there were few people online to play UT with.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    So I have never really been a fan on the NCAA series, but with the infinity engine going in this year and the upgraded to the running and blocking game I wanted to check it out.

    The game seems to play flawlessly. I love the enhanced stadium noise. Running game seems to be on point. The option upgrades have FINALLY made this favorite college play enjoyable.

    I gave 8 out of 10.

    Way to make this game playable again!
    Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    The NCAA Football franchise has suffered some lean years of late, especially last year’s entry; when the “Infinity Engine” was announced for Madden NFL 13 to introduce physics to its gameplay—a feature NCAA Football 13 would be lacking—fans of college football were left waiting anxiously for this year’s release. With only months remaining before the start of a new console generation, NCAA Football 14 has sounded a triumphant cry to unofficially close the current console generation, delivering arguably the best iteration of the franchise since the launch of the PS3 and Xbox 360.

    It all begins with gameplay, which benefits from the implementation of “Infinity Engine 2,” helping to create more unpredictable play results. The game has also seen improvements in the Option run game—including the addition of new schemes and plays—and basic running controls where the left analog stick controls hard cuts and the right analog stick controls special moves. The “Infinity Engine 2” also brings the Hit Stick and the Truck Stick back to prominence, while making the Stiff Arm a viable tool in the offensive arsenal again.

    Blocking has been improved as well, with new assignments and interactions between offensive and defensive linemen to freshen up the running experience. There are still instances of missed assignments and frustration, but the frequency of their occurrence is significantly less than previous games.

    Dynasty and Online Dynasty modes have seen new additions through the introduction of XP and Coach Skills. Players in the mode earn XP by achieving goals in gameplay and recruiting, allowing them the ability to level up their coaches and unlock new Coach Skills. Coach Skills are broken up into skills which affect the game on the field as well as skills which assist in recruiting.

    The tried-and-true (and tired) system of recruiting from previous versions of NCAA Football has been overhauled this year with Power Recruiting. The system simplifies recruiting, eliminating the time-consuming “phone call” mechanic and streamlining menus to allow the same amount of depth in while allowing you to more quickly complete your recruiting responsibilities and get back to the game.

    Presentation has seen some upgrades as well, though not all will be fully embraced. The unique “tradition” introductions to the games were judged to be over-long, and have been replaced by “music videos” which use highlights to lead into each game; people who liked seeing what makes each of the 126 schools on-disc unique might be disappointed with the loss of these pre-game sequences. Less polarizing are the additions of new statistical overlays and a better-functioning “Living Clock” from the ESPN scorebug, which helps the NCAA Football 14 experience look and feel more like a broadcast. The addition of a halftime show with highlights and commentary from Rece Davis and David Pollack also helps to spruce up presentation, though the in-game commentary from Brad Nessler and Kirk Herbstreit continues to feel old.

    The game introduces the popular EA SPORTS staple, Ultimate Team, through NCAA Football Ultimate Team. It functions similarly to Ultimate Team from other EA SPORTS titles, though it uses cards for current and former NFL players representing their college years. There’s not much here to convince non-fans of Ultimate Team as a mode to commit to NFUT, but Ultimate Team fans will have something to keep them busier than in past years.

    There is also a “Play a Season” mode in NCAA Football 14 which strips away much of the newly-introduced XP, Coach Skills, and Power Recruiting and allows players to simply play through the 2013 season. While it will surely have its target audience, it feels strange to introduce new features to the Dynasty experience and then offer a way to avoid using those new features.

    Fans of Road to Glory mode and last year’s Heisman Challenge mode will be disappointed to find that not much has changed, though the gameplay experience benefits from the addition of the Infinity Engine 2. The lack of improvement for the “single player” career modes is a weak point in the overall package, and fans will be desperate for news about these modes in NCAA Football 15.

    NCAA Football 14 is a vast improvement over what the franchise has offered in the past few years. From a personal standpoint, it has given me significantly more enjoyment than any other version of the series released for current consoles. Usually I have to work to stay committed to a Dynasty through a season, leaving me to spend my time in Play Now one-off games; I’ve already played an entire season in my Dynasty, and the gameplay revisions combined with XP and Coach Skills have me looking forward to many more seasons. If NCAA Football 14 is the last version of the game that will be relevant on current consoles with the series making the jump to PS4 and Xbox One next summer, then at least the series will be going out with a BCS Bowl-worthy effort.
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    1
    Just another cookie cutter football game with new rosters.
    I couldn't even get through one game. I don't want more game modes Just a better
    game

    Feels like every other ea sports football and I thought the graphics were actually worse. does anyone play the game in instant replay mode because that's the graphics they keep showing off in all there
    games.
    Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews