User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeeS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    6
    I have played and finished nfs Underground and Most Wanted, both great games. ProStreet isn't even close. I rented it to check it out and WILL bring it back early and get something else. I was very disappointed. No city to drive around in. No street racing like the great nfs series has put out. Cars look nice but the customization engine that made the others so great is just not I have played and finished nfs Underground and Most Wanted, both great games. ProStreet isn't even close. I rented it to check it out and WILL bring it back early and get something else. I was very disappointed. No city to drive around in. No street racing like the great nfs series has put out. Cars look nice but the customization engine that made the others so great is just not there anymore. Having to race on all race circuit tracks is extremely boring. I wouldnt mind the damage too much if we had some of the same gameplay as previous versions. This was a big disappointment especially since this was the first game I rented on my new PS3. Bummer since i give Underground and Most Wanted high ratings. Expand
  2. xps2020
    Dec 3, 2007
    3
    Played all the nfs right from the very begining pc versions and through the psp and other larger consoles, this is the worst by far...very dissapointing game, no real sound quality just annoying comentry...graphics are ok but too unrealistic.....game modes are rubbish, no free roam like other nfs....cars dont respond well which is made worse with the ps3 controller being tiny and Played all the nfs right from the very begining pc versions and through the psp and other larger consoles, this is the worst by far...very dissapointing game, no real sound quality just annoying comentry...graphics are ok but too unrealistic.....game modes are rubbish, no free roam like other nfs....cars dont respond well which is made worse with the ps3 controller being tiny and crap...finally damage to cars is not helpfull at all as it is easy to loose control, a terrible effort from the same makers who have a long line of previous nfs games, shame on you. Expand
  3. AryaB.
    Jan 30, 2008
    5
    My first NFS title was Hot Pursuit, back in school days, and that made me fall in love with the franchise. There were many ups and downs along the way, but Pro-Street has by far been my biggest disaapointment and a total heartbreaker. Looks like, in his zeal to think out of the box, the creatives went overboard. The lighting, the environs, the physics, though quiet new, somehow falied to My first NFS title was Hot Pursuit, back in school days, and that made me fall in love with the franchise. There were many ups and downs along the way, but Pro-Street has by far been my biggest disaapointment and a total heartbreaker. Looks like, in his zeal to think out of the box, the creatives went overboard. The lighting, the environs, the physics, though quiet new, somehow falied to provide the rush of the game. At the end, the whole reality that was brought in didnt really let me live the game. If I wanted too much of reality and physics, i'd just go and buy a GT or McRae title. My Rating of 5 goes totally to the technical enhancements to the game, and no more. Which so totally saddens me because this is a title i have skipped school to play. Thankfully EA also released the Burnout Paradise, so that I can hit other cars and drown my sorrows of NFS into that. Expand
  4. JonasL.
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Some minor issues will annoy you, but overall a great game. I played it all the way through. I missed a garage where you can view your antire car collection at once. I think the Kings, or the games bosses poses limited or no difficulty at all. It took me a while to figure out how to use my own cars in multiplayer which was really irritating. The bocklet is very thin and will not answer Some minor issues will annoy you, but overall a great game. I played it all the way through. I missed a garage where you can view your antire car collection at once. I think the Kings, or the games bosses poses limited or no difficulty at all. It took me a while to figure out how to use my own cars in multiplayer which was really irritating. The bocklet is very thin and will not answer many questions you might have. Expand
  5. JeremyMyrthil
    Mar 16, 2008
    9
    Need for Speed: Prostreet is an awesome game when played through the single player alone. It has great variety and polish in its deep selection of tracks, races, and car physics, and it will truly challenge the gamer or the first time not by giving you relentless AI, but by making yo hardly decide between racing like a pro and winning races cleanly, or pushing things to the limit byNeed for Speed: Prostreet is an awesome game when played through the single player alone. It has great variety and polish in its deep selection of tracks, races, and car physics, and it will truly challenge the gamer or the first time not by giving you relentless AI, but by making yo hardly decide between racing like a pro and winning races cleanly, or pushing things to the limit by crashing into others and fighting for first. It's an excellent design choice that will effect your emotions for your ride and forever in itself change the way you play a racing game. If you don't enjoy this (and if you hate this much change in your video games) the online will drown you with affective variety, from uploading your gameplay photos to the game's website, to sharing your customized car blueprints and race day championships. This is one of the few racing games that has it all, and will most likely please everyone. Expand
  6. therealdealdude
    Jun 3, 2009
    0
    do they want t kill the franchise i only stuck the game once and never played it again couldt pass the first level and the controls sucked as any one would know wtf no free world ? that meant after u upgrade ur car and want some cops 2 chase u u get nothin were they just trying to kill s they could hype burnout pardise becuase that was the only burnout i ever liked i usally dont giveanydo they want t kill the franchise i only stuck the game once and never played it again couldt pass the first level and the controls sucked as any one would know wtf no free world ? that meant after u upgrade ur car and want some cops 2 chase u u get nothin were they just trying to kill s they could hype burnout pardise becuase that was the only burnout i ever liked i usally dont giveany game 0 but come on this game doesnt hae to offer me aything the online wasnt the shit it was shit Expand
  7. OguzS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    I don`t get it...we have seen PGR4,Forza 2,And need for speed looks terrible..EA have the tecnology to make this game look better but they didn`t...!! i am a racing game fan but this game is just disappointing...if i wanted a race game that focuses on race tracks i rather paly Forza 2 or GT4.
  8. MikeS.
    Nov 19, 2007
    2
    Remember need for speed carbon? Take away the cops, add damage to your car, annoying anouncers, crazy amounts of advertising, and you have need for speed prostreet. This game took away the fun factor of need for speed.... A waste to even rent this game.
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    4
    I bought this game back in 2008 and i regretted purchasing it so badly. This has to be one of the worst Need For Speed games ever created. Ever since the New Generation Consoles came out back in 2005 and 2006, the Need For Speed Franchise has gone down hill really fast.
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    3
    This game is very uninteresting. It isn't fast arcade-fun game or realistic simulator driving game. Graphics are from PS2 era, loading times are bad, also there are nothing new in this game. It is also very repetetiave after a few races. Not worth a buy!!
  11. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    I absolutetly love this game. review soon. maybe.
  12. May 18, 2014
    7
    I love driving games, and Need for Speed ProStreet is a fairly good one. You go into race days and play all of the events there. These events are Grip racing, Sector Shootout, where you beat record times in sectors, 1/4 mile drag, 1/2 mile drag, both of which are literally impossible to beat, and are bad modes as well. Finally, there is Time Attack and Drift. In all of these modes, youI love driving games, and Need for Speed ProStreet is a fairly good one. You go into race days and play all of the events there. These events are Grip racing, Sector Shootout, where you beat record times in sectors, 1/4 mile drag, 1/2 mile drag, both of which are literally impossible to beat, and are bad modes as well. Finally, there is Time Attack and Drift. In all of these modes, you just do the same thing: drive down a race track. However, there is plenty of fun to have in all of the game modes, aside from 1/4 and 1/2 mile drag. At a lot of times during this game, as with every game, you will have to press the X button. It takes 2 presses of the X button for the game to respond, not 1. Overall, there are better Need for Speed games, but this one gets a 7/10. Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2014
    7
    I don't understand why this game is rated so low. This is a solid racing game. Sure the graphics aren't great at all and the cars don't sound amazing, I really like the career and how there are many different types of events (even if sector shootout is broken). Plus split screen is pretty rare these days so that's a bonus. I spent like 4 weeks on this game and it was worth it.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Having to cover the damage done to your cars gives playing the game a sense of desperation, and multiple event types mix things up. Even so, Need for Speed Pro Street doesn’t quite have enough meat to cover its bones and is best suited for players who are in for the challenge, not the big crashes.
  2. 85
    It feels more sophisticated, looks great, delivers tons of cars and racing disciplines, and upgrades what was already a solid online component. But far more critical, it's one of the best drives on the PS3.
  3. Sure, it moves fast, and the online options deliver a sweet community aspect, but the 1/4-mile drag events suck, the game at times looks jaggier than a shark's mouth and the drab presentation denies it much needed personality. It's a decent racer, but not sexy enough to rev our engines.