Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    85
    Need for Speed: Rivals may not revolutionize the genre but it is an enthralling racing-experience that shows an interesting new way for the combination of single- and multiplayer-gameplay.
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    85
    Need for Speed: Rivals is the biggest adrenaline shot that any pilot should receive, in an open-world full of challenges and stunning pursuits between police and pilots.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    84
    Need for Speed Rivals is loaded with adrenaline and speed, and powered by the powerful Frostbite 3 engine. This title by Ghost Games will serve its purpose as a bridge between two console generations, and will certainly capture the attention of the general audience.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    I'm hard pressed to name a racing game in recent memory that I found this engaging. Rivals is a very mature design of wonderfully open and cleverly connected arcade racing, even though the current gen versions leave quite a bit room for improvement, from a technical standpoint.
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    72
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun game, however the open-world racing genre still needs to be refined, especially with the limit of 6-players. Nonetheless, the gameplay is sturdy, graphics detailed but the multiplayer definitely needs some work.
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    If you are not making the jump to the next generation yet this is a fun arcade racing game, but if you plan on buying a PS4 or Xbox One that's were you should play it.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 15 out of 25
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    The terrible performance issues and crashes that made this game unplayable have cleared up when I go offline. The performance is still poor but after some adaption the game becomes enjoyable. In other words, I am writing this review after having to actually adapt to how poor the framerate is. Outside of that, there is a pretty good game here, not without some stupid decisions though. It might be a 10/10 on next gen because the performane issues are cleared up. I wish I just never reviewed this game at all. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. To anyone thinking of buying Need for Speed Rivals for the PS3: Don't do it quite yet.

    The gameplay is awesome in my opinion and it has great potential, but it seems they had a rush delivery for releasing the game. Game has crashed on me three times today mid-pursuit (meaning I lost all pursuit bounty gained from the pursuit as well as task-lists completion so in other words: 45 minutes of pursuit time wasted)

    They also have impressively hosting at the moment. Players are being migrated to other hosts often, and when this happens it cancels the current event, resets the SP counter for that event and takes you back to your garage.

    There are also a decent amount of graphic bugs. For example, entities being turned into white cubes, occasionally. Falling through the ground and wrecking from time to time, and sometimes driving with the car half-way in the ground.

    Combined, these problems affect me quite frequently (enough for me to drop a 10 star rating down to a 4) From what I have read on other forums, I am not the only one.

    Plus.the ending really sucked. Looked like it was thrown together in about 10 minutes.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    If you're getting a next gen console any time soon I suggest you wait. The game has horrible performance issues, massive frame drops & freezes from time to time, reminiscent of what Undercover was like, but not quite as bad luckily. Graphics are fine... music is bad (what's new EA?) but can be overridden by a custom playlist (big plus).

    Handling wise the game leans very closely towards the latest Hot Pursuit al tho the cars seem to be slightly more stable. The only issue I have here is, there's only 2 viewpoints: behind the car and in front of it. The problem is that the behind viewpoint is really BEHIND rather then diagonally above which really clutters the screen, especially when you're playing cop side and there's red & blue light all over your screen...

    The part where the game really misses the ball is the multiplayer imo. The speedcams and jumps and all are nice to compare to your friends. But when comes to actually playing online against another human player there's just too much CPU involvement, really annoying.

    The game is definitely worse then it's predecessor (Hot Pursuit), but let's say it's about on par with Most Wanted. Most Wanted however had a pretty good and enjoyable multiplayer AND the trophy's were set up in such a way you it was actually sort of fun to get all the billboards etc... Rivals, I fear is gonna be a massive grind to get all the way up to lvl60 which is a damn shame I just don't see how the Multiplayer is gonna stay interesting for more then an hour or so.
    Full Review »