Need for Speed: Rivals Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    85
    Need for Speed: Rivals is the biggest adrenaline shot that any pilot should receive, in an open-world full of challenges and stunning pursuits between police and pilots.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    85
    Need for Speed: Rivals may not revolutionize the genre but it is an enthralling racing-experience that shows an interesting new way for the combination of single- and multiplayer-gameplay.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    84
    Need for Speed Rivals is loaded with adrenaline and speed, and powered by the powerful Frostbite 3 engine. This title by Ghost Games will serve its purpose as a bridge between two console generations, and will certainly capture the attention of the general audience.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    I'm hard pressed to name a racing game in recent memory that I found this engaging. Rivals is a very mature design of wonderfully open and cleverly connected arcade racing, even though the current gen versions leave quite a bit room for improvement, from a technical standpoint.
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    72
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun game, however the open-world racing genre still needs to be refined, especially with the limit of 6-players. Nonetheless, the gameplay is sturdy, graphics detailed but the multiplayer definitely needs some work.
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    If you are not making the jump to the next generation yet this is a fun arcade racing game, but if you plan on buying a PS4 or Xbox One that's were you should play it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 19 out of 35
  1. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    This game is my favorite out of the entire series. A verity of weapons, 2 careers, an array of cars, one huge open world, and a serious butThis game is my favorite out of the entire series. A verity of weapons, 2 careers, an array of cars, one huge open world, and a serious but dark story and when you mix all of these it is incredible.

    The game revolves around a cop story mode and a racer mode. They are both heavily different with each perspective being different with racers seeing cops nothing more than little dogs chained up on a fence trying to chase the mailman, while cops see racers as a menace of society and it works out too.
    There is over 80 cars in the game and with a frame rate almost with a solid 720p30FPS the game runs very well.

    Weapons are also very unique with some being reused only for a different task. Such as the EMP and EMP Mine. They can reach up to levels as high as 4 and that's actually pretty decent. Cars look almost realistic but however it contains a sad story in customization zone. You can only customize car paint, wheel paint, some wraps and decals and that's it. The Last-Gen versions have one thing that saddens me about is the fact that there is no motion blur in this version.

    The story mode is separated in to categories that are distinct from other categories in the respected faction. You can rank up to 61 in the game. After beating a rank you will be able to unlock cars or wraps (racers only). Cops get cars for free while racers have to buy them.

    The game's multiplayer however is blended in to the single player. That doesn't mean it's online only. Pausing in NFS Rivals is impossible especially when in single player which is kind of a boner killer if you ask me. The game also features easydrive again but it feels better than most wanted '12 with the U.I. on the screen still.

    Since this is an EA game lets talk about the glitches. Whenever you are driving at a fast paced rate, the game will sometimes automatically stop you in your tracks while it is going on still. But this doesn't happen to often. There is also quick respawn glitch which doesn't happen often either. Getting stuck out of the map doesn't happen to often either so thank goodness but when you do you're forced to restart the game because what happens is (one situation) you're stuck, that's it. Then, you can move outside the map but the only way to get out is by *coughs x2* killing yourself if you know what I mean.

    The cops in the game are aggressive and will do whatever they can to bust you if your on the opposite faction. The game also comes with a multiplier which increase as up are out in the open. Deviation. More points, more money. Speedpoints count as your currency and used to buy upgrades and such.

    Easter eggs are also in the game as well.
    Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    i have already written a review of this game but I am going to edit it :
    need for speed rivals is a great game with superb graphics and fun
    i have already written a review of this game but I am going to edit it :
    need for speed rivals is a great game with superb graphics and fun gameplay. The story is exhilarating and there are plenty of awesome looking cars in the game. Had loads of fun in multi-player. I loved the risk and reward system in the racer faction. There is a wide array of personalization options which I enjoyed using on my cars. It is very rewarding to bust a racer as a cop. The only setbacks were the continuous glitches and easy to complete speedlists.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    Only buy this game if you're going to play it offline. The gameplay is fine and is really enjoyable to play. Im sure there are a good amountOnly buy this game if you're going to play it offline. The gameplay is fine and is really enjoyable to play. Im sure there are a good amount of racing fans out there who will enjoy free roaming as a cop and then clearing the road in a car you like. It's really fun.

    Online though, don't even try it. Don't sign in. It feels really empty and It's mainly just AI driving around. A total of 6 racers can group in one server, so 3 racers, 3 cops and so on. The thing is, when you decide to close down 3 online racers your fps will start dropping to 5 or lower. The game will literally run in slowmotion. Did I mention the random 3 seconds freeze moments? It doesn't work. Perfect idea, pathetic outcome.

    In Short: BUY this game and play it offline. Don't bother about It's multiplayer just leave that to NFS: Hot Pursuit 2010.
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    Great looking game, that leaves you wondering WT* happened to the NFS franchise.

    Ill start with the good. Graphics are awesome. Zooming
    Great looking game, that leaves you wondering WT* happened to the NFS franchise.

    Ill start with the good.

    Graphics are awesome. Zooming around Redview County is just an absolute joy. Its like driving to Tahoe, Mojave desert, Santa Cruz, and Sequoia National park all rolled into one. The rain and snow effects are pulled off spectacularly. Watching the lighting change in the middle of a long pursuit gives a sense of depth to the world that is nice.

    The sound is great, but I did not enjoy the soundtrack much and turned it off. The car engines sound awesome. The tires sound cool as the slide across wet, snowy, or dry pavement.

    Thats about it for the good.

    Now the bad.
    To give you a point of reference, I have been playing NFS since the first one came out with Car and Driver as part of the title. Since, I have enjoyed watching the franchise grow and split into different sectors of the driving world, drift, drag, track, race, cannonball run, street racing, outrunning the cops, and being the cop. My favorite games in the franchise were Car and Drivers Need for Speed (PS1), Underground (PS2), Most Wanted (PS2), and Most Wanted (PS3). Up until Underground (PS2) all of the NFS games were really enjoyable. So I have played tons of titles from this franchise, and I love driving games in general, arcade (Ridge Racer's) to sim (GT_).

    The first thing I noticed was the responsiveness of everything. It wasnt. Throttle is either on or off, so modulating throttle is pointless. The throttle through the R2's range of motion is about 15% throttle 50% of the triggers range, then floored. Steering response is a slow and lumbering like your steering a giant box truck around an autocross track.
    At this point you're thinking, "Its an arcade racer, what did you expect?", well yah, but the problem is that the game's physics engine makes you feel like you're playing more of a simulator like Pro Street. Countersteering? We don't need no stinking counter steering. Yup, just turn in, and keep turning in. Don't worry you wont spin out. I think this is the biggest problem I have with this game. I don't care what kind of game you are playing but if you drift, you counter steer. Even Mario Kart his this down. The only time you counter steer is to end the drift, which goes against any and all racing game logic. If Mario Kart can have dynamic controlled drifts, then this game should too. I feel insulted that they gave me the drifting dynamic equivalence of bumper bowling.
    As things speed up fewer cars show up on the roads, and traffic dodging is fairly easy, but there are those blind turns that sneed up on you with a car in your lane. This is not a complaint, in fact its what makes the game a NFS game, and challenging. My complaint is that the lack of consistency. I want to be challenged, and again I am insulted that the traffic is severely decreased as things speed up.

    The game is unfairly weighted towards the police. As a racer it take all of two hits and your busted or wrecked and you lose all your winnings. BORING! This forces me to play in tiny sprints and climb the race ladder, in order to get faster cars that can better outrun the cops.
    Another problem is weapons. How I hate the use of weapons. Play online and get absolutely thrashed by a higher level player is just no fun. Even in racing, its easier and faster to wreck the player than it is to get to the finish line first. Racing combat is great, but if you get pushed into traffic, off a cliff, or get blasted by a weapon, there is no speed boost to help you catch up. Boom, done, race is over. This type of game play mechanics really throws off the feel of the game. This would not be a problem if there was some sort of "clean race" format that allowed the players to see who was the best driver. So if you plan on playing online, I would suggest getting to some of the super cars before heading into the public servers, as you won't be able to do much of anything except be frustrated, if you come across any high level players.

    I have played through the entire racer career and have started working on getting 100% in that. So far I stand at 92% completion for racer mode, and 25% for cop. The racer mode is fun, but once you complete the
    events, there is not much reason to finish the others. More speed lists will get you poorly designed wraps for your racer fleet. The cop mode is, from my 25%, boring. The cop cars are lumbering giants that lack speed and control. So the next 75% will be a grind.

    To conclude this game has great potential. However I feel it was trying to straddle two game play mechanics, arcade and sim, and managed to get their wires crossed. This game is playable and has some level of enjoyment to be had. However the lopsided feel of modes, lack of control, and dirty game playing enabled by use of weapons, leave this game with everything to be desired. Pass this one up, unless you can pay less that $20 for it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2014
    3
    WARNING DOES NOT SUPPORT WHEEL AND PEDALS.

    Sorry for the caps but for me at least this is a major flaw. Actually it does not even
    WARNING DOES NOT SUPPORT WHEEL AND PEDALS.

    Sorry for the caps but for me at least this is a major flaw.

    Actually it does not even support customizing controls on any platform.

    Graphic is good and the idea is great but the lack of peripheral support kills the game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2015
    2
    Awful,
    If you are a cop and you are in pursuit of a racer, civilians will NOT PULL OVER or even move out of your way. I really get annoyed if
    Awful,
    If you are a cop and you are in pursuit of a racer, civilians will NOT PULL OVER or even move out of your way. I really get annoyed if I'm in a pursuit and a civilian hits me. Sir, you see I'm a cop and I'm in pursuit, Back off.
    You will get kicked from online games for no reason. If I bust the host (Host being racer and me cop) I will get kicked because the host is a f**king pu$$y and can't accept the fact that he got busted.
    EA really messed the game up. If a cop crashes into you, you will get in pursuit. I don't get it. If a cop hits you, you will hear the cop saying that YOU HIT HIM. I find this so annoying. I can hit by cop so I get arrested for getting hit. GG EA.
    Cops get free cars, Racers have to BUY cars with their SP (Speed Points). Racers also lose ALL of their SP if they get busted/wreaked. Cops keep ALL their SP even if they get wreaked...
    Until EA fixes this AND removes the whole "Host" thing and make it so no one can be host. I would honestly love that. Too bad EA doesn't care about any of these issues, they are probably too busy spending all of that money we keep giving them. Yeah, I think I'm correct about that one.
    The next Need For Speed game should fix all of these issues, also allow us to walk freely around the world. Also allow us to customize cars "better" I don't wan't my national flag on every side of my car. I just want it on the sides, please EA. Halp.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    How can I buy a racing game that dont have 2 players split screen? I have to buy 2 consoles and 2 games to play with my brother?

    Is that
    How can I buy a racing game that dont have 2 players split screen? I have to buy 2 consoles and 2 games to play with my brother?

    Is that it? REALLY? These developers, they've been much better, long time ago.

    Today we live on a very ironic time, you can use 4 joysticks, but even a racing game allows play with 2.

    EA GO HOME, YOU ARE DRUNK.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews