Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    85
    Need for Speed: Rivals is the biggest adrenaline shot that any pilot should receive, in an open-world full of challenges and stunning pursuits between police and pilots.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    85
    Need for Speed: Rivals may not revolutionize the genre but it is an enthralling racing-experience that shows an interesting new way for the combination of single- and multiplayer-gameplay.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    84
    Need for Speed Rivals is loaded with adrenaline and speed, and powered by the powerful Frostbite 3 engine. This title by Ghost Games will serve its purpose as a bridge between two console generations, and will certainly capture the attention of the general audience.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    I'm hard pressed to name a racing game in recent memory that I found this engaging. Rivals is a very mature design of wonderfully open and cleverly connected arcade racing, even though the current gen versions leave quite a bit room for improvement, from a technical standpoint.
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    72
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun game, however the open-world racing genre still needs to be refined, especially with the limit of 6-players. Nonetheless, the gameplay is sturdy, graphics detailed but the multiplayer definitely needs some work.
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    If you are not making the jump to the next generation yet this is a fun arcade racing game, but if you plan on buying a PS4 or Xbox One that's were you should play it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 32
  2. Negative: 18 out of 32
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    What anybody says about this game you have to try for yourself bewteen cop and race mode you will have days of endless fun.
    If people say
    What anybody says about this game you have to try for yourself bewteen cop and race mode you will have days of endless fun.
    If people say dont play this game don't listen to them because you haven't played the game first hand.
    Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    I just purchased this game and immediately I'm impressed by the amazing graphics. The police cars AND racer cars are incredible. UnfortunatelyI just purchased this game and immediately I'm impressed by the amazing graphics. The police cars AND racer cars are incredible. Unfortunately these graphics come at a cost and the first time I played it, after 1 hour it glitches. But if you can ignore this, which I can this game is world class. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2015
    7
    Yes, the game is fun. Although the game freezes sometimes, or crashes, when you get into it, it is hard to put down the controller.
    I like to
    Yes, the game is fun. Although the game freezes sometimes, or crashes, when you get into it, it is hard to put down the controller.
    I like to play as a cop, and bust the racers. Though, it is fun to race and take down the cops occasionally. I do prefer this game over Most Wanted because of the ability to choose to play as the law, or the rivals of the law.

    In short, the game is fun to play. Despite it's performance issues (crashes, freezing) it is still a fun game, I do recommend it.

    If you want an alternative to this game, Most Wanted is a good choice. Although you can't play as the law, it still provides a reasonable alternative.

    Luke S,
    RelationReviewz
    Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    4
    The main reason I rated this game low was because of the frame rate locked at 30. I know the ps3 is 8 years old and has outdated hardware butThe main reason I rated this game low was because of the frame rate locked at 30. I know the ps3 is 8 years old and has outdated hardware but I personally would rather have not as good graphics and have a nice frame rate. I don't normally care about frame rate that much but in a racing game I just find 30 slow. This game is fun with friends but if you just want to play by yourself in a public lobby I just don't find it fun. If it wasn't for the graphical issues, I would have rated it higher. However, the gameplay is fun sometimes (especially as a cop for me) but it's not a great game. If you just want to play a racing game with your friends, I think you'll find this game fun. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    3
    Giving Rivals a 3 because of three things:
    1. Frostbite 3 is a beautiful, versatile engine that isn't utilized fully in this game. Its
    Giving Rivals a 3 because of three things:
    1. Frostbite 3 is a beautiful, versatile engine that isn't utilized fully in this game. Its beautiful though.
    2. Ferraris are finally back in NFS and the Ferrari roster is only decent.
    3. The entire car roster is only decent.

    Games full of bugs and glitches. Its a half assed game. All Rivals is, is a mix of Criterions Most Wanted and Hot Pursuit combined together. Its a reality crisis and the game suffers horribly from it. I feel like EA doesnt know how to make a fun racing game for car enthusiasts anymore. Criterion had a good trend but the games started to become less about the cars and more about EA just wanting your money. Don't get this game, if you plan to I'd recommend Hot Pursuit, its all about the cars.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2013
    1
    No traffic,two views,boring gameplayPrice drop already!!!!!.enough said.obviously fan boys will love it. Please make the original need for speed in HD
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    How can I buy a racing game that dont have 2 players split screen? I have to buy 2 consoles and 2 games to play with my brother?

    Is that
    How can I buy a racing game that dont have 2 players split screen? I have to buy 2 consoles and 2 games to play with my brother?

    Is that it? REALLY? These developers, they've been much better, long time ago.

    Today we live on a very ironic time, you can use 4 joysticks, but even a racing game allows play with 2.

    EA GO HOME, YOU ARE DRUNK.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews