Shift 2: Unleashed PlayStation 3

Shift 2: Unleashed Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shift 2 Unleashed combines violence and excitement in this racing experience.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    It's official: Gran Turismo 5 is on notice. Like V8 Supercars 3 [Pro Race Driver 3] wooed us from GT4 back in the halcyon days of PS2, SHIFT 2 Unleashed is currently busy courting us with its incredible sense of speed, well-rounded garage, long list of tracks and impressive attention to detail... Forget what you think you know about where Need for Speed games stand in the racing sim landscape because the crew at Slightly Mad Studios has just taken a bulldozer to it. [May 2011 p.72]
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    90
    For those who have passion for cars and especially speed, Shift 2: Unleashed is an obligatory choice.
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    87
    One of the best racing games this year. The game has an extreme good feeling of speed, it feels realistic and to complete the campaign will take weeks. Need for Speed: SHIFT was a good game, but this is a lot better because Slightly Mad Studios did listen to the feedback of the community.
  4. May 11, 2011
    83
    Overall, Shift 2 Unleashed is a fantastic driving game that should satisfy fans on either side of the arcade/simulation spectrum. The game may not be as sheer fun as Hot Pursuit was only six months ago, but could easily occupy a cherished spot on your shelf right next to it.
  5. May 18, 2011
    80
    At its best, Shift 2 is one of the most intense and rewarding racing games around. There's some flaws (like the entire drifting part), but the overall package is really solid and fun.
  6. 80
    Shift 2 is one of the very few driving games where we'd actually prefer to boot-up its predecessor rather than this new iteration. It's still a thoroughly decent and innovative racer but fans of the original may be justifiably disappointed by the many missed opportunities here.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    There's certainly nothing game-breakingly bad about Shift 2, and generally it is a polished, high quality, nice looking product. But it does fail to provide a more engaging alternative to the admittedly quite clinical driving experiences offered by the Forza Motorsport or Gran Turismo series. Underneath its fancy aesthetic effects Shift 2 is also rather on the dry side, with no especially compelling reason to pick it up if you already have one of the aforementioned console racing giants in your collection.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 14 out of 37
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This is why i'm sick of these aggregate sites. First and foremost, is the numerical score associated with a game. Then there is the reasonThis is why i'm sick of these aggregate sites. First and foremost, is the numerical score associated with a game. Then there is the reason behind the score. Why dock a point from Shift 2's score because it's not GT5 or Forza? Because it's violent and nerveracking, and not what real racing enthusiasts will enjoy. Really? I'm a racing fan and think this game is the best mix of sim and arcade racing EVER! It takes all the boring **** from Forza and GT5 and throws it away. Then they add a ferocity and an edge, let's not forget the best **** view in a racing game, and one that will be copied by everybody from here on out. Things thatve never been done before, BUT! gotta knock it! Gotta control the situation and make buyers balk. This game may not look like GT5 and Forza, but it's close. It's got 3rd party graphics. But, Gameplay! EWWW weeeee! Most fun i've ever had with a racing game. Customization, paint, drifting, etc....It's all here, oh yeah, awsome crashes, nighttime races on any track. You will see why graphical compromises we're made. Just a real fun, exhilerating experience. Go racers GO!!!!! Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Personally, being a racing fan and loving any games of this sort I've only noticed two major problems with shift 2. One being the ridiculousPersonally, being a racing fan and loving any games of this sort I've only noticed two major problems with shift 2. One being the ridiculous AI. The competition feels more like the movie "deathrace" than anything else. As soon as you turn into a corner you have some kamikaze psycho slamming your car off the road. Besides that.....trading paint is near impossible. You so much as brush up against any car at any speed and your car flies off the road like you were picked up like a tornado and the AI car drives away like nothing happened. The steering seems a bit clumsy also. Ya spend more time correcting the oversteer than anything else. It's way too sensitive. Other than that the game would be fantastic. The helmet cam option is awesome(can't wait to try to drift in that mode....hope it doesn't give you that lost feeling like in shift 1). Well I too hope they correct these issues. They seem like they're heading in the right direction but this needs a bit of tweaking. So If you guys are listening WE NEED A PATCH! Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    Don't believe all the negative comments. I am a complete racing game fan and have completed all the major titles. Pgr4, Gran turimo 5, grid.Don't believe all the negative comments. I am a complete racing game fan and have completed all the major titles. Pgr4, Gran turimo 5, grid. dirt 2. forza 3 etc. Does shift 2 stand up to the others. Yes it does. In fact some aspects are way superior to the others. In shift 2 it feels as if you are actually moving at high speed, something gran turismo and forza failed to do. When driving career mode the A1 drivers actually have a mind of their own and avoid crashing into your car. They are constantly looking for opportunities to overtake without knocking you off the track. This is something that no other racer has managed. Graphics are good but not the best. I suppose you can't win e'm all. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    Like with the first NFS Shift, first i loved it but than i hated it! Its a good game that has a great balance between simulation andLike with the first NFS Shift, first i loved it but than i hated it! Its a good game that has a great balance between simulation and arcaderacer, but the more i played it the more i became frustrated with it. The only thing that kept me going were the awesome customisation possibilities. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    There's nothing particularly wrong with this game, it just feels a bit dull and average. There are many racing games available for the PS3 andThere's nothing particularly wrong with this game, it just feels a bit dull and average. There are many racing games available for the PS3 and this one does little to stand out from the crowd. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    First of all the menu... fancy but unneeded... i have to wait for a few seconds for the animation to reach the options or the tunning... afterFirst of all the menu... fancy but unneeded... i have to wait for a few seconds for the animation to reach the options or the tunning... after the first time i was annoyed. The tunning was a good thing but as with most games... it's generic... all the cars have the same generic settings... i could live without it... this means that you can tune your car to suit your driving style but... guess what... when you're racing there's not much room for driving style... you just have to be perfect... so it's a lot of guess work to find the perfect setting... it's kind of fun and reminds me of F1 but not the thing i would expect from this kind of game. The collisions were fixed a bit after the patch so one thing is less annoying. What annoys me most with this game is that even on easy difficulty... it's still hard... i'm playing with a controller and i find it very difficult to finish at least 3rd. Mind you that i've finished dirt 1,2 and 3... shift1... gt5... and as you know getting first in these games is not easy. For me it broke the game... i had to play the same race again and again... tune the car... and again... just to be able to finish 3rd? Excuse me but this frustrates me... i want to enjoy myself and feel like i'm the champion of the world... not struggle and enrage myself. One of the most enraging things is the kind of cheating the game does even in the easy difficulty setting... your opponents magically appear right behind you no matter how fast you're going... i get the feeling that there's a cable connecting me to them... i go fast... they go fast... i go slow... they go as slow as me... my thought is when i'm driving my best i should leave them 10m behind... like in every racing game (all except need for speed games). To sum up... this game isn't for me... i want to enjoy myself, not feel like i'm working... i wouldn't recommend this game to anyone, even if they liked racing games. I would suggest to everyone interested to first try it and if you like it then buy it. This game made lose all faith for the nfs franchise... next time i'll make sure i want to buy a nfs game! Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    Well, to me Need for speed Shift II is one of the worst racing games. Yes it's that bad !
    At the beginning I was thinking, maybe it will get
    Well, to me Need for speed Shift II is one of the worst racing games. Yes it's that bad !
    At the beginning I was thinking, maybe it will get better .... but it didn't.
    Now after the 5th race I just give it up, I just don't like it and I will not play the game anymore.
    I'm a BIG racing game die hard, but this is a game for the blacklist.
    It SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS BIGTIME.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews