Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shift 2 Unleashed combines violence and excitement in this racing experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. It's official: Gran Turismo 5 is on notice. Like V8 Supercars 3 [Pro Race Driver 3] wooed us from GT4 back in the halcyon days of PS2, SHIFT 2 Unleashed is currently busy courting us with its incredible sense of speed, well-rounded garage, long list of tracks and impressive attention to detail... Forget what you think you know about where Need for Speed games stand in the racing sim landscape because the crew at Slightly Mad Studios has just taken a bulldozer to it. [May 2011 p.72]
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    90
    For those who have passion for cars and especially speed, Shift 2: Unleashed is an obligatory choice.
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    87
    One of the best racing games this year. The game has an extreme good feeling of speed, it feels realistic and to complete the campaign will take weeks. Need for Speed: SHIFT was a good game, but this is a lot better because Slightly Mad Studios did listen to the feedback of the community.
  4. May 11, 2011
    83
    Overall, Shift 2 Unleashed is a fantastic driving game that should satisfy fans on either side of the arcade/simulation spectrum. The game may not be as sheer fun as Hot Pursuit was only six months ago, but could easily occupy a cherished spot on your shelf right next to it.
  5. May 18, 2011
    80
    At its best, Shift 2 is one of the most intense and rewarding racing games around. There's some flaws (like the entire drifting part), but the overall package is really solid and fun.
  6. 80
    Shift 2 is one of the very few driving games where we'd actually prefer to boot-up its predecessor rather than this new iteration. It's still a thoroughly decent and innovative racer but fans of the original may be justifiably disappointed by the many missed opportunities here.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    There's certainly nothing game-breakingly bad about Shift 2, and generally it is a polished, high quality, nice looking product. But it does fail to provide a more engaging alternative to the admittedly quite clinical driving experiences offered by the Forza Motorsport or Gran Turismo series. Underneath its fancy aesthetic effects Shift 2 is also rather on the dry side, with no especially compelling reason to pick it up if you already have one of the aforementioned console racing giants in your collection.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This is why i'm sick of these aggregate sites. First and foremost, is the numerical score associated with a game. Then there is the reasonThis is why i'm sick of these aggregate sites. First and foremost, is the numerical score associated with a game. Then there is the reason behind the score. Why dock a point from Shift 2's score because it's not GT5 or Forza? Because it's violent and nerveracking, and not what real racing enthusiasts will enjoy. Really? I'm a racing fan and think this game is the best mix of sim and arcade racing EVER! It takes all the boring **** from Forza and GT5 and throws it away. Then they add a ferocity and an edge, let's not forget the best **** view in a racing game, and one that will be copied by everybody from here on out. Things thatve never been done before, BUT! gotta knock it! Gotta control the situation and make buyers balk. This game may not look like GT5 and Forza, but it's close. It's got 3rd party graphics. But, Gameplay! EWWW weeeee! Most fun i've ever had with a racing game. Customization, paint, drifting, etc....It's all here, oh yeah, awsome crashes, nighttime races on any track. You will see why graphical compromises we're made. Just a real fun, exhilerating experience. Go racers GO!!!!! Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Personally, being a racing fan and loving any games of this sort I've only noticed two major problems with shift 2. One being the ridiculousPersonally, being a racing fan and loving any games of this sort I've only noticed two major problems with shift 2. One being the ridiculous AI. The competition feels more like the movie "deathrace" than anything else. As soon as you turn into a corner you have some kamikaze psycho slamming your car off the road. Besides that.....trading paint is near impossible. You so much as brush up against any car at any speed and your car flies off the road like you were picked up like a tornado and the AI car drives away like nothing happened. The steering seems a bit clumsy also. Ya spend more time correcting the oversteer than anything else. It's way too sensitive. Other than that the game would be fantastic. The helmet cam option is awesome(can't wait to try to drift in that mode....hope it doesn't give you that lost feeling like in shift 1). Well I too hope they correct these issues. They seem like they're heading in the right direction but this needs a bit of tweaking. So If you guys are listening WE NEED A PATCH! Expand
  3. May 21, 2011
    9
    I was actually seriously disappointed by this game when I first played it on release day. There was just something off with they physics,I was actually seriously disappointed by this game when I first played it on release day. There was just something off with they physics, which is a deal breaker for me. I'm happy to announce that EA has recently patched the game, and it's awesome. I love the gran turismo series, but there is just something about Shift's brutal, visceral racing experience. Oh... and I'm not a big fan of the helmet cam... but you can't really fault them for adding a feature. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    While vehicle choice convince physics and circuits that provide acting strangely neglected appearance and the confusing menu navigation for aWhile vehicle choice convince physics and circuits that provide acting strangely neglected appearance and the confusing menu navigation for a bad aftertaste. Especially during the night race the cars competing in the light of your headlights look simply just bad. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    4
    This game has several awesome features like helmet cam, night driving and autolog, they are really nice. But the core feature is totallyThis game has several awesome features like helmet cam, night driving and autolog, they are really nice. But the core feature is totally broken, the driving experience that was hyped so much is a lie and the physics are just another lie. You can't play on hard and elite with a car fully upgraded and a controller without tuning the entire car and game settings. I hope this game was made to be played with a driving wheel because it's impossible to play with the controller. I regret so much that I bought this game, perhaps if Slightly Mad fixes the handling and the physics this game will be almost perfect. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2011
    4
    really never been a big need for speed fan.
    i liked hot persuit and would you believe i traded it in for shift 2
    man what a mistake. this game
    really never been a big need for speed fan.
    i liked hot persuit and would you believe i traded it in for shift 2
    man what a mistake.
    this game is frustratingly hard even on easy with all assists on.
    the ai is ferocious and one slight slip and its game over.
    doesn't even look pretty either.
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    Well, to me Need for speed Shift II is one of the worst racing games. Yes it's that bad !
    At the beginning I was thinking, maybe it will get
    Well, to me Need for speed Shift II is one of the worst racing games. Yes it's that bad !
    At the beginning I was thinking, maybe it will get better .... but it didn't.
    Now after the 5th race I just give it up, I just don't like it and I will not play the game anymore.
    I'm a BIG racing game die hard, but this is a game for the blacklist.
    It SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS BIGTIME.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews