User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 103
  2. Negative: 19 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    "0" -very bad console port: all the menus are a pain and being able to use the mouse to select stuff would be so much easier. -it doesnt add anything new to the genre, apart from non-steering cars (reminds me of gta IV) -requests an even longer-than-usual "grind" through low-tier cars before you can unlock anything worth driving. -physics engine makes for fun times, because its a joke"0" -very bad console port: all the menus are a pain and being able to use the mouse to select stuff would be so much easier. -it doesnt add anything new to the genre, apart from non-steering cars (reminds me of gta IV) -requests an even longer-than-usual "grind" through low-tier cars before you can unlock anything worth driving. -physics engine makes for fun times, because its a joke
    i dont understand why they bothered to add vinyls and such when there is no way you can see them since there is no 3rd person camera, meaning driving different cars doesnt change the experience by much. all you'll notice is better speed, etc
    ive been playing and loving NFS since porche unleashed. ive completed the careers for underground 1&2; most wanted, carbon, i liked them all, yet i uninstalled shift after 2 days.. -all the (terribly boring) cutscenes (for example before and after each race) cannot be skipped.
    the critics who gave this an 83 mustve been either high or very well paid.
    Expand
  2. johnl
    Oct 2, 2009
    2
    the best racing game i have ever played was burnout 3 and burnout revenge which was the follow up...the reason i liked them so much was because they were fun!!!! nfs shift plays horribly i gave it a good hr before giving up on it...it looks amazing and thats why im giving it a 2....
  3. timo
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    the game is great, should tie me over until gt5 when it comes out in 2020!! :( The graphics are decent while racing i love the sense of speed and the tyre noise and engine noise is fantastic, the framerate is also stable for a change in nfs game, and the controls are fine once they are tweaked(the sensitivity and dead zones for steering accelerating and braking), yes this game has a the game is great, should tie me over until gt5 when it comes out in 2020!! :( The graphics are decent while racing i love the sense of speed and the tyre noise and engine noise is fantastic, the framerate is also stable for a change in nfs game, and the controls are fine once they are tweaked(the sensitivity and dead zones for steering accelerating and braking), yes this game has a similar feel to gird as in the style of game, but is much more fun in my opinion although NFS shift's damage modeling doesn't stand up to grid's, it does an okay job. and the drifting is fine, i dont know why people are complaining, maybe they should try a practice some more.... Expand
  4. JE
    Sep 30, 2009
    6
    Very easily could be a solid 9. To many bugs and glitches need addressing. Go to the need for speed shift forum you'll see. There is absolutely no controlling the cars they slide everywhere. The game could be awesome if these are fixed. It looks great, unlimited tuning options, good tracks, alot of sweet cars, and great concept. Right now its almost unplayable. If EA fixes the Very easily could be a solid 9. To many bugs and glitches need addressing. Go to the need for speed shift forum you'll see. There is absolutely no controlling the cars they slide everywhere. The game could be awesome if these are fixed. It looks great, unlimited tuning options, good tracks, alot of sweet cars, and great concept. Right now its almost unplayable. If EA fixes the problems it'll be my personal favorite racing game, Grid was before. Great mix of arcade and sim. I got this at best buy on sale for $40 two weeks after release should have known it was to good to be true. So many problems with it right now. EA fixes it I give it a 9 but right now its a joke. Rent it if your thinking of buying it. If your thinking of renting it get Grid you'll have more fun. Expand
  5. alex
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    the game should be amazing, but constant gliches arizing from nearly every aspect of hte game slows down the fun. you start a race, the flag girl is standing INSIDE your car. you finish a 30 lap race, the scoring breaks and even if you finished first, you get 9th place. you can't move the decal the way you should. it freezes. the paint all of a sudden pops off your car. all these the game should be amazing, but constant gliches arizing from nearly every aspect of hte game slows down the fun. you start a race, the flag girl is standing INSIDE your car. you finish a 30 lap race, the scoring breaks and even if you finished first, you get 9th place. you can't move the decal the way you should. it freezes. the paint all of a sudden pops off your car. all these little things kills the joy of going 185 mph on the Nurburg ring in a all out duel against a single other opponent. the game would be a 10 if these problems were gone. the need for speed franchise was close on this one, but no cigar yet Expand
  6. SnaggyD
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Really good driving game, recent patch has cleared up the previous problems and regularly get 12 player races now..
  7. timc
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    Some cars are very challenging to drive others are easy. But alll in all i very much enjoy the game. the sence of speed is very real. fist racing game in along time ive been able to enjoy.
  8. Rap.L
    Oct 2, 2009
    2
    I love racing games, I only play racing games, I always like the Need for Speed, however this latest release is impossible to enjoy due to the driving physic. It is almost as though the cars drive sideway when turning and wobble upon colliding with other cars, object etc. If the frill in driving is not only how good the car looks but it is also the
  9. JackH
    Sep 18, 2009
    5
    We already have GRID, thank you...and it's been out for quite a while. Just because EA has finally done something right on next gen consoles with this racing game, doesn't mean we should be psyched about it. the last good need for speed game i played was Most wanted on PS2...and the underground series BEFORE carbon. Pass.
  10. JGG
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    The best racing game I´ve ever played. I liked GTR2, Rfactor, GTLegends, GT5 Prologue, etc.. But I like this better. I like Grid too but this can´t be compared, Grid feel is much more arcade. Driving "Shift" with the G25 wheel, the cockpit view and a 106´ screen (projector) is incredible. If you enjoy cars and racing I really recomend it

    PS, Im sorry for my english...
  11. JackThomson
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Great game, welcome return to the series. Not perfect but somewhat of a perfect starting point, was afraid that i was gonna waste my money but didn't, there are a few issues but keeps me coming back for more, sound is great, graphics top notch, damage models could have been better, well much better, but the gameplay is awsome. best nfs to date i think
  12. RyanS
    Sep 20, 2009
    8
    Need for Speed headed in a different direction, and it worked. It's a solid game and is a lot of fun to play. It may not be Forza or Gran Turismo, but it's definitely a breath of fresh air to see a good game again from this franchise.
  13. SimG.
    Sep 20, 2009
    8
    I'm not that much into Gran Turismo, Forza or the street racing gig. SHIFT offers the right balance between simulation, arcade and car modifications. However, I have one big issue with the PS3... the FRAMERATE. The framerate is very unstable. There are so many visual and audio glitches, menu flickers and there is polygon clipping all over the place. If someone has enough power and I'm not that much into Gran Turismo, Forza or the street racing gig. SHIFT offers the right balance between simulation, arcade and car modifications. However, I have one big issue with the PS3... the FRAMERATE. The framerate is very unstable. There are so many visual and audio glitches, menu flickers and there is polygon clipping all over the place. If someone has enough power and influence, they should arrass EA to release a patch to fix that. I'm having a lot of fun with the driving mechanics and the overall game structure, but I see myself putting the game aside really soon if there's not hope that it'll be fixed. I didn't bought a 1080p HD TV to play games like this. Expand
  14. JoshuaR
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    Its a great game and the and the handling is better then most need for speed games. Its not a sim game so its not perfect. P.S. You don't try to drift and All-Wheel Drive Evo unless your in a movie.
  15. ChrisS.
    Sep 21, 2009
    8
    I'd love to give this game a nine and I would have if not for the occasional stuttering framerate. I am more than a little curious why most if not all the reviews failed to mention this. It does affect game play and is most noticeable from the cockpit. That being said I still really like this game. The handling is fantastic and the cockpit view is perhaps the best yet seen in a video I'd love to give this game a nine and I would have if not for the occasional stuttering framerate. I am more than a little curious why most if not all the reviews failed to mention this. It does affect game play and is most noticeable from the cockpit. That being said I still really like this game. The handling is fantastic and the cockpit view is perhaps the best yet seen in a video game. Computer ai is very good but a tad too aggressive at times. I am having a lot of fun with this game and recommend it heartily to any racing fan. Just remember that there are framerate issues that affect gameplay. Maybe a patch is in the works. Expand
  16. ErikV.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    It's a small step for a genre, but a giant leap for a franchise. NFS Shift more than delivers and manages to satisfy arcade and sim racing fans alike.
  17. Mr.Shammy
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    I agree with Jack H. It seems to be a direct copy of GRID with more cars and diverse classes, more customization. But where it falls extremely short is the controls. Horrible. Some cars a tolerable, others are just horrible, (like the EVO). Drift events are near impossible due to the poor controls.
  18. OlivierB
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    As most people will have already said, this is not the hardcore simulation that you'll experience with GT5 or Forza. That being said, this is no Outrun USA or Sega Rally; i.e. this is not a arcade racer. What is is though, is the most immersive racing experience you can get. This game is FUN, it's challenging, it looks good. Is that what games are all about?
  19. luisb
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Men!! This is the REAL GTR2-like-upgraded experience for the 360 that I was hopping Race-pro to be. I cant believe those people who say that NFS-shift is not as "real" as say Forza2 or GRID!! DO NOT BELIEVE the reviewers who say that NFS-shift is neither an arcade or a sim title. In fact, shift accomplishes the task of being a sim which does not takes itself too seriously. I mean they say Men!! This is the REAL GTR2-like-upgraded experience for the 360 that I was hopping Race-pro to be. I cant believe those people who say that NFS-shift is not as "real" as say Forza2 or GRID!! DO NOT BELIEVE the reviewers who say that NFS-shift is neither an arcade or a sim title. In fact, shift accomplishes the task of being a sim which does not takes itself too seriously. I mean they say it is "arcadey" because you can use nitro, but the last time I checked, nitro actually EXISTS IN REAL LIFE, doesn't it? This is a "tunned-car" simulator!!. In the other hand the say it is not arcade because you have to actually drive, but I assure you that you will have more FUN DRIVING with this "sim" than playing with any other "cars-game". I don't give it a 10 just because the Force Feedback with the MS wheel is not "perfect". It is pretty good, but I think that GTR2 had a better FF model (I love to feel those track bumbs when braking ). When Race-pro came out I really wanted to support SIMBIN but they didn't deserve it, well this time EA and SMS really deserve our support as gamers. Simply put, while not perfect, I think it is the best racing game available for the xbox you cant go wrong with this even with the ubber-exaggerated-artificial Forza 3 coming out. Expand
  20. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 14, 2009
    5
    Oh, this COULD be sooo good. Starts out like it'll be, but soon enough the problems/bugs show their ugly faces. Most all cars are quite bouncy to begin with, but you'd expect that to improve with upgrades. Nope, it remains and some of the cars actually get SLOWER! Wow, ever seen a fully modified Lambo have trouble climbing a slight hill? Ever seen an Infiniti G35 slide a corner Oh, this COULD be sooo good. Starts out like it'll be, but soon enough the problems/bugs show their ugly faces. Most all cars are quite bouncy to begin with, but you'd expect that to improve with upgrades. Nope, it remains and some of the cars actually get SLOWER! Wow, ever seen a fully modified Lambo have trouble climbing a slight hill? Ever seen an Infiniti G35 slide a corner at 35 mph? Yep... bugs everywhere once you get past the first few tiers. Almost makes me cry, because at the start I was so excited about progressing through the game. Huge let down. Collapse
  21. JacobP.
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Even with the generally favorable reviews, NFS Shift is a sadly underated racing-simulation. I myself have not enjoyed the last installments since Underground 2 in the NFS series, however this game has taken a 180 turn in creating one of the most enjoyable racing games up to date. This game compares to a little more enjoyable the GRID in my opinion, but stands out in a Gran Turismo/Forza Even with the generally favorable reviews, NFS Shift is a sadly underated racing-simulation. I myself have not enjoyed the last installments since Underground 2 in the NFS series, however this game has taken a 180 turn in creating one of the most enjoyable racing games up to date. This game compares to a little more enjoyable the GRID in my opinion, but stands out in a Gran Turismo/Forza fusion. I myself am a fan of Touring Car and track racing. If you have a passion for cars and racing, this might be your best buy next to the highly anticipated Forza 3 coming out soon too. What this game might have that Forza won't is a more focused career mode in which I am still enjoying greatly. I'd suggest anyone looking for a good racing game to pick up NFS Shift. It gets a 9/10 for lack of local multiplayer. Expand
  22. samj
    Dec 17, 2009
    8
    Very good 1st try at sim,not there yet. I feel if they want to be seen as a hardcore sim such as G.T. or Forsa, then in time they will. Electronic Arts has been into gaming almost as long as I have. I am 60 yrs young, 1st started gaming with pong, b&w tv. Shift broke new ground in racing, set new standards in a few ways. I will be looking & hopeing for Shift Two.
  23. DavidE
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    I'm gonna start with the cons of this game first, the biggest one is..... THE PHYSICS ENGINE SUCKS! I mean, come on, I do drive a racecar and it is nothing like this. I know this is susposed to be a mix of sim and arcade racing, but whenever you hit somebody in the rear quarter panel at 60 mph, you do not go into an uncontrollable spin. You may get loose a little, but it does not I'm gonna start with the cons of this game first, the biggest one is..... THE PHYSICS ENGINE SUCKS! I mean, come on, I do drive a racecar and it is nothing like this. I know this is susposed to be a mix of sim and arcade racing, but whenever you hit somebody in the rear quarter panel at 60 mph, you do not go into an uncontrollable spin. You may get loose a little, but it does not take you out of the race. Also, there is no real sense of speed in the game, ironic because the game is called Need for Speed. I was driving in the very first race thinking i was going about 50 mph. To my surprise, to spedometer said 170mph. Nowhere close to what I was expecting. Now, that is the biggest issue with the game. On a lighter note, this game is alright, with all of the 'helpers' off, this game is quite challenging and wants you to keep playing. Nice cars and upgrades for them kept me playing for a while. All in all, an OK game. If you want a great game, get GRID or Forza 3, if you just want a game to take up a few weeks of your time, this is for you. Expand
  24. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    Good game. Although the single player is certainly repetitive, what could you possibly expect from a racing game?! Love the simple, satisfying driving style. Currently aiming for a lot more trophies now, which isn't made too hard if you look at some online guides. What can I say, a brilliant arcade racing game.
  25. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    Great mix of arcade and simulation and.....woah.....speed. I loved Forza 3 and GT5P and hated all th previous NFS franchise offerings but Shift really is in a class of its own. Loved every minute of it and the cockpit view is one of the best of any racing game on the market right now.
    Really looking forward to NFS Shift 2. Please don't mess with it too much you guys at Slightly Mad
    Great mix of arcade and simulation and.....woah.....speed. I loved Forza 3 and GT5P and hated all th previous NFS franchise offerings but Shift really is in a class of its own. Loved every minute of it and the cockpit view is one of the best of any racing game on the market right now.
    Really looking forward to NFS Shift 2. Please don't mess with it too much you guys at Slightly Mad Studios. It's not too far off perfect as it is. Favourite car - the Pagani Zonda R is an absolute beast of a motor. Bring in a track editor for the next installment please.
    Expand
  26. Oct 19, 2010
    6
    The physics in this game make it unplayable. Driving feels like a slot car flying out of its track. At first I was impressed with the realistic graphics and sound, but then I realized there is something deeply wrong with the game. It is not as good as NFS Underground or Hot Pursuit 2. Grid is also a better. Game. By the time you read this review nobody will be playing this as EA won't stopThe physics in this game make it unplayable. Driving feels like a slot car flying out of its track. At first I was impressed with the realistic graphics and sound, but then I realized there is something deeply wrong with the game. It is not as good as NFS Underground or Hot Pursuit 2. Grid is also a better. Game. By the time you read this review nobody will be playing this as EA won't stop making garbage NFS games. Expand
  27. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    I never cared much for the Need For Speed series but Need For Speed Shift is actually a pretty decent game. Especially now when you can collect it cheap from the bargain bin.
  28. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Very entertaining crossbreed of an arcade and a simulation racer, featuring lovingly recreated cabin views for each car, excellent sound effects, and plenty of addictive little challenges to spice up the otherwise mundane campaign mode.
  29. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    Need for speed SHIFT can be seen as either a departure from what the NFS series had been trying to establish by way of releasing illicit street racing games such as NFS Carbon and Undercover for years, or can be seen as a refinement and cleanup of the uneven and heavily flawed NFS ProStreet. The result is a gorgeous attempt at a racing simulator that doesn't quite have what it takes toNeed for speed SHIFT can be seen as either a departure from what the NFS series had been trying to establish by way of releasing illicit street racing games such as NFS Carbon and Undercover for years, or can be seen as a refinement and cleanup of the uneven and heavily flawed NFS ProStreet. The result is a gorgeous attempt at a racing simulator that doesn't quite have what it takes to compete with the best on a gameplay front.

    The best part about this game is easily the graphics, which were the best ever in an NFS game at this time. The tracks, cars, and environmental effects such as lighting all looked incredible on an HD tv, and made this game a graphical showpiece for the multiplatform market, and in a way, the graphical aspect of this game is the only part that really made this game stand above the only other high profile racing sim at the time in the form of Forza 3.

    The gameplay in SHIFT is where Slightly Mad Studios decided to cater to newbies and racing sim vets all in one go with mixed results. While the cars do handle somewhat believably, the sense of speed is absurdly exaggerated, giving the game an awkward blend of both realism and arcade. The result of this middle ground makes gives the game a hard time satisfying either the arcade fans, who want something more along the lines of NFS Most wanted and those who want something more along the lines of Forza 3.

    Had this game committed to being one genre, it could have been so much greater, but it ended up being a solid racer sandwiched between two genres that that ultimately feels disappointing to both the arcade and simulation crowd.
    Expand
  30. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    A quick-to-pick-up racing game. It's really fun, and is easily playable by all. Sound is amazing and the in-car view for every car is simply fantastic. Well worth it.
  31. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    excellent game. just started playing it again for my second playthrough. the only thing i dont like, is the fact that there isnt any classic muscle cars (aside from the old tier 1 gtr, but that hardly counts), and the customization is pretty difficult to use. you cant rotate you car in a free camera mode, you also can mirror the images you make on one side of the car to the opposite side.excellent game. just started playing it again for my second playthrough. the only thing i dont like, is the fact that there isnt any classic muscle cars (aside from the old tier 1 gtr, but that hardly counts), and the customization is pretty difficult to use. you cant rotate you car in a free camera mode, you also can mirror the images you make on one side of the car to the opposite side. i also found that a lot of the vinyls that you create look fine on the car in your showroom, but when you bring them out on the track, they skew and rotate into odd angles. i just decided to either go with a flat colour, or choose a preset. other than that, the game looks and plays extremely well, and the addition of "Works" is fantastic. i'm really starting to like the "off the streets" racing games since i played ProStreet. Expand
  32. Oct 22, 2014
    7
    It is a pretty good racing car game it looks and sounds great and the overall concept is well built.
    STORY/CHARACTERS: N/A.
    PRESENTATION: Need for Speed always delivers in this category an Shift is no exception. GAMEPLAY: Solid controls and you'll have no problems with this. PROGRESSION: This is the weak point. It's very confusing and you don't feel a real progression. Yes there are
    It is a pretty good racing car game it looks and sounds great and the overall concept is well built.
    STORY/CHARACTERS: N/A.
    PRESENTATION: Need for Speed always delivers in this category an Shift is no exception.
    GAMEPLAY: Solid controls and you'll have no problems with this.
    PROGRESSION: This is the weak point. It's very confusing and you don't feel a real progression. Yes there are different Tiers but it's just not enough...
    NFS: Shift lacks the x factor that DiRT 2 has for example. Not comparing both of the games since they're different. Having said that it's a good car game.
    Expand
  33. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Really good driving game. The handling is better then most need for speed games. It looks great, unlimited tuning options, good tracks, a lot of sweet cars, and great concept.
  34. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    Variety: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 7 out of 10, Controls (I used a gaming steering wheel): 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 4 out of 10, Value: 7 out of 10
  35. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    First i loved it! The driving felt solid and gave me a feeling of steering a high power racing car! Unfortunately it becomes really frustrating later in the game (or maybe i´m just to bad at driving games...) and the drifting is just awful! Overall it has a good balance between simulation and arcaderacer.
  36. May 12, 2015
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 87
    Need for Speed Shift gets the most important part of a racing game right and it does so with a flair that’s uncommon in a frequently po-faced genre, providing driving that’s genuinely thrilling.
  2. 90
    A glorious return to greatness (and even excellence) for EA's seminal racing franchise. Slightly Mad Studios has delivered a driving experience that, while not completely accurate in terms of its simulation aspects, is practically dead-on in terms of what it's like to race around some of the world's best racing circuits.
  3. The most substantial upgrade the NFS series has ever received, along with some of the best visuals in the genre's field. [Nov 2009, p.83]