User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 102
  2. Negative: 18 out of 102

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    "0" -very bad console port: all the menus are a pain and being able to use the mouse to select stuff would be so much easier. -it doesnt add anything new to the genre, apart from non-steering cars (reminds me of gta IV) -requests an even longer-than-usual "grind" through low-tier cars before you can unlock anything worth driving. -physics engine makes for fun times, because its a joke"0" -very bad console port: all the menus are a pain and being able to use the mouse to select stuff would be so much easier. -it doesnt add anything new to the genre, apart from non-steering cars (reminds me of gta IV) -requests an even longer-than-usual "grind" through low-tier cars before you can unlock anything worth driving. -physics engine makes for fun times, because its a joke
    i dont understand why they bothered to add vinyls and such when there is no way you can see them since there is no 3rd person camera, meaning driving different cars doesnt change the experience by much. all you'll notice is better speed, etc
    ive been playing and loving NFS since porche unleashed. ive completed the careers for underground 1&2; most wanted, carbon, i liked them all, yet i uninstalled shift after 2 days.. -all the (terribly boring) cutscenes (for example before and after each race) cannot be skipped.
    the critics who gave this an 83 mustve been either high or very well paid.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    Good game. Although the single player is certainly repetitive, what could you possibly expect from a racing game?! Love the simple, satisfying driving style. Currently aiming for a lot more trophies now, which isn't made too hard if you look at some online guides. What can I say, a brilliant arcade racing game.
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    Great mix of arcade and simulation and.....woah.....speed. I loved Forza 3 and GT5P and hated all th previous NFS franchise offerings but Shift really is in a class of its own. Loved every minute of it and the cockpit view is one of the best of any racing game on the market right now.
    Really looking forward to NFS Shift 2. Please don't mess with it too much you guys at Slightly Mad
    Great mix of arcade and simulation and.....woah.....speed. I loved Forza 3 and GT5P and hated all th previous NFS franchise offerings but Shift really is in a class of its own. Loved every minute of it and the cockpit view is one of the best of any racing game on the market right now.
    Really looking forward to NFS Shift 2. Please don't mess with it too much you guys at Slightly Mad Studios. It's not too far off perfect as it is. Favourite car - the Pagani Zonda R is an absolute beast of a motor. Bring in a track editor for the next installment please.
    Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    6
    The physics in this game make it unplayable. Driving feels like a slot car flying out of its track. At first I was impressed with the realistic graphics and sound, but then I realized there is something deeply wrong with the game. It is not as good as NFS Underground or Hot Pursuit 2. Grid is also a better. Game. By the time you read this review nobody will be playing this as EA won't stopThe physics in this game make it unplayable. Driving feels like a slot car flying out of its track. At first I was impressed with the realistic graphics and sound, but then I realized there is something deeply wrong with the game. It is not as good as NFS Underground or Hot Pursuit 2. Grid is also a better. Game. By the time you read this review nobody will be playing this as EA won't stop making garbage NFS games. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    I never cared much for the Need For Speed series but Need For Speed Shift is actually a pretty decent game. Especially now when you can collect it cheap from the bargain bin.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Very entertaining crossbreed of an arcade and a simulation racer, featuring lovingly recreated cabin views for each car, excellent sound effects, and plenty of addictive little challenges to spice up the otherwise mundane campaign mode.
  7. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    Need for speed SHIFT can be seen as either a departure from what the NFS series had been trying to establish by way of releasing illicit street racing games such as NFS Carbon and Undercover for years, or can be seen as a refinement and cleanup of the uneven and heavily flawed NFS ProStreet. The result is a gorgeous attempt at a racing simulator that doesn't quite have what it takes toNeed for speed SHIFT can be seen as either a departure from what the NFS series had been trying to establish by way of releasing illicit street racing games such as NFS Carbon and Undercover for years, or can be seen as a refinement and cleanup of the uneven and heavily flawed NFS ProStreet. The result is a gorgeous attempt at a racing simulator that doesn't quite have what it takes to compete with the best on a gameplay front.

    The best part about this game is easily the graphics, which were the best ever in an NFS game at this time. The tracks, cars, and environmental effects such as lighting all looked incredible on an HD tv, and made this game a graphical showpiece for the multiplatform market, and in a way, the graphical aspect of this game is the only part that really made this game stand above the only other high profile racing sim at the time in the form of Forza 3.

    The gameplay in SHIFT is where Slightly Mad Studios decided to cater to newbies and racing sim vets all in one go with mixed results. While the cars do handle somewhat believably, the sense of speed is absurdly exaggerated, giving the game an awkward blend of both realism and arcade. The result of this middle ground makes gives the game a hard time satisfying either the arcade fans, who want something more along the lines of NFS Most wanted and those who want something more along the lines of Forza 3.

    Had this game committed to being one genre, it could have been so much greater, but it ended up being a solid racer sandwiched between two genres that that ultimately feels disappointing to both the arcade and simulation crowd.
    Expand
  8. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    A quick-to-pick-up racing game. It's really fun, and is easily playable by all. Sound is amazing and the in-car view for every car is simply fantastic. Well worth it.
  9. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    excellent game. just started playing it again for my second playthrough. the only thing i dont like, is the fact that there isnt any classic muscle cars (aside from the old tier 1 gtr, but that hardly counts), and the customization is pretty difficult to use. you cant rotate you car in a free camera mode, you also can mirror the images you make on one side of the car to the opposite side.excellent game. just started playing it again for my second playthrough. the only thing i dont like, is the fact that there isnt any classic muscle cars (aside from the old tier 1 gtr, but that hardly counts), and the customization is pretty difficult to use. you cant rotate you car in a free camera mode, you also can mirror the images you make on one side of the car to the opposite side. i also found that a lot of the vinyls that you create look fine on the car in your showroom, but when you bring them out on the track, they skew and rotate into odd angles. i just decided to either go with a flat colour, or choose a preset. other than that, the game looks and plays extremely well, and the addition of "Works" is fantastic. i'm really starting to like the "off the streets" racing games since i played ProStreet. Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2014
    7
    It is a pretty good racing car game it looks and sounds great and the overall concept is well built.
    STORY/CHARACTERS: N/A.
    PRESENTATION: Need for Speed always delivers in this category an Shift is no exception. GAMEPLAY: Solid controls and you'll have no problems with this. PROGRESSION: This is the weak point. It's very confusing and you don't feel a real progression. Yes there are
    It is a pretty good racing car game it looks and sounds great and the overall concept is well built.
    STORY/CHARACTERS: N/A.
    PRESENTATION: Need for Speed always delivers in this category an Shift is no exception.
    GAMEPLAY: Solid controls and you'll have no problems with this.
    PROGRESSION: This is the weak point. It's very confusing and you don't feel a real progression. Yes there are different Tiers but it's just not enough...
    NFS: Shift lacks the x factor that DiRT 2 has for example. Not comparing both of the games since they're different. Having said that it's a good car game.
    Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Really good driving game. The handling is better then most need for speed games. It looks great, unlimited tuning options, good tracks, a lot of sweet cars, and great concept.
  12. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    Variety: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 7 out of 10, Controls (I used a gaming steering wheel): 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 4 out of 10, Value: 7 out of 10
  13. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    First i loved it! The driving felt solid and gave me a feeling of steering a high power racing car! Unfortunately it becomes really frustrating later in the game (or maybe i´m just to bad at driving games...) and the drifting is just awful! Overall it has a good balance between simulation and arcaderacer.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 87
    Need for Speed Shift gets the most important part of a racing game right and it does so with a flair that’s uncommon in a frequently po-faced genre, providing driving that’s genuinely thrilling.
  2. 90
    A glorious return to greatness (and even excellence) for EA's seminal racing franchise. Slightly Mad Studios has delivered a driving experience that, while not completely accurate in terms of its simulation aspects, is practically dead-on in terms of what it's like to race around some of the world's best racing circuits.
  3. The most substantial upgrade the NFS series has ever received, along with some of the best visuals in the genre's field. [Nov 2009, p.83]