Need for Speed: Shift Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F,Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F, Porsche 911 GT2 and Lotus Elise. Players are thrust into the loud, intense, and athletic experience of racing a car from the driver's perspective through the combination of perception based G-forces, the hyper reality of the cockpit view, and the all-new brutally disorienting crash dynamic. Need for Speed SHIFT features an accurate, accessible physics-based driving model that allows you to feel every impact, every change of track surface and every last bit of grip as you push yourself to the edge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    If you're a number-munching automotive aficionado with a penchant for judging games the way an accountant judges a financial portfolio, know that this is a racing game dedicated to the act of racing rather than the actors, more intent on refining the experience of driving rather than celebrating car culture with scads of vehicles.
  2. Go, NfS! I had serious doubts about this one, but it delivers like a Porsche.
  3. The most substantial upgrade the NFS series has ever received, along with some of the best visuals in the genre's field. [Nov 2009, p.83]
  4. Forget what you have come to expect from an NFS game, because SHIFT takes the series away from the street scene and into the grown-up world of motorsport. It makes a few mistakes along the way, but with great looks, solid handling and some unique features, there is plenty of fun to be had behind the wheel.
  5. If you’re a fan of games like Project Gotham Racing and Grid, you’d really be doing yourself a disservice in missing out on this game since it’s probably right up your alley.
  6. This game goes from zero-to-60 fast enough, but that only brings it upon the question of “now what?” that much more quickly. I don’t want to say that being a sim-racer is a dead end, but it’s hard to know where the Shift branch of Need for Speed can go from here.
  7. In their panic EA has made a game which has no place in the current market. Neither arcade racer, nor simulation it also pales next to the well-established rivals which manage to be both.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. SnaggyD
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Really good driving game, recent patch has cleared up the previous problems and regularly get 12 player races now..
  2. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    Great mix of arcade and simulation and.....woah.....speed. I loved Forza 3 and GT5P and hated all th previous NFS franchise offerings butGreat mix of arcade and simulation and.....woah.....speed. I loved Forza 3 and GT5P and hated all th previous NFS franchise offerings but Shift really is in a class of its own. Loved every minute of it and the cockpit view is one of the best of any racing game on the market right now.
    Really looking forward to NFS Shift 2. Please don't mess with it too much you guys at Slightly Mad Studios. It's not too far off perfect as it is. Favourite car - the Pagani Zonda R is an absolute beast of a motor. Bring in a track editor for the next installment please.
    Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    excellent game. just started playing it again for my second playthrough. the only thing i dont like, is the fact that there isnt any classicexcellent game. just started playing it again for my second playthrough. the only thing i dont like, is the fact that there isnt any classic muscle cars (aside from the old tier 1 gtr, but that hardly counts), and the customization is pretty difficult to use. you cant rotate you car in a free camera mode, you also can mirror the images you make on one side of the car to the opposite side. i also found that a lot of the vinyls that you create look fine on the car in your showroom, but when you bring them out on the track, they skew and rotate into odd angles. i just decided to either go with a flat colour, or choose a preset. other than that, the game looks and plays extremely well, and the addition of "Works" is fantastic. i'm really starting to like the "off the streets" racing games since i played ProStreet. Expand
  4. JoshuaR
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    Its a great game and the and the handling is better then most need for speed games. Its not a sim game so its not perfect. P.S. You Its a great game and the and the handling is better then most need for speed games. Its not a sim game so its not perfect. P.S. You don't try to drift and All-Wheel Drive Evo unless your in a movie. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    First i loved it! The driving felt solid and gave me a feeling of steering a high power racing car! Unfortunately it becomes reallyFirst i loved it! The driving felt solid and gave me a feeling of steering a high power racing car! Unfortunately it becomes really frustrating later in the game (or maybe i´m just to bad at driving games...) and the drifting is just awful! Overall it has a good balance between simulation and arcaderacer. Expand
  6. DavidE
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    I'm gonna start with the cons of this game first, the biggest one is..... THE PHYSICS ENGINE SUCKS! I mean, come on, I do drive a I'm gonna start with the cons of this game first, the biggest one is..... THE PHYSICS ENGINE SUCKS! I mean, come on, I do drive a racecar and it is nothing like this. I know this is susposed to be a mix of sim and arcade racing, but whenever you hit somebody in the rear quarter panel at 60 mph, you do not go into an uncontrollable spin. You may get loose a little, but it does not take you out of the race. Also, there is no real sense of speed in the game, ironic because the game is called Need for Speed. I was driving in the very first race thinking i was going about 50 mph. To my surprise, to spedometer said 170mph. Nowhere close to what I was expecting. Now, that is the biggest issue with the game. On a lighter note, this game is alright, with all of the 'helpers' off, this game is quite challenging and wants you to keep playing. Nice cars and upgrades for them kept me playing for a while. All in all, an OK game. If you want a great game, get GRID or Forza 3, if you just want a game to take up a few weeks of your time, this is for you. Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    "0" -very bad console port: all the menus are a pain and being able to use the mouse to select stuff would be so much easier. -it doesnt add"0" -very bad console port: all the menus are a pain and being able to use the mouse to select stuff would be so much easier. -it doesnt add anything new to the genre, apart from non-steering cars (reminds me of gta IV) -requests an even longer-than-usual "grind" through low-tier cars before you can unlock anything worth driving. -physics engine makes for fun times, because its a joke
    i dont understand why they bothered to add vinyls and such when there is no way you can see them since there is no 3rd person camera, meaning driving different cars doesnt change the experience by much. all you'll notice is better speed, etc
    ive been playing and loving NFS since porche unleashed. ive completed the careers for underground 1&2; most wanted, carbon, i liked them all, yet i uninstalled shift after 2 days.. -all the (terribly boring) cutscenes (for example before and after each race) cannot be skipped.
    the critics who gave this an 83 mustve been either high or very well paid.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews