Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NEVERDEAD begins in the waking hours of peace and calm, when the world is under threat of being consumed by a demonic plague. Centuries have passed since the world succumbed to an unforeseen shadow of evil, and a hero was made an immortal by demons. These demons have risen once again in the present day causing unrelenting mayhem reinforced by destructible environments within the game. Now using his immortalic regenerative powers re-assembling his own body to evade death, the hero carries out the only salvation the world will know, for he is Never Dead. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 15 out of 32
  1. Neverdead is a strange, but fascinating creature. Originality is hard to find nowadays, but Neverdead has plenty of it. Many of the game's puzzles require you to deliberately grab hold of an electric conductor until your body explodes into a flaming spark. [February 2012, p.94]
  2. Never Dead might be a scrappy mess in places – it's blighted by severe screen-tearing and dialogue so bad it makes the original Resi look like Citizen Kane. Yet it's a game about throwing a man around who's usually missing 75% of his torso, meaning it's impossible to be too scathing of its faults.
  3. 60
    Even though Neverdead has its moments of frantic action and fun ideas, badly implemented mechanics means the game will often test your patience.
  4. 50
    Dismemberment and immortality are quirky enough at first to spark some entertainment, but NeverDead doesn't really have any other legs to stand on.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    42
    This game has a really interesting premise, but unfortunately it won't take it across the finish line. The biggest innovation of this game – the immortal protagonist – is also the game's biggest flaw. When Bryce blows to bits and pieces, blood pressure rises on the other side of the screen. Stupid plot and clumsy controls are a suitable crown for this ass-fruit. [March 2012
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    This lack of polish wouldn't be nearly as frustrating if not for the fact that the game's primary feature – the dismemberment of the main characters – makes the game less fun than it would have been as just a plain old third-person action game. Sure, it's a unique idea – but not every idea is worth pursuing. In the case of NeverDead, this concept should have been left on the cutting room floor. You could say the same about the game itself.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    16
    NeverDead is a game, and it can be completed. In my opinion, those are the two truths that cushion the space between a D- and an F. Remove those two facts, and you're left with an amateur effort that redefines the boundary between bad game and flat-out punishment.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game is a new IP that deserves recognition. It has really good new ideas, good gameplay, good graphics and entertaining story. If you are a gamer that gets frustrated a lot, you will hate this game just like the ones that are pissed off because "they get dismembered a lot". The game difficulty depends on how you approach it. Obviously you cant actually die, but there are many ways to get a "game over" screen, and many of the times you get it, may be because you probably ended up being swallowed. You have ways to upgrade your character that allows to overcome most scenarios. Depending on the enemy you can change tactic by using your sword or guns.

    The only thing that should probably be fixed is the fact that "rolling" should not be necessary to re-attach your limbs. And the popping textures. The game doesn't take it self seriously that is why it has really funny moments, and a cheesy but FUN story. The graphics are nice, and the character design is good. Definitively a good first step for a new IP.

    The fact that a company is taking risks by creating new IPs this generation is admirable and must be appreciated. This generation is overflowed with FPS, if you hate that, then support this game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Neverdead is fun. Itâ
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    I enjoyed Neverdead way more than any of the latest Modern Warfare or Black Ops titles... and that said by a huge fan of military FPS. It's fun even if some called the loosing limbs stuff repetitive. In the final boss fights it can get annoying if you do not act quick enough but overall it's quite cool. The mixture of swordplay and gun shooting is fun and satisfying and the occasional puzzles do their job quite well too.
    If you love weird stories with classy lines of text, then this is a game you should pick up!
    Worth to get a sequel for sure.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2012
    5
    What can you say about NeverDead... Well it's a really unique game, I'll give it that. I've not played a game where you can rip your head off on purpose since MediEvil on Ps1. The gameplay itself is clunky, but clunky gameplay is not what I hate about the game. I hate the fact that it is sooo repetitive, you do the same thing pretty much throughout the entire game, only that the enemies get better at severing your limbs. The gameplay itself is then again decent, I mean it's nothing special but it works. As long as you have a high tolerance level that is. The concept of playing as an immortal demonhunter sounds pretty fun, but somehow they managed to make the game feel... Well, uninspired. The gameplay is mediocre but functional, the music is mediocre but wont make your ears bleed and the graphics look bland but fits with the rest. I've never played anything quite like it, playing this game feels like sitting on 10 chairs stacked on each other, it feels unstable but but somehow you don't crash you a painful death. I don't know what I can say about the story without spoiling anything and repeating myself, it was Decent. You got an annoying woman with you which doesn't get better when the smaller even more annoying girl enters the picture. Actually, all the characters are more or less annyoing except the main character, Bryce Boltzmann. He's more like a hobo who walked into your house, you feel sorry for him for where he is but you still don't like him trashing your place, you know? Fuzzy, I know. It's to recommend this game, I suppose if you're really tired of the same old shooter games it's worth a try but unless you like playing as a clunky demonhunter you will save money by staying away from it or waiting for a price drop. Although I do hope someone takes some ideas from it, perhaps with more elements from the T-1000 from Terminator 2, making the character pretty much immortal and indestructible except when facing stuff like extreme heat or cold, I don't know, just be cautios around NeverDead. Collapse
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    5
    Konami, You suck at making shooters these days. I thought it would be a fun game to rent, my choice was wrong. Bad controls, bad gameplay and a bad partner and just a bad game to start with 2012. The game is not good at all, It's so bad it makes me want to cry. Don't even rent or buy, it's a waste of your time. I will give it an hontest 5 though for being a fun game and a nice try for an interesting shooter, but it's an ok game. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    2
    What's the biggest problem in 'Japanese' action games? Absolutely bad controls. Other than NINTENDO, NAMCO and to some extent, CAPCOM (RE 5's tank control is still a mess though), many Japanese games control horribly, bad camera control or have weird design issues. Neverdead is no different. It's weird that only KOJIMA PRODUCTIONS is the only 'studio' within Konami that can make great games. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    0
    This has got to be one of the MOST BORING games I have ever played. The idea is interesting and this really had the potential of being something special. But it's just so badly executed that I wish I could dismember this game and throw in the garbage (when I think of it, actually I can). The main gimmick, being immortal and being dismembered by enemies works the opposite of how it was intended: it's very, very, very frustrating to keep stopping what you're doing to search for limbs in the field. I can't believed this game was approved, produced and released the way it is. It's frustrating beyond unplayable. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews