Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NHL 13 is EA Sports' hockey game with core gameplay innovation, connected experiences, and a deep feature set.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 23, 2012
    93
    Overall, it can be said that NHL 13 is the best iteration of the franchise to date, and probably the best sports game I have ever played.
  2. 90
    One of the highly touted parts of NHL 13 was the boost up in the game's artificial intelligence. AI-controlled skaters now move to more natural positions on the ice, anticipating plays and moving to a spot on the ice that actually makes sense.
  3. When a series' 13th installment leaves us amazed with its highlight moments and has us playing all-nighters again, it's an easy pick-up-call. [Nov 2012, p.86]
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    A fun, engaging and deep iteration of the world's best sport.
  5. 80
    EA Canada has made a solid game with an improved physics system that will serve well as a foundation in the coming years. If we don't get a proper NHL season on TV this year, NHL 13 is a competent substitute.
  6. 80
    EA Sports takes its NHL series in a more realistic direction with a new skating system. While it's accompanied by some other authentic hockey features, it may turn off casual fans as they struggle to adapt to a slower game.
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    74
    This does just feel like a slight adjustment over NHL 12, which felt like a minor tinkering of NHL, which... well, you get the point. [Issue#223, p.85]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    as nhl13 is great . the great and the fights are just epic Grade A ................................................................................................ Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    NHL13 is a game of solid improvements mixed with minor and overlooked flaws. The skating engine brings some much needed realism to the game. Anyone complaining about it has obviously never really played ice hockey before, as it is the most realistic skating the series has ever seen. On the down note to this system is the lack of ability to square up for a shot when you don't have the puck as the "vision control" button is now the skate backwards button. So if you play LW and are left handed, have fun trying to get into a positive shooting position anywhere near the net, The loss of the ability to square to the net when you want to has really ruined online play for me. As the act of receiving passes and getting off that quick shot or redirect has become an exercise in frustration. So I suggest if you are lefty, play RW this year as you are more naturally in a direction orientated towards the net and in a better shooting position. Another mistake to the skating system was to make the skaters reach top speed simply by holding up on the left stick. What is the use of the L3 button now, as you can get into "Hustle Strides" by simply holding up. This also eliminates smooth, controlled, heads up skating through the neutral zone. So expect to fight your pacing if you decide to skate in one direction too long, as your skater may burst into "Top End Speed Mode" This usually leads to misdirected passes, inaccurate shooting and skating into too many body checks. As I said this isn't a problem as much with the physics or skating engine as much as it is bad game design and control management by the NHL13 development team. The skating engine is fantastic, it's implementation could have been better if not for lackluster game testing and control management.......but hey, this is EA Sports we are talking about here. Get it out the door and make that money, we'll "Tune" it later. As far as "Hockey IQ" AI goes, you will enjoy these improvements more offline than online as well. Online CPU players are still dumb as a stump and can't make 6 foot passes, but offline in season or GM Mode the improved AI and Forechecking schemes really do shine. The issue of poke checking is one that may annoy a lot of you out there as well. As I like to call it "Phantom Poke Checking" You know, the poke checks that seem to be from beyond the length of the poking players reach and knocks the puck away from you with the force field it created as it bended spacetime?? Those can be quite annoying, especially near the net with the super aggressive, over pokey goalies joining in on the fun. As for the stick lift....just call that the penalty button. How one can be called for a slash on an upward motion is beyond me, I understand the high stick, but a slash from a stick lift is a bit ridiculous. It's more like the Russian Roulette button, will I get a Stick Lift, a Slash or a Hook. Overall this game plays very well if not for a few poor design decisions within the implementation of the skating engine it would be damn near perfect to me. The graphics and lighting have really taken a step up, as well as the entire presentation package, even though Bill Clement and Gary Thorn's lifeless play by play has grown tiresome. So if you are a hockey junkie as I am, this is definitely a must buy game. If you are on the fence, maybe a rental or a borrow from a buddy will help you decide. It is still a solid hockey title from EA, and I still applaud them for trying to make progress with each edition. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Sports games have come back into my completely. I have't loved them since mid-2000. But we're back baby. The fact that the computer doesn't lose the puck no matter what and we lose the puck even if the computer taps us- omg frustrating. It loses a full point but you know what? I'm lovin the game. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    From a 2003-present consistent EA NHL buyer, this year's version is quite a disappointment, but not a failure. The new skating system is decent, but extremely frustrating at times. The game has slowed down tremendously, and the momentum physics make it incredibly difficult at times to maneuver your players on simple passes and routes. As far as checking goes, body checking has improved from '12, but stick-checking has taken a massive, giant leap backwards. Stick lifting is utterly useless, and poking is inconsistent and awkwardly animated.

    +Positives: Tons of modes, realistic movements (particularly shooting), rating system
    -Negatives: body/stick checking is VERY awkward, skating
    Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2012
    5
    NHL 13, is an ok game, but there is absolutly nothing fabalous about it, it just doesnt ring a bell, ther graphics arent so entertaining to me, it is alittle dissapointing because other EA`s sport games improved, like FIFA 13. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    2
    The biggest problem with this game is the EA servers, they are totally overloaded if you live in Europe. Also has frame-rate issue with PS3. Not loading well on the machine and that gets really annoying. They probably tested the game much more on XBOX Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    Its disgusting that EA is allowed to release this product. They've taken NHL12 and made it worse. And NHL12 was bad to begin with. A total cash-grab, Don't listen to the journalists because they must've been bribed, no one in their right mind would have given that game an 8, to give it a 5 and above is just wrong.

    Lets hope that 2K gets another chance to make a NHL game, because with this on the market a new NHL game with better features is long over due. Its sad because us who love hockey is stuck with this horrible abomination. Don't buy it, buy it pre-owned or borrow it, hell, steal it. Dont give EA money for this garbage.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews