User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 62
  2. Negative: 19 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    4
    There is so much wrong with this game. Lets start off by saying that Gary Thorne and Bill Clement NEED to be replaced! This series is repetitive and is put on the bottom of the list in sports games for EA. And I love hockey, don't get me wrong. The game got some minor improvements such as the fights, skating (again), collision fixes, and a "new" deking system. This update should be made in every game, yet, NHL 14 looks the exact same NHL 13 and NHL 13 looks the same as NHL 12! C'mon EA you can do better than that! In NHL 13, they completely dropped the ball. The hits were so stupid it was funny, players would go flying into the seats, goalies could be hit out of the net and be scored on. EA definitely deserved the worst company award, hands down. The truth is NHL games come last on EA's list, and we are all being pulled into a circle of buying this game every year. It's sad really. FIFA and the NFL series always get the biggest updates and praise they deserve, because they're actually really good games. Most of the modes are still here and are exactly the same as NHL 13, and the only reason I am giving this game a 1/10 is because of NHL '94 mode which was a really good NHL game for its time. The new modes feel and play the same as NHL 13, sadly. I really wish there was more to this game and that it'd be improved over NHL 13, but it really hasn't. Same voice actors saying the same things over and over again, things that they said in NHL 13! It's time for them to be replaced. The new checking engine is better and I am glad to see improvement in that area. But why aren't these "updates" coming with every new game? NHL 14 is basically just a bandage for the scars that NHL 13 gave to the series. I am warning you, if you are a hardcore NHL fan do not buy this game. If you're new to the sport, wait 'till next year, please. Maybe EA will open their eyes to the atrocity NHL 13/14 is? By the way I am not a troll, I am a serious gamer and write serious reviews! I am glad if you take my advice, if not, that's ok also! I respect both decisions. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    1
    I am a huge fan of all EA sports and NHL series games. I have really enjoyed the Online Team Play of the past few years playing as player and goalie. There was huge progress made from the 12 to 13, however 14 falls short in a bad way. There was very little done in 14, they adjusted the fighting and hitting but the rest was almost unchanged. The "enforcer" engine is unrealistic to real life NHL hockey, because there would be an "instigator" call each time. The have completely ruined the AI interface of goalies as there can be beat with the same deke every time, and some weak wrist shots even bounce past them from far out. They do not allow human goalies the same opportunity as previous years, even when you are in postion now, they can still pick the corners. If a player on your team passes the puck towards the goalie, they will have little chance to stop it now matter how slow of a pass it might be. The 'one-touch' dekes have made it so any player can simply hold the L1 button and be nearly untouchable. The skating has got worse and players can still move in circles and avoid being hit or pokechecked. The painful thing about this series has become that those who enjoy the online play must buy the new version each year to play it otherwise there is nobody to play with. The game lags and glitches out worse than previous years. This was by far the worst installment in the past 5 years. They did not change the intro to game start, the goal celebrations, the cup celebrations, and the question period in the "live the life" mode is a joke and a waste of time. I love playing NHL games, I play it more than anything for the past few years, this year however myself and many friends have been getting frustrated and most have lost all interest in the game. EA sports really needs to step up next year, fix the issue, and create some new commentary, intros, celebrations, ect. They have been using the same video for 5 years now and it gets stupid when most of their sales are to people who have played they previous years, and recognize their poor effort to creating something new and exciting. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    3
    Ok folks let's get the obvious out of the way There really isn't much going on here The game feels like hockey for people with ADD You know the people who say hockey is too slow The people who fox developed the Fox trax puck Now I'm sure some people complained As a result this is what you get When people complained saying we want more arcade like hockey The response should of been we have that it's called NHL 3 on 3 arcade .

    I found myself thinking do these developers ever even watch a hockey game Apparently in Vancouver they think the Blackhawks still play in Chicago stadium This is no small feat considering that venue is gone It's been rubble for over 20 years The commentary is redundant and in many cases recycled from nhl 13 Nothing says effort quite like that .

    The gameplay is terrible as well Everybody pretty much is a big hitter now It's that whole dumbing things down aspect I mentioned earlier Ridiculous things will happen It's unnecessarily difficult to win a face off now Even with slider adjustments the game doesn't feel right It feels as if EA is cramming the style of "hockey they want you to play down your throat Rosters are inaccurate sliders are pretty much ineffective .
    Now let's talk about the elephant in the room here The biggest problem is there is no competition EA knows nobody else makes hockey games So they are content giving us the same nonsense every year Slapping a new face on the box but shipping the same game as last year I for one am sick of this In other industries such things would be called a monopoly not so in the gaming industry Hopefully with a new generation of hardware a little friendly competition will emerge I dream that one day a hockey game will be made Made by people who are as passionate about the sport as we are I give this game a 3 If you own NHl 13 don't buy this Play until they shut the servers down and save your money You aren't missing much it's the same game as last year
    Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    Alright let me just start off by saying this game is absolutely awful. Sure this game is fun for one game every other month but if you plan on playing it anymore than that then you will quickly find that you want to throw you PS3 out a window and punch the closest person to you in the face. There are so many stupid mistakes made in this game that I could probably write a 3-part series on them. If you go into the third period with a lead don't plan on keeping it because of the comeback system. You'll quickly find that your opponent can do just about anything and score no matter what you do. The fighting system is terrible and makes no sense. If you're reading this and still haven't got the game, don't. I don't know why it surprised me that EA came out with another game. I guess I was expecting something that was at least decent but no, this game is awful. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2014
    0
    this game will make u want to grab your ps3. Chuck it out the window, light it in on fire, throw in the toilet. Take a poop on it and attempt to flush it down the toilet. Why? It SUCKS. IT SUCKS. it is really unfair
  6. Mar 14, 2014
    2
    By far the worst NHL game so far, and I've owned every game since '08. For skilled NHL players like me, the game is just horrible to play offline. Playing on the highest difficulty the computer will rig the game just so it can win, making it a challenge for skilled players to win a simple game on Superstar, the hardest difficulty. Your computer teammates will take countless penalties, keeping you on the penalty kill for the majority of the game. You could hold the computer to 5 shots the entire game and still lose 4-3. They score on the best goalies with the worst shots, and make their goalies impossible to score on. My goalie was Carey Price, one of the best goalies in the game and his save percentage per game I played was probably only 50%. They barely made any improvements to NHL 13, and the new fighting is absolutely ridiculous. NHL 94 mode is complete garbage and you can't even play it online. I'm expecting much more in NHL 15, because this game was a huge letdown. Not to mention the countless glitches. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    3
    This games graphics lag the hell out! And the movement of the players are hard to turn. Just trying to score is hard enough because the deike sucks! I think nhl 11 is way better than this piece of crap
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. One very welcome addition is NHL 94 Anniversary mode. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    NHL 14 doesn't exactly reinvent the wheel, but then again... it doesn't need to. Deep controls that are both challenging and accessible make for an excellent hockey simulation, strengthened by a large variety of game modes, state-of-the-art visuals and top-notch commentary tracks. If you're into hockey, you owe it to yourself to give NHL 14 a shot.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    With the benefit of some great training tutorials, before long anyone can be carrying out line changes, deking with the best of them and carrying out a brilliant selection of slapshots, pivots and, of course, brutal punches to the face.