NHL 14 PlayStation 3

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 75
  2. Negative: 20 out of 75
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    Although sports games don't change very much from year to year, I still thought that NHL 14 was a very good game. The new hits are awesome and the new fighting is a very good addition to the game. The graphics are still great, as well as the gameplay. The only problems I have were you had to adjust the game speed slider a little to make the game a little more real. The A.I of yourAlthough sports games don't change very much from year to year, I still thought that NHL 14 was a very good game. The new hits are awesome and the new fighting is a very good addition to the game. The graphics are still great, as well as the gameplay. The only problems I have were you had to adjust the game speed slider a little to make the game a little more real. The A.I of your computer players is not always the best either, and you still get some stupid goals scored on you. However all that said the game is still a lot of fun, and I was very pleased that they cut down on the time it takes to do anything in the game period. All the load times are shorter as well as when you simulate, everything goes much faster. Overall a great game if you liked the last few NHL games you will like this one as well. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2015
    9
    Este juego hay que empezar a repartirlo gratis en las escuelas de Argentina(?). Dan ganas que todo el mundo conozca el deporte...o al menos el juego xD.
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    I like this game, I'd say better than previous games. All of the new features really help the game have a lasting appeal. So many people don't like the new fighting mechanic, but I don't know what the problem with it is, I am still able to win more than half of my fights. But the game isn't perfect and could use a decent polishing.
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    The game is very good looking, and there's plenty to sink your teeth, from ultimate team to a very well done career mode. The animations when slowed done can look ugly, and the commentary can be a step behind, and is very, very generic. The new fighting is excellent, and can help make or break your chances of winning a game. NHL 94 anniversary mode is fun, and an excellent way for peopleThe game is very good looking, and there's plenty to sink your teeth, from ultimate team to a very well done career mode. The animations when slowed done can look ugly, and the commentary can be a step behind, and is very, very generic. The new fighting is excellent, and can help make or break your chances of winning a game. NHL 94 anniversary mode is fun, and an excellent way for people unfamiliar with hockey to dive in and have fun. The creation modes are kind of half-assed, but it is still there for inquiring minds, just don't expect anything incredibly deep. Finally, the game lacks proper tutorials for deking, faceoffs, and goalie mode. Particularly when I tried to learn goalie mode, I spent many hours pulling my hair out over trying to figure the mode out. Overall, very good if you like hockey, and there is still some stuff here for more casual fans. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Much better than last years iteration. NHL 13 was easily the worst EA Sports hockey game I've played on this generation of consoles. Safe to say that NHL 14 does a lot of fine tuning. Animations are still very robotic looking. To all my fellow Canadians and hockey fans go pick this up.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    This game was fun to play. The fighting in the game is pretty good. And the hitting in this game is so satisfying. I don't have much to say about the dekes. The shooting and passing feel smooth and I only the occasional bug while shooting. And it is a refreshing comeback from a not so good hockey game last year.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    Nhl 14 was by far the best hockey video game !ve played. I love the hitting system and the fighting as those are my two favorite things to do in hockey video games.
  8. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    EA Sports redeems itself for the lacking NHL 13 with the most realistic, fun, and deep NHL game ever made. NHL 14 is improves all the core mechanics of the game and adds two game defining mechanics. The fighting is actually fun in NHL 14. Improving ten fold from the horrible first person fighting that plagued the previous NHL games, the third person fighting is extremely fun but with stillEA Sports redeems itself for the lacking NHL 13 with the most realistic, fun, and deep NHL game ever made. NHL 14 is improves all the core mechanics of the game and adds two game defining mechanics. The fighting is actually fun in NHL 14. Improving ten fold from the horrible first person fighting that plagued the previous NHL games, the third person fighting is extremely fun but with still ample room for improvement. The other mechanic greatly improved is hitting. No NHL game allows for such satisfying hitting as '14. The Live the Life and HUT online are incredibly fun game modes that will keep players entertained for hours. The NHL '94 Anniversary Mode is fun too, though hardly necessary. Overall, NHL 14 is the best hockey game there's ever been and is a significant improvement over '13. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    I have been a fan of the series ever since NHL 99, that was the game that got me into sports games. This year there are three big new features. The first of which is NHL Collision Physics. What this does is makes the hits harder, more satisfying and more realistic. Gone are the days where you would skate full speed into someone and nothing would happen. In this one if you line someone up,I have been a fan of the series ever since NHL 99, that was the game that got me into sports games. This year there are three big new features. The first of which is NHL Collision Physics. What this does is makes the hits harder, more satisfying and more realistic. Gone are the days where you would skate full speed into someone and nothing would happen. In this one if you line someone up, it looks freaking awesome. They also completely overhauled the fighting, getting rid of the first-person minigame and putting in a third person camera angle. The fights also happen organically now, so for example if i take a cheap shot at a star like Crosby, a enforcer will come and fight me. They also added these things called One Touch Dekes, so now if you hold L1 or LB and push the left stick in a direction, your person will make a sick deke. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 14, 2013
    80
    One very welcome addition is NHL 94 Anniversary mode. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    NHL 14 doesn't exactly reinvent the wheel, but then again... it doesn't need to. Deep controls that are both challenging and accessible make for an excellent hockey simulation, strengthened by a large variety of game modes, state-of-the-art visuals and top-notch commentary tracks. If you're into hockey, you owe it to yourself to give NHL 14 a shot.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    With the benefit of some great training tutorials, before long anyone can be carrying out line changes, deking with the best of them and carrying out a brilliant selection of slapshots, pivots and, of course, brutal punches to the face.