Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    This is one of those unique adventures that you'll never forget.
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    Level-5, along with the amazing localisation work, took the experience from their background and created an adorable RPG that will be remembered for ages to come.
  3. [Y]ou're looking at everything you could want in a game; a breathtaking world to get lost in, wonderful characters, a fun tactical combat system, hours and hours worth of quests, puzzles and more booty to grab than a live stage show of Magic Mike. Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is gaming at its most magical and only the hardest of hearts will not be spirited away by it. [January 2013, p60]
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    I don't usually count myself in the group of people who frequently wished they were younger. But in this particular case I'd give a lot to be able to see this world and its magic through young and unspoiled eyes, to be able to take it all in unfiltered. The influence Studio Ghibli exerts over this is so strong that it single-handedly might make Ni no Kuni that defining game for a young and Japanophile generation, not unlike what those Final Fantasys of old managed to become for us. And because I hold those so dearly, I couldn't think of a bigger compliment. I salute Ni no Kuni.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Any fan of the genre owes it to themselves to give Ni no Kuni a try, but I won't go so far as to guarantee that you'll love this game even if you've hated past JRPGs.
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    90
    Maybe all that beauty would be undermined by the low-key narrative if the combat wasn't as deep. It's why this collaboration between Level-5 and Studio Ghibli works. One without the other might have been good, but together they've created a superb role-playing game for this generation to savor.
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    The impact of the fantastic soundtrack cannot be overstated.
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Stunning, gripping, and touching in all the right ways.
  9. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Not only a fantastic JRPG in its own right, Ni No Kuni: The Wrath of the White Witch is perfect for anyone who has ever wished to live inside a Studio Ghibli film.
  10. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is much more than a vehicle for the House that Miyazaki Built; it's a first-class production all the way that delivers-and improves on-every aspect of the traditional Japanese RPG.
  11. 90
    If the dazzling production values don't win you over, the storyline, characters and engaging combat will.
  12. Jan 21, 2013
    90
    If you're a lover of games that require you to put in before you get out, and you recall the glory days of the Eastern RPG, where experience points were the lifeblood and the grind was king, you have literally no decent excuse for not finding a way to play Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. A classic of the modern age, built entirely from classics of the past, it's advised you get comfortable, cancel all your plans, and prepare to enjoy a game that will dominate your life for the next few months.
  13. Jan 18, 2013
    90
    Studio Ghibli and LEVEL 5 combined their knowledge and the result is awesome. Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch captivates everybody with a great anime atmosphere, a deep story and approved gameplay mechanisms. By now Ni No Kuni is a candidate for a game of the year award.
  14. I'm saying this deserves to be picked up by so many more people than the niche of role-players and Studio Ghibli fans it immediately appeals to. I'm saying it's so finely crafted it could warm the heart of an Army Of Two player and soothe the perpetual anger of a FIFA-phile… if they'd only let it.
  15. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    With a heart-warming protagonist, beautifully illustrated world, and addicting gameplay, Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is another masterpiece of which Level-5 and Studio Ghibli can be rightly proud.
  16. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    A pure act of love. This is what Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Which is for both Studio Ghibli lovers and gamers who want to embrace again that old fashioned, classic spirit from the RPG genre of 16 and 32 Bit generations. The makers of Spirited Away and the creators of Dragon Quest VIII -Level 5- join forces in a visually constant Tour de Force that contains one of the best scores ever written for a videogame and a battle system that mixes turn-based with real time action. One true jewel of the PlayStation 3 library.
  17. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni is a fantastic journey into good, old, japanese RPGs. The incredible design and the rich gameplay are enough to entertain both young and experienced players. If you have a PlayStation 3, you can't miss this awesome experience.
  18. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    It's a world where pretty fantasy archetypes clothe heartfelt domestic drama, and where outlandish cartoon creations sit at the heart of an engrossing game, infusing it with their exotic charm. Ni no Kuni wears its Studio Ghibli inheritance as lightly as Oliver does his little red magician's cloak, transporting us from one universe to another with the wave of a wand.
  19. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    But with one massive, graceful, Welsh-tinged sweep, the combined might of Level-5 and Studio Ghibli has reinstated credibility to a flagging area of gaming. It's taken years of craft and - likely - a hell of a lot of money, but Ni No Kuni is a wonderful, wondrous experience and will keep you captivated and enchanted for dozens of hours.
  20. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    Despite a battle system that has the ability to irritate, Ni No Kuni should be experienced and enjoyed by all types of gamers.
  21. Feb 11, 2013
    89
    Exploring Ni No Kuni is a wonderful, magical experience.
  22. Feb 22, 2013
    88
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is the textbook example of a Japanese role-playing game that includes all of the required features such as a turn-based combat system and lengthy narrative.
  23. Feb 7, 2013
    88
    Ni No Kuni is an amazingly complete package. It’s disappointing the game puts the player through a lot of backtracking and the difference between the beautiful cinematic cut scenes and the text balloons is terrible. These are only minor issues when you see the beautifully created world, the excellent fighting system and the incredible amount of content the game has to offer.
  24. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    A stunningly beautiful and bittersweet adventure about love and loss, burning brightly with the magic of Studio Ghibli, hampered only by a repetitive combat system lacking tactical elements. [Jan 2013]
  25. Whereas characters in western RPG's tend to nag more than the average math teacher, the inhabitants of the beautiful world that is Ni no Kuni tend to have an intelligent sense of humour, rarely seen in games. [January 2013, p.62]
  26. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Despite the delayed journey to the West, Ni No Kuni is definitely a title you should at least give a chance. There is a demo up on PSN that you can go ahead and download, and once you get used to the combat system and mechanics of the game, you’ll be treated to an adventure like no other.
  27. Mar 5, 2013
    85
    It isn’t for everyone, and it’s definitely not the game that will convince you to pick up a JRPG if you’ve been avoiding them for this long. Even so, I find myself entirely entranced by Ni no Kuni, and I’m willing to look past its flaws as I return to its magical, whimsical world.
  28. Jan 31, 2013
    85
    A feast for the senses, Ni No Kuni has a lot to offer to the hardcore JRPG gamers. Irregular difficulty, slow pacing and poor friendly AI are its problems, but if you can get past them, you will be captivated by its wonderful world, deep mechanics, great post-game length and overall beauty.
  29. Jan 28, 2013
    85
    What a charming adventure. The beautiful backdrops bear the inimitable hand writing of Studio Ghibli's artists. The wonderful story carries big emotions without pathos. And the role-playing game opens the doors to a wide land full of fantasy and danger.
  30. Jan 22, 2013
    85
    The story is clichéd and even boring at times, the writing isn't anything special, and the AI and some design decisions are questionable. There's just no denying any of that in my eyes. But it's so beautiful, so likable, so charming, and so well prepared with such loving care, that it's impossible to come away unimpressed or unsatisfied.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 846 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 212
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I amI picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I am really enjoying something that square enix forgot about and that is EXPLORATION!!!!!!!!! New gen RPGS are just hallways or sandbox games. This really brings back memories of psone style RPGS when you can explore a world map. I have 100s of games across psone, ps2, ps3, psp, dreamcast, saturn and wii. And even though I've only played Ni No Kuni for a few hours. It is by far the best jrpg NO best of any rpg this gen for sure. Doesn't matter how it ends I've had more fun with the first few hours of this game then 100s of hours spent on others. This game needs to be a best seller so game designers will stop making every game with guns. Don't get me wrong I love killzone but FPS is getting OLD!!!! I hope this brings new life into the game industry that has been costing on crap for too long. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden eraI must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden era of the J-RPG from psone. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a wonderful day am having.....
    Full Review »