Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    91
    There are few JRPGs out there with the same level of perfection found in this Level 5 production. A top notch adventure with plenty of magical moments and fun characters.
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    85
    What a charming adventure. The beautiful backdrops bear the inimitable hand writing of Studio Ghibli's artists. The wonderful story carries big emotions without pathos. And the role-playing game opens the doors to a wide land full of fantasy and danger.
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Despite the delayed journey to the West, Ni No Kuni is definitely a title you should at least give a chance. There is a demo up on PSN that you can go ahead and download, and once you get used to the combat system and mechanics of the game, you’ll be treated to an adventure like no other.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Any fan of the genre owes it to themselves to give Ni no Kuni a try, but I won't go so far as to guarantee that you'll love this game even if you've hated past JRPGs.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    77
    If you've grown sick of JRPGs, as many people have, Ni No Kuni isn't going to change your mind. It's traditional, steadfast in its adherence to certain genre rules, and only stays away from a few of the genre's bad habits. But it's also a beautiful game, solidly built and full of whimsy, with some fun features and the sort of breadth you don't often find in game adventures these days.
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    65
    It's unfortunate that the story is so incredibly mundane, with a bad case of structural repetition for each main area. Oliver's grief is a valid emotion to ride, but it takes a back seat to so many hours of grinding.
  7. 92
    It’s not perfect of course, and may not turn heads amongst the most eccentric of JRPG lovers, but what Level – 5 and Studio Ghibli have produced is an entrancing trip through an alluring, original adventure that’s surprisingly touching despite it’s simplicity, and easily rivals some of the best games I’ve played to date.
  8. Feb 6, 2013
    80
    For some reason jRPG and Ghibli did not click as superbly as one could hope for. Instead of expected perfection Ni no Kuni is just a very good game. But should we really complain about that? [CD-Action 02/2013, p.46]
  9. Jan 24, 2013
    96
    Ni No Kuni easily stands with the best Japanese RPGs of this generation, and I believe it will stand the test of time to become one of the beloved adventures that people remember for years to come. This is the game for everyone who wishes they made RPGs like they did "back then," but who also loves the advancements we've seen in graphics, sound, and gameplay systems over the years.
  10. 93
    Ni No Kuni is a miracle. Doused in character and constructed with depth, its first half hour is awe-inspiring yet the challenge can carry beyond the hundred hour mark.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    98
    To put it lightly, Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is one of the best games I have played in years. From the moving story and characters to the amazing visual style and game design, there is little to complain about here.
  12. Jan 29, 2013
    100
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is as much a triumph of curation as it is a technical showcase; Ghibli and Level 5 have cherry-picked the very best elements from their own past and combined them with the best that the genre has to offer.
  13. Feb 22, 2013
    80
    In the end, for anyone with any love for classic Japanese role playing games, Studio Ghibli movies, or just want a charming adventure in a wonderful colourful world, Ni No Kuni will see right by you.
  14. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    Level-5, along with the amazing localisation work, took the experience from their background and created an adorable RPG that will be remembered for ages to come.
  15. Jan 21, 2013
    90
    If you're a lover of games that require you to put in before you get out, and you recall the glory days of the Eastern RPG, where experience points were the lifeblood and the grind was king, you have literally no decent excuse for not finding a way to play Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. A classic of the modern age, built entirely from classics of the past, it's advised you get comfortable, cancel all your plans, and prepare to enjoy a game that will dominate your life for the next few months.
  16. Jan 17, 2013
    80
    Studio Ghibli, meanwhile, has helped to create a memorable and touching narrative that's sure to strike a chord with gamers both young and old.
  17. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    Level-5 and Studio Ghibli's contributions are harmonious. As a game, Ni No Kuni builds upon classic JRPG foundations, eschewing the evolutions of Xenoblade Chronicles and Final Fantasy XII. But the assured flair with which Level-5 has implemented each of the game's classic components combines with Ghibli's masterful storytelling to deliver a JRPG that's quite unlike any other.
  18. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is much more than a vehicle for the House that Miyazaki Built; it's a first-class production all the way that delivers-and improves on-every aspect of the traditional Japanese RPG.
  19. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    It's a world where pretty fantasy archetypes clothe heartfelt domestic drama, and where outlandish cartoon creations sit at the heart of an engrossing game, infusing it with their exotic charm. Ni no Kuni wears its Studio Ghibli inheritance as lightly as Oliver does his little red magician's cloak, transporting us from one universe to another with the wave of a wand.
  20. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    I don't usually count myself in the group of people who frequently wished they were younger. But in this particular case I'd give a lot to be able to see this world and its magic through young and unspoiled eyes, to be able to take it all in unfiltered. The influence Studio Ghibli exerts over this is so strong that it single-handedly might make Ni no Kuni that defining game for a young and Japanophile generation, not unlike what those Final Fantasys of old managed to become for us. And because I hold those so dearly, I couldn't think of a bigger compliment. I salute Ni no Kuni.
  21. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni is a fantastic journey into good, old, japanese RPGs. The incredible design and the rich gameplay are enough to entertain both young and experienced players. If you have a PlayStation 3, you can't miss this awesome experience.
  22. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    This is one of those unique adventures that you'll never forget.
  23. Jan 17, 2013
    80
    Ni No Kuni is visually stunning, using the cel shading technique in a way that even surpasses the beautiful Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker.
  24. Feb 6, 2013
    80
    By no means is Ni no Kuni a perfect match of Studio Ghibli’s design and character sensibilities and Level 5′s ability to craft deep and meaningful RPG systems, but it’s a close enough match that any flaws to either side are easily ignored. With as much charm, humor and as many quirks as can be packed onto a disc, Ni no Kuni will satisfy even the most disheartened and cynical role-playing fans and, possibly, people not into role-playing games at all.
  25. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Nu No Kuni is a role-playing game as we have not seen in years. It's a delightful title: in the gameplay mechanics, in the narrative structure and in all the features.
  26. Jan 16, 2013
    70
    The journey can be fun; I liked collecting and growing familiars and watching the breathtaking world before me, but Ni No Kuni doesn't come without frustration. Enter for the beauty, but know it comes with a price. [Feb 2013, p.90]
  27. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Not only a fantastic JRPG in its own right, Ni No Kuni: The Wrath of the White Witch is perfect for anyone who has ever wished to live inside a Studio Ghibli film.
  28. Feb 1, 2013
    80
    Level-5 and Ghibli. Improbable just a few years ago, such and alliance of the little prince of the RPG and the king of Japanese animation gives birth to a super classical RPG, with no need for the magnificent spellbook that was given with the portable version. But in this PS3 take, Ninokuni doesn't really aim at younger gamers anymore. Paradoxically, the very light and sensible style of Ghibli does not give life to the best RPG in the world, but attempts to open up a way to an adventure with quiet strength.
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    50
    In a certain sense, Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch seems to be exactly as advertised. The quality of the artwork is unimpeachable, just as one might expect from the studio that created it. Unfortunately, the beauty of Ghibli has been painted onto the unimaginative and poorly-executed design of Level-5. As a result, Ni No Kuni turns out as blandly as its name suggests.
  30. Jan 31, 2013
    85
    A feast for the senses, Ni No Kuni has a lot to offer to the hardcore JRPG gamers. Irregular difficulty, slow pacing and poor friendly AI are its problems, but if you can get past them, you will be captivated by its wonderful world, deep mechanics, great post-game length and overall beauty.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 909 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 225
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I amI picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I am really enjoying something that square enix forgot about and that is EXPLORATION!!!!!!!!! New gen RPGS are just hallways or sandbox games. This really brings back memories of psone style RPGS when you can explore a world map. I have 100s of games across psone, ps2, ps3, psp, dreamcast, saturn and wii. And even though I've only played Ni No Kuni for a few hours. It is by far the best jrpg NO best of any rpg this gen for sure. Doesn't matter how it ends I've had more fun with the first few hours of this game then 100s of hours spent on others. This game needs to be a best seller so game designers will stop making every game with guns. Don't get me wrong I love killzone but FPS is getting OLD!!!! I hope this brings new life into the game industry that has been costing on crap for too long. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden eraI must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden era of the J-RPG from psone. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a wonderful day am having.....
    Full Review »