NIER PlayStation 3

NIER Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected withNothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected with the Black Scrawl virus. With powerful allies and a mysterious book, NIER encounters things that will confound even the mightiest of warriors. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 58
  2. Negative: 3 out of 58
  1. Nier is an awesome game which brings a great story, lots of gameplay variation, interesting characters and a very good soundtrack. It is the surprise of this year!
  2. A great combination of action games like Bayonetta and RPG games like Last Remnant. Everything from bosses to the epic music deserves praise.
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Nier won't wow players with its basic mechanics, but in the story it tells, the characters it develops, and the themes present throughout play, it will easily win over anyone seeking something emotionally exploratory and well off the beaten path.
  4. 70
    The ideas that Nier was built on are extremely solid -- the execution just falls short.
  5. AceGamez
    65
    Provided you can make it through the disappointing introduction and swallow your outrage every time Kaine makes a show of bending over, Nier is a classic action RPG with some refreshing elements and a reminder that streamlined gameplay need not mean a restrictive experience due to its minimal but innovative weapon and ability upgrade system.
  6. Thanks to a strong narrative and a relatively good concept, Nier is to be considered a decent addition to the PS3's and 360's RPG catalog. Although its visuals aren't surely breathtaking and its gameplay doesn't excel in terms of depth, the game will in fact manage to guarantee a likable experience to any fan of the genre.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    40
    As far as being an actioner that's worthy of your time, this is not up to the standard we'd expect. In fact, it's nowhere Nier. [June 2010, p.105]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
  1. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and touching. The graphical art style is fantastic.

    The combat is very fun.

    There are lots of optional sidequests throughout the game and there all different.

    The game probably has one of the most amazing beautiful ost's ever.
    Expand
  2. May 16, 2011
    10
    Great game. This game reminds me alot of Illusion of Gaia. A different kind of RPG that is quirky, feels different and yet familar at theGreat game. This game reminds me alot of Illusion of Gaia. A different kind of RPG that is quirky, feels different and yet familar at the same time. Great soundtrack, I personally dont think the graphics are bad at all having grown up with the snes/ps1 and so on, and the gameplay keeps you interested. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Nier completely surprised me, no, shocked me. I thought I was buying a decent action rpg by Square Enix and I found an incredible rpg with aNier completely surprised me, no, shocked me. I thought I was buying a decent action rpg by Square Enix and I found an incredible rpg with a soundtrack that could easily compete for the best of the genre's history, a story that moved me to play the game multiple times just to get all the possible endings (the last one left me speechless) and the ability to use mechanics from many genres to differentiate its sections, ranging from survival horror to text adventure to shoot'em up. Its heroes were one of a kind, and I can guarantee that anyone who buy it will be blown away by the way this game handles its story.

    It hasn't the best production values of a Ps3 jrpg (it's quite mediocre, to put it bluntly), but anyone willing to look over the polygon count is in for a great ride, something that more polished home console rpgs haven't been able to deliver in this generation.
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2015
    9
    epico ,sublime ,unico,caviar videojueguil,sensaciones unicas y a la vez sensaciones de algo clasico,o lo amas o lo odias ,asi de claro.puroepico ,sublime ,unico,caviar videojueguil,sensaciones unicas y a la vez sensaciones de algo clasico,o lo amas o lo odias ,asi de claro.puro espectaculo narrativo ,intensamente emocional y una de las mejores bandas sonoras de la historia.SUBLIME !!!!! Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This is one of the best RPGs I have ever played. Great story, absolutely unique characters, fantastic soundtrack and amazing setting left meThis is one of the best RPGs I have ever played. Great story, absolutely unique characters, fantastic soundtrack and amazing setting left me wanting for more and then some. You are going to be thrown in a bizarre world which will haunt you for some time to come. For a game that tries to mix in so many sub-genres of the games and hits you with a great deal of emotional shots now and then it is strong 9 from me. Soundtrack alone is something to enjoy and repeat for some time! On the downside - Graphics are not that good, but it should NOT prevent you from enjoying this wonderful, unique and daring title. Totally worth your money. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before I begin, here are a few facts about NIER:

    1) It is a story entirely based on the 5th ending of the first Drakengard (Drag-On Dragoon 1) in the Drakengard series. As such, many of NIER's likeness comes directly from that series.

    Now the review:

    1) Story

    To cut straight to the point; It's a story that doesn't start off as ambitious as one might want it to, but ultimately hits all cylinders upon it's second half; ending the tale with much needed, but unexpected flare. If there is anything this game has done right, it is the way they did the multiple endings. Each one is available, one per (second half) playthrough; each playthrough offering something new to the mix, from adding new scenes to gaining the ability to understand the gestalts (shades). And I have to say, the latter is brilliant. Not once have I ever hesitated slaughtering an opponent more than some of the bosses and minions on my second playthrough. There is no true good and evil. (9/10)

    2) Gameplay

    The gameplay is simple. A hack and slash, MUCH like the "Drakengard" series of games; but with the addition of magic. Nier is able to carry 3 types of weapons (One-Handed, Two-Handed, Spear) and over 8 types of magic. Magic is often over-powered and not always easy to use; yet it is the most fun you can have out of the combat found in this game, sadly. Aside from the main quest, side-quests are not varied and all consist of nothing more than fetch quest missions, that don't pay well for the amount of effort required to be put into them. The only reason to do them is to buy the best weapons, found in Part I and Part II of the game. 55,000G is enough; trust me. (5/10)

    3) Music

    By far the most outstanding aspect of the game besides the story, is the OST. Directed by Keiichi Okabe, the OST features 43 tracks (9 that are not vocal), many of which is sung in the broken dialect of several languages (Gaelic, French, Portuguese, English, etc) by Emi Evans. To tell the truth, I don't think you'll find an OST out there currently, that could ever surpass this in quality and uniqueness. The tracks each give a feeling of individuality, but are all focused around the melancholic plot that is being told. They also are a reminder to remnants of the societies that once populated the world. (10/10)

    4) Characters

    The characters are great, period. Outside of the sensitiveness of Emil and the fatherly/brawny figure of Nier, I don't think you'll find many characters that'll fit in the same character archetypes that are found in this game. Kaine and Grimiore Weiss are by far, the stars in this game. One offering witty, intellectual commentary and the other, a mysterious female with a dark past, who often broods seriousness as well as plenty of profanity. I liked Weiss a lot, but Kaine is the main one to look out for; especially on your second playthrough. (7/10)

    5) Graphics

    It's to be expected from a game that is based off of and was created by the same developer of the "Drakengard" series. Basically, the graphics is not the game's strong suit. At all. I'd compare it to a spiffed up version of Shadow of the Colossus HD or a HD Drakengard game. Not much to be had here. (5/10)

    6) Overall (TL;DR)

    For hardcore RPG/JRPG fans, this is definitely a game that should NOT be over looked. It does so many things right and a couple of things wrong. The replay value is high; but it'll still be entirely dependent on your enjoyment of the story. Basically, if you liked the story and want more of it; you should replay it at least 2 times. There is extra content/story after you finish! Overall, don't play this to be immersed, as it isn't a game meant for that; trust me. This is a weekend quickie; meant for a quick and smooth trip through one of gaming's best and memorable stories. (8/10) Highly Recommended.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2016
    0
    though to give it a try as of the upcoming Nier: Automata, But this game is too boring, you have to read all the conversations EACH AND EVERthough to give it a try as of the upcoming Nier: Automata, But this game is too boring, you have to read all the conversations EACH AND EVER ONE and press a key to read next and so on, it was so boring and meaningless. Your Avatar moves faster then a car! And during hunting or looting they will continuously bother you with item found and you will have to press a key. OHH...... And the music i couldn't bear it so i had to mute the TV. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews