NIER PlayStation 3

NIER Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected withNothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected with the Black Scrawl virus. With powerful allies and a mysterious book, NIER encounters things that will confound even the mightiest of warriors. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 58
  2. Negative: 3 out of 58
  1. Nier is an awesome game which brings a great story, lots of gameplay variation, interesting characters and a very good soundtrack. It is the surprise of this year!
  2. A great combination of action games like Bayonetta and RPG games like Last Remnant. Everything from bosses to the epic music deserves praise.
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Nier won't wow players with its basic mechanics, but in the story it tells, the characters it develops, and the themes present throughout play, it will easily win over anyone seeking something emotionally exploratory and well off the beaten path.
  4. 70
    The ideas that Nier was built on are extremely solid -- the execution just falls short.
  5. AceGamez
    65
    Provided you can make it through the disappointing introduction and swallow your outrage every time Kaine makes a show of bending over, Nier is a classic action RPG with some refreshing elements and a reminder that streamlined gameplay need not mean a restrictive experience due to its minimal but innovative weapon and ability upgrade system.
  6. Thanks to a strong narrative and a relatively good concept, Nier is to be considered a decent addition to the PS3's and 360's RPG catalog. Although its visuals aren't surely breathtaking and its gameplay doesn't excel in terms of depth, the game will in fact manage to guarantee a likable experience to any fan of the genre.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    40
    As far as being an actioner that's worthy of your time, this is not up to the standard we'd expect. In fact, it's nowhere Nier. [June 2010, p.105]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 66
  2. Negative: 2 out of 66
  1. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and touching. The graphical art style is fantastic.

    The combat is very fun.

    There are lots of optional sidequests throughout the game and there all different.

    The game probably has one of the most amazing beautiful ost's ever.
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2015
    10
    This game has a great story and great characters.
    Very fun combat and lot's of things to do.
    One of my favorite games for 2010 ! This game
    This game has a great story and great characters.
    Very fun combat and lot's of things to do.
    One of my favorite games for 2010 !
    This game is also very innovative and addicting.
    Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    It's one of the best games I have ever played!The atmosphere and story are incredible!The fighting is very addictive.Do yourself a favor andIt's one of the best games I have ever played!The atmosphere and story are incredible!The fighting is very addictive.Do yourself a favor and buy this! 9/10 Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    I really wish there were more games like Nier, the game is so good and so fresh it's a testament to how the games industry has lost it's way,I really wish there were more games like Nier, the game is so good and so fresh it's a testament to how the games industry has lost it's way, Nier just comes in and shows everyone how to make a game into a unique delightful experience that reminded me of why i chose to play games, why i became a gamer in the first place, whether it's the action packed dynamic combat system it has that's simple but not shallow in any way, or maybe the ever-changing gameplay style that always has a surprise for you around the corner (from a text-RPG to a Diablo style level), keeps things fresh and challenges genre conventions, or maybe the amazing music which i can call with passion "The Best OST" in any game to date (Oh, the moment you go out to the first large area of the game and "Hill of Radiant Winds" starts playing you will know why i called it that), or maybe it's the mystery surrounding the story and world, or maybe the very eccentric yet relatble cast of characters (and what's more relatble than a father ready to fight the whole world to save his daughter from a terminal illness), or maybe the excellent voice acting and the ever-amusing never-boring banter between the characters in-game (specially the main character and his flying magic book) which was more of a reason to attempt as many quests as possible as they trigger those in-game conversations etc etc etc.

    If you haven't played Nier do yourself a favor a play it now, it's a gem of a game and has be unjustly brought down by graphics-whores and simplistic minded official reviewers, take the people's word for it and ignore all those "official reviews" that rated it down, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    9
    Nier...what a beautiful game you are.
    You don't need a game of ''OMGWTFASDGDFYJE'' graphics to amaze a true gamer.
    Nier has got one of the
    Nier...what a beautiful game you are.
    You don't need a game of ''OMGWTFASDGDFYJE'' graphics to amaze a true gamer.
    Nier has got one of the most touching, dark and melancholic story this gen.( It's written by Yoko Taro, so duh? A soundtrack that's at least worth a place in The Top 3 Best OSTs of All Time.
    You really feel connected with the main character and his friends/allies and the game presents a father daughter relationship like no other game has done before, even after.
    Side missions don't feel like a big burden and some even have a touching story with them *sniff* poor doggy *sniff* ).
    And another thing that Nier does differently than the rest...Endings.
    All four endings of Nier delivered.
    And as you expect from Yoko Taro, be prepared for NG+.
    The more you play and you slowly start to unlock the other endings, it starts to get more depressing and more and more and more... I've never ever felt such an empty feeling in my chest ever unlocking every ending. You'll get warped back at the beginning of Act 2 when doing NG+, so you don't start all the way at the beginning).
    But there were only one and a half things that bugged the hell out of me: The lack of more locations and some lack of polish and detail of the existing levels.
    Nier is a gem in every way. From the changing gameplay to the OST.
    If you can forgive it's technical shortcomings and you want a story with an explosive climax or a change of scenery in the JRPG scene, then please try this game out.
    You can only imagine what Cavia could've done with a bigger budget and a little bit more time.
    Mos def a 9/10: EPIC!!!
    ( Forgive me if my English sucks. I'm still learning
    Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2015
    8
    Nier:
    Alright, it’s an old game from 2010ish. So, I am trying hard to look at it in that context. I have been picking up old PS3 titles as I
    Nier:
    Alright, it’s an old game from 2010ish. So, I am trying hard to look at it in that context. I have been picking up old PS3 titles as I am running out of PS4s for now. The tale telling style is common anime, switching from the childish and inane to the deeply moving throughout the game. Though the story telling overall is engaging – which is really the feature of the game that makes it playable. With some multiple endings and the desire to see if there is a not so tragic one, I found myself forced to complete them all.
    The control and options for combat that one has over Nier is rather limited. NO cool combos by yourself or your AI team mates, basic dodge and finisher, weapons provide different range, speed and trajectory of attack.
    Nier gives the player a lot of options to deviate from the main arc by doing mini-quests. Thankfully they are not compulsory as they can seem rather forced in nature and a little out of character for the protagonist at times.
    Leveling just makes your stronger. No options for customization of skills.
    The soundtrack is originally moving and a rather melancholic. This is great in small doses, but can become dry after hours of game play.
    Control over character: 6.5 (Very limited – Limited attack type, combos or room for strategy)
    Interactivity with Environment: 6.0 (Adequate. )
    Story: 8.5 (Decent story. A bit on the melancholic side. Intriguing characters.)
    Features: 5.5 (Nothing special here)
    Soundtrack: 8.0 (Though it does get depressing after a couple of hours of game play)
    Challenge: 5.0

    Overall score:8.0

    The game is adequate in terms of game play, but really a great moving story. Definitely worth a play if you are into that.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2016
    0
    though to give it a try as of the upcoming Nier: Automata, But this game is too boring, you have to read all the conversations EACH AND EVERthough to give it a try as of the upcoming Nier: Automata, But this game is too boring, you have to read all the conversations EACH AND EVER ONE and press a key to read next and so on, it was so boring and meaningless. Your Avatar moves faster then a car! And during hunting or looting they will continuously bother you with item found and you will have to press a key. OHH...... And the music i couldn't bear it so i had to mute the TV. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews