Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected withNothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected with the Black Scrawl virus. With powerful allies and a mysterious book, NIER encounters things that will confound even the mightiest of warriors. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 58
  2. Negative: 3 out of 58
  1. Nier is as awesome as it is obscure. A game that will be hated by simpletons for its bold approach to the action-rpg genre, and loved by anyone in their right mind for exactly the same reason. The oddly loveable cast, the myriad of different gameplay-concepts (ranging from old school to sheer genius) and the awesome soundtrack make Nier into a roughly hewn diamond, brilliantly shining as the surprise of the year.
  2. The team at Cavia have without question nailed the entertainment portion of the game. But, the gameplay still needs a few tweaks to remain just as engaging. For a first run, Nier is exactly what it should be; a flawed game with a ton of potential.
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Nier won't wow players with its basic mechanics, but in the story it tells, the characters it develops, and the themes present throughout play, it will easily win over anyone seeking something emotionally exploratory and well off the beaten path.
  4. 70
    The ideas that Nier was built on are extremely solid -- the execution just falls short.
  5. NIER is a game that will undoubtedly appeal to a handful of RPG enthusiasts because of the story being told. For others, myself included, the game is a slapdash effort that fails to make good on its promise and it ultimately ends of falling into a pit full of worn-out RPG conventions.
  6. You can call it feature creep or over-ambition, but it's the surfeit of content that almost buries the game's achievements. [June 2010, p.100]
  7. As far as being an actioner that's worthy of your time, this is not up to the standard we'd expect. In fact, it's nowhere Nier. [June 2010, p.105]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and touching. The graphical art style is fantastic.

    The combat is very fun.

    There are lots of optional sidequests throughout the game and there all different.

    The game probably has one of the most amazing beautiful ost's ever.
    Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Nier completely surprised me, no, shocked me. I thought I was buying a decent action rpg by Square Enix and I found an incredible rpg with aNier completely surprised me, no, shocked me. I thought I was buying a decent action rpg by Square Enix and I found an incredible rpg with a soundtrack that could easily compete for the best of the genre's history, a story that moved me to play the game multiple times just to get all the possible endings (the last one left me speechless) and the ability to use mechanics from many genres to differentiate its sections, ranging from survival horror to text adventure to shoot'em up. Its heroes were one of a kind, and I can guarantee that anyone who buy it will be blown away by the way this game handles its story.

    It hasn't the best production values of a Ps3 jrpg (it's quite mediocre, to put it bluntly), but anyone willing to look over the polygon count is in for a great ride, something that more polished home console rpgs haven't been able to deliver in this generation.
    Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    For those seeking a game with an engaging story, interesting characters search no more, you have found it. The story and game atmosphere areFor those seeking a game with an engaging story, interesting characters search no more, you have found it. The story and game atmosphere are for me, the games biggest strengths. If I would to compare this game to another it would be to Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver, because of how the game is story-driven, of how it pulls you in, surprises and influences you. This game can bring out manly tears, and unless you weren't paying any attention at all to the game it won't leave you indifferent to the characters. This is possible because of the characters, the dialog (level of a good novel), great voice acting, and fantastic music (which you will likely want to listen to a bit even outside of the game). It is also a game worth playing more than once, as the narrative changes a little on your next walkthrough.

    The gameplay (fighting mechanics etc.) itself is OK, but no more than that. The same can be said about the graphics.

    For me, this was a hidden gem, an experience that won't be forgotten for a long time. For those that like story-driven games, and accept good (not great) gameplay mechanics this is a must have.
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A hidden gem of its times, greatly under appreciated by many. One of the best game I have ever played in my entire life, while combat may be clunky and repetitive, NIER makes up for every single bit of it with the immensely good story and lovable characters and the whole feel of the post apocalyptic world. (SPOILER) The dialogues of all the bosses you encounter on your second play through brings tears to your eyes, never before I was torn between sympathizing more with the main character or the bosses, never (SPOILER) Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Some expert reviewers have called it 'boring' others called it 'ugly', but against these criticisms fans still openly think this game is aSome expert reviewers have called it 'boring' others called it 'ugly', but against these criticisms fans still openly think this game is a classic. I just cant fathom why the poor reviews! As a game the controls and combat are fluid and intuitive, the voice acting is great, and the story is one of the best i've seen to date. Its an unusual mix of Western and Japanese RPG / Action adventure, and anyone interested in either should give this game a shot. No doubt it has its shortcomings - some of the side quests are a little tedious, and the grinding involved in achieving the trophies is beyond masochism. Regardless of these slight problems NIER is a joy to play, its characters are endering, and the end play is spectacular. I hope the poor reviews dont stop this fantaastic game becoming the cult classic it deserved to become! Expand
  6. May 12, 2012
    8
    I love this game. i got hooked from the beginning, don't get me wrong, there is a lot of leg work and if you are going for 100% completion youI love this game. i got hooked from the beginning, don't get me wrong, there is a lot of leg work and if you are going for 100% completion you better have a spare 100 hours or so. The reason this is an 8 instead of a 10 is because of the enemy design and the camera angle. The camera angle is completely adjustable. This would normally be a good thing, but there is so much adjusting it is completely ridiculous. just frustrating. Next is the enemy design, this does seem really lazy but you notice less and less as the game goes on. Oh, and you better play it on a big screen or HD TV because the subtitles are small and important in parts of the game. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    1
    bought this game free along with the sims 3 ps3 any ways i played thru first 10 min it was so boring now it same like final fantasy but finalbought this game free along with the sims 3 ps3 any ways i played thru first 10 min it was so boring now it same like final fantasy but final fantasy series way better


    this game i got it collecting dust now
    Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers