Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The solitary Ninja, Ryu Hayabusa, must find a way to lift the deadly curse on his right arm before it destroys him... NINJA GAIDEN 3 has been reworked to bring to Wii U the truly intense, high-speed challenge and action NINJA GAIDEN fans demand. With more weapon and Ninpo types, a newThe solitary Ninja, Ryu Hayabusa, must find a way to lift the deadly curse on his right arm before it destroys him... NINJA GAIDEN 3 has been reworked to bring to Wii U the truly intense, high-speed challenge and action NINJA GAIDEN fans demand. With more weapon and Ninpo types, a new character progression system, a redesigned battle system and the return of dismemberment, NINJA GAIDEN 3: Razor's Edge improves upon the original NINJA GAIDEN 3 in every way and offers Wii U exclusive features and functionalities. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    84
    Razor's Edge mixes up tradition in the Ninja Gaiden franchise enough to make it a worthy purchase. A great story (even with action cliches), gameplay improvements, more dismemberments, and online modes. Problems with the camera, glitches, and invisible walls still plague the series. At $40, there is plenty of value to consider this worthwhile.
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    80
    If you're hankering for some highly difficult, ninja-dismemberment action that prizes precision play, it's a pretty good buy. If high difficulty annoys you or you prefer to play as a damage-tank who can soak a lot of hits, avoid at all costs.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    76
    This version of Ninja Gaiden 3 is the best. It's complete thanks to new modes, Ayane special missions, the free DLC with Kasumi, more violence and, of course, it's more challenging. However, it still has fundamental mistakes.
  4. Apr 10, 2013
    70
    They took the bad out of Ninja Gaiden 3 and improved the game to "just OK".
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    Those who enjoyed the previous games should give Razor's Edge a chance, the improvements allowing the finer aspects of the series to shine through much clearer, but if it's a Premier Ninja experience you are looking for you might have to look elsewhere.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    58
    All in all this is a Ninja Gaiden fan's redemption of sort, but for those looking for something new and exhilarating, you may want to pass altogether as this Ninja is starting to show his age, and a bit of a limp.
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    40
    Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge never had much of a chance of matching the quality of its predecessors, but it would have at least sufficed as a decent game. The unforgiving difficulty and poorly-planned gameplay restrictions only bring to light the still-present flaws of the original game rather than cover them up.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Thank you Team Ninja finally you gave us fans a proper sequel! Dismemberment is back tons of weapons new characters and a difficulty that willThank you Team Ninja finally you gave us fans a proper sequel! Dismemberment is back tons of weapons new characters and a difficulty that will make you toss your controller to the floor more then once!
    This is the game they should have released last year! And this is the game all fans of this series should pick up. Ryu is back baby and he`s looking sharper then ever!
    Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This game is brutal, violent, gore, insane, bloody-mess, ruthless, unforgiving... splattered body parts everywhere! It is what a hack-n-slashThis game is brutal, violent, gore, insane, bloody-mess, ruthless, unforgiving... splattered body parts everywhere! It is what a hack-n-slash game should be... Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Maybe this game is not better than ninja gaiden and ninja gaiden 2 but I am glad that team ninja yave corrected the errors in ninja gaiden 3
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    I will have to admit, that I am thoroughly impressed with the game. Compared to part 3's initial release, this game has surpassed andI will have to admit, that I am thoroughly impressed with the game. Compared to part 3's initial release, this game has surpassed and corrected those flaws that hindered the previous title becoming what it should have been. I am a HUGE Ninja Gaiden fan, as I bought the original xbox specifically for that game, along with the 360 for its 2nd installment. Neither one of the 2 sequels will equal the first as it is truly a classic due that the difficulty was punishingly brutal. NG 2 expanded itself by adding finishers and increased depth and speed in combat which I f*cking loved. Part 3's re-release was everything I expected and I am very pleased with the outcome. I played the original version as a demo, and I will say although I was a tad bit satisfied, I was extremely disappointed. To clarify, I've waited 4 years specifically for third installment and was ultimately bummed to see they omitted the mechanics which made the predecessor phenomenal. However, this re-release more than proved my presumptions by tweaking the combat, gore, and difficulty, and by far it delivers the most intense combat compared to the other 2 titles. The narrative is fairly short, so it didn't take long for me to finish the game. I must stress that in no sense did this game seem repetitive to me. The scarab hunt along with the battle-royale challenges found while progressing through the story keeps the adventure rewarding. The combination of 2 other modes along 3 other playable characters retains the replay value substantial. The handful of weapons you acquire all seen in the earlier installments) each come with unique combos and finishers in regards to the type of foe you are fighting. This alone shows that effort was made toward redemption for its previous failure. It seems Team Ninja took heed of we the fans' out roar The game takes quite of bit of skill to play which is what NG is known for, and that is where the enjoyment comes into play. Here's a fair warning that you will be tempted to launch your controller across the room during some sequences in the game. My advice: Have patience...Woosahhhh!!! and try again, then again...and again Furthermore, the online addition to maim enemies with another player compliments the entertainment and if you have a buddy that owns the game such as I, that alone significantly spikes the fun factor. The game as an entirety, whichever mode selected, tests your aptitude. So I suggest getting a good mix of combos and strategy before attempting the more difficult selections. Howbeit, the game is far from perfect which was to be expected. It seems that the same issues from the previous titles are recurrent in the latest one (camera angles, invisible walls, disobedient controls) and the campaign is too linear compared to it's precedent versions. Hence, the score being an 8 (although i would def give it an 8.5 if able). And those item junky players who are dependent on health and ki replenishers to get through the story, will be discontented to find that this ability has been completely discarded. It's a doubled sided sword that will appeal to those who like a challenge and despised by those who rely on such things to get by: especially during those ever so infamous boss fights Considering that my feeling was impartial, it didn't faze me either way. I say it makes the game that more extreme. Regardless, if you are a devotee of Tecmo's signature slasher, then the aforementioned persistent slip-ups will be nothing more than irrelevant. This game no doubt kicks some serious donkey and I will continue to go H.A.M. (hard as a mother) with it for a very long time. So now that I possess all 3 installments, I highly recommend giving Razor's Edge a buy and for $40, it is well worth the money. In my opinion it should trade price-tags with those previously highly anticipated $60 games that didn't even live up to its hype, *cough* "God of War Ascension". Hey, maybe if they hear enough outcries, Santa Monica will consider revamping that title too. Expand
  5. May 19, 2013
    7
    much better than NG3 which I've thought was horrid
    this one is much closer to previous titles which is a plus for a sequel.
    The controls are
    much better than NG3 which I've thought was horrid
    this one is much closer to previous titles which is a plus for a sequel.
    The controls are smooth some nice easy to perform combos and a battle system that is easy but tough to master.
    The bad the quick times without button indication, ranged combat and cheap AI spam of unblockable moves.

    Overall a good game.
    Collapse
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    I don't see too much difference from the 1st and 2nd NG titles: a not specially good story, tons of exigent combats, blood and some weapons,I don't see too much difference from the 1st and 2nd NG titles: a not specially good story, tons of exigent combats, blood and some weapons, collectibles and skills to improve.
    I haven't finished it yet, but so far I'm quite happy with it!
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    This is game,that you don't get to enjoy,this is game you get to struggle even on the lowets difficulty,the game is too difficult for theThis is game,that you don't get to enjoy,this is game you get to struggle even on the lowets difficulty,the game is too difficult for the ordinary gamer,this game is made for ppl who like to struggle,is not for humans am saying that in a bad way,you c an't enjoy the game you get focused on dodging all the time,even the lowest difficulty feels like hardcore,ok graphics and everything else is great,but the AI is fuked,i'll like the game if they add a an actual easy diufficulty,i can't beat even one ninja trial,my hands hurt after playing this game.Sorry,but i wasted good money on this game.I'll get back if they add a easy difficulty,,don't get me wrong here,i don't wana dominate my games,i don't wana get pwned all the time by the npc,that's this games never get top lvl,most ppl like to enjoy theyre games,not struggle,games like that never get good score and will never get good score,please make this game enjoyable. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews