User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 99
  2. Negative: 13 out of 99

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasM
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    While this game doesn't have alot blood and gore, this game is till one of the best action titles out there. The sleek style of Sigma 2 really gives it a unique feel to it compared to it's 360 counter part. There is some camera issues but I feel it adds to the game difficulty as it's a difficult game in itself. I actually think it's a little easier to do combos than While this game doesn't have alot blood and gore, this game is till one of the best action titles out there. The sleek style of Sigma 2 really gives it a unique feel to it compared to it's 360 counter part. There is some camera issues but I feel it adds to the game difficulty as it's a difficult game in itself. I actually think it's a little easier to do combos than sigma 1. All in all, this game isn't for everyone and some may dislike the change of direction for this title, but it really is a terrific game worth a rent and hey, with trophy hunters out there who wouldn't want a few more in their collection. Expand
  2. RockmanX
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    To begin this review, I did not play Ninja Gaiden II for the 360. So I am starting fresh in playing this. I did play all the other Ninja Gaidens starting from the original on NES, SNES, Ninja Gaiden and Black for Xbox. This version is definitely the best one I have played. For one the graphics are superior to Sigma, the sound is 5.1 DTS which is great for Surround Sounds, and this game To begin this review, I did not play Ninja Gaiden II for the 360. So I am starting fresh in playing this. I did play all the other Ninja Gaidens starting from the original on NES, SNES, Ninja Gaiden and Black for Xbox. This version is definitely the best one I have played. For one the graphics are superior to Sigma, the sound is 5.1 DTS which is great for Surround Sounds, and this game play I like better than Batman Arkham Asylum. The collisions and combo system is great on there, but Ninja Gaiden requires a higher level of skill to achieve, and overall is better to me. AA is unique so that is why it's getting more attention right now. The difficulty so far on Warrior isn't hard at all if you played the other Ninja Gaidens. I mastered almost all the combos on the other games, been through some extremely tough missions on Black, and so a lot of those combos are in this game. It's a matter of using your invincible frame rates to get past the aggressive enemies. Now Master Ninja mode is another story, one direct hit and you are dead which adds realism to the battles. I look forward to Uncharted 2 this month, but in my personal opinion, this is my Game of the Year because of the intense action but Uncharted 2 can change me. Expand
  3. MattJ
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    Great Game Good fighting and i like all the weapons you get but there one thing wrong its to easy if you ever played the other ones they were hard but you can beat this game kinda easy the bosses were not hard and you can beat up all the bad guys without getting hit much but if you never played ninja gaiden before you should play it but if you are a die hard fan like me you might not like Great Game Good fighting and i like all the weapons you get but there one thing wrong its to easy if you ever played the other ones they were hard but you can beat this game kinda easy the bosses were not hard and you can beat up all the bad guys without getting hit much but if you never played ninja gaiden before you should play it but if you are a die hard fan like me you might not like it as much cause how easy it is but there alot of team missions in it and that real fun. Expand
  4. Anonymous
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Great game, graphics are sharp/clean, the action is as furious as ever. The game is not as difficult as NGS1. The blood removal was somewhat of a letdown but you hardly notice it when the action gets really intense. Story as most NG games go is forgettable but the co-op is a nice addition which adds longevity to an already long game.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen... Truly underrated, the story is amazing and the gameplay is top notch, i dont get why som people hate it, its just an amazing game
  6. StevenA
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    There's tons of things to do in this game. It's lots of fun, the visuals are sharp, the lighting effects bring excitement and it's a true challenge. I will admit I'm disappointed with the removal of blood and a few ranged weapons, such as the windmill shuriken. And I dislike the inability to do missions alone. However, the losses, in my opinion aren't too much to There's tons of things to do in this game. It's lots of fun, the visuals are sharp, the lighting effects bring excitement and it's a true challenge. I will admit I'm disappointed with the removal of blood and a few ranged weapons, such as the windmill shuriken. And I dislike the inability to do missions alone. However, the losses, in my opinion aren't too much to cry over. It's a long adventure with a badass set of characters. I will admit that the story isn't great, but the cliffhanger kept me excited and I will wait for the 3rd Ninja Gaiden to come out. An excellent action game I would recommend to fans of Dead or Alive, Ninja Gaiden, God of War, Devil May Cry or to fans of hack-and-slashers, in general. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Better than xbox 360 version, and its one of the best games this gen... Its sooooooo underrated, the story is good and the gameplay is smooth, i dont know why some people hate it, its a really good game
  8. Jayson
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    The Ninja Gaiden series is on the way out. This games showed me why the top staff leaving last year was such a big deal. Too many incoherent design choices were made with this and after completing it on MN, I was even more frustrated than I was after doing the same on the 360 version. This has one hit kills, the 360 game doesn't. I don't like how it removes so much good content The Ninja Gaiden series is on the way out. This games showed me why the top staff leaving last year was such a big deal. Too many incoherent design choices were made with this and after completing it on MN, I was even more frustrated than I was after doing the same on the 360 version. This has one hit kills, the 360 game doesn't. I don't like how it removes so much good content that was in the 360 version either. But I still prefer the PS3 console. If they hadn't messed this game up, then I would have sold my 360 and games. Expand
  9. PurestNinja
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    To think that they decided to cut back on the violence level in the brutal fights in favor of creating booby controls for the new girls. Especially considering how the girls all look like dolls with fake boobs attached. Taking out so much useful content that even the imperfect original had was stupid, stupid, stupid. It also sucks that I encountered just as many bugs and glitches in this To think that they decided to cut back on the violence level in the brutal fights in favor of creating booby controls for the new girls. Especially considering how the girls all look like dolls with fake boobs attached. Taking out so much useful content that even the imperfect original had was stupid, stupid, stupid. It also sucks that I encountered just as many bugs and glitches in this game as the original, even though this one was suppose to be more polished up. The game is weak and not even close to being worth $60. Expand
  10. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    Not as good as Ninja Gaiden on Sega Master System. Its harder, and a lot less fun. I think modern Shinobi games starting with Shinobi 3 and Shinobi on PS2 are far more interesting ninja games. This isn't something I'd be impressed with and I couldn't find a redeeming quality in it besides the graphics. Thats that.
  11. Dave
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Game play is spectacular, as usual. If you like this sort of thing, they really set the bar. Co-op play is excellent fun, although more levels would be nice. Personally i prefer the toned down gore. 3 complaints: Master ninja difficulty is a bit cheap compared to NGS I. Story is exceptionally weak. They should have made a few changes and allowed you to play all the characters on all (or Game play is spectacular, as usual. If you like this sort of thing, they really set the bar. Co-op play is excellent fun, although more levels would be nice. Personally i prefer the toned down gore. 3 complaints: Master ninja difficulty is a bit cheap compared to NGS I. Story is exceptionally weak. They should have made a few changes and allowed you to play all the characters on all (or at least most) of the levels. Expand
  12. MackH
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    This game is dumbed down to the ground for the immature children, even though it got a mature rating. I feel insulted by the obvious censorship. The game is boring with nothing but run to point A, button mash, run to point B, button mash. What happen when you cut a guys head off? Does purple dust come out in real life? No!!! Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 will be much more worthy in a This game is dumbed down to the ground for the immature children, even though it got a mature rating. I feel insulted by the obvious censorship. The game is boring with nothing but run to point A, button mash, run to point B, button mash. What happen when you cut a guys head off? Does purple dust come out in real life? No!!! Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 will be much more worthy in a mature gamer's collection. This is filled with emo purple haired kids with silly looking fake boobs slapped on to their chests. The coop mode is lag central and the graphics are weak. Pass on this. Expand
  13. JoeDoe
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    The game looks great and has a decent, fluid combat system. Having said that though, the story is...umm...never mind, I don't remember anything about it. And the game is HARD. Now I understand this isn't Devil May Cry or Heavenly Sword, and I understand the game is about blocking and countering at the right time. But even on the easiest difficulty, I don't expect to die 20 The game looks great and has a decent, fluid combat system. Having said that though, the story is...umm...never mind, I don't remember anything about it. And the game is HARD. Now I understand this isn't Devil May Cry or Heavenly Sword, and I understand the game is about blocking and countering at the right time. But even on the easiest difficulty, I don't expect to die 20 times in a row on the second level boss! You literally only have about a half-second window to attack in. Get it wrong and you loose half your life. Miss the opportunity and spend another 20 seconds trying to block and evade the many unblockable moves.... miss a few blocks and loose half your life or more. Ok, so the game is supposed to be hard and frustrating and there's no way around that (actually, you can try to stockpile healing items which will get your through the boss fights). But this leads me to the other complaint: for a tough grinding game, there's not enough character development. You get a few extra weapons and special attacks, and each weapon can be upgraded around 3 times (although the rate of upgrade is controlled by the game, you have no influence over it). But the weapon upgrades just unlock a few more combos and it's pretty hard to see the difference really. So the actual gameplay is very simple. Just hack & slash your way through every level, period. The incentive for said slashing is only your own personal satisfaction. The story is never a driver, nor is there any real reward system, which are major let downs. Expand
  14. JasonM.
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    I don't know what people like about this game. It is a mindless button masher and there is no freedom in the level design. You are basically forced to move down an obvious path, and along the way batches of enemies come at you, which requires you to endlessly and mindlessly mash the buttons until all enemies on screen are dead. Very boring and repetitive gameplay. I don't know I don't know what people like about this game. It is a mindless button masher and there is no freedom in the level design. You are basically forced to move down an obvious path, and along the way batches of enemies come at you, which requires you to endlessly and mindlessly mash the buttons until all enemies on screen are dead. Very boring and repetitive gameplay. I don't know what people see in this. Expand
  15. MatthewS
    Dec 3, 2009
    8
    Gameplay is still the classic Ninja Gaiden that we all come to know and love. Graphics aren't improved much as far as environments go but the characters do show more detail than the 360 counterpart. There are a couple things that I don't like about this version. One is the removal of the blood and gore. In the 360 version it really adds to the gameplay and atmosphere. When you Gameplay is still the classic Ninja Gaiden that we all come to know and love. Graphics aren't improved much as far as environments go but the characters do show more detail than the 360 counterpart. There are a couple things that I don't like about this version. One is the removal of the blood and gore. In the 360 version it really adds to the gameplay and atmosphere. When you are cutting off limbs, you see red blood not purple mist. That is completely dumbing down the game and gives it a less brutal feel. Also enemy count was decreased but the AI is more intelligent so it makes up for that shortcoming. The game however is much easier due to the fact that projectile spamming has been significantly reduced. All these shortcomings make it feel less brutal compared to the 360 counterpart. I've beaten the 360 version twice so it will be easier for me. One thing I do like is the new and improved bow and arrow. It's much easier to shoot enemies with it and there are unlimited arrows much like your shurikens. The new boss battles are entertaining and challenging so that is a welcomed improvement. The online mode is fun and I haven't experienced many lag issues. Overall the action is great and the game is alot of fun. If you haven't played the 360 version then get this game. It's not as good as the first game but it's still a solid installment to the series. In the next NG hopefully they combine the brutality that the 360 version offers with the updated visuals and management of accessories like the bow and arrow as well as management of your essence and weapon upgrading. Plus the game should have been longer and get rid of the female characters in the single player campaign. They completely ruin the pace of the game. That would bring NG back to the top among action games. Expand
  16. Jul 25, 2011
    5
    After a magnificent first i was expecting for NGS2 to be even better. I was wrong because the game is all but destroyed in spirit and essence despite it being a competent game in its own right. Some things should never have changed. What has changed? Well the first thing that makes or breaks this kind of games is of course the combat which is now horribly broken. Gone are the days of theAfter a magnificent first i was expecting for NGS2 to be even better. I was wrong because the game is all but destroyed in spirit and essence despite it being a competent game in its own right. Some things should never have changed. What has changed? Well the first thing that makes or breaks this kind of games is of course the combat which is now horribly broken. Gone are the days of the first NGS where you needed to learn, to observe and react according to the situation at hand. In short skill is thrown out of the window. Instead we get a mindless button masherthat is barely above God of War levels which is a real shame. Level design is also not nearly as effective as the first NGS and the camera seems even more wonky and ineffective than it was in the first and with enemies that CHEAT their way through this time things are not nearly as interesting. You are going to die in this game...many times and not because its your fault like the first NGS where your own death was mostly your own doing. Bosses are just overpowered in every possible way imaginable and its mostly luck based whether you defeat them or not since they leave you no space for improovemetn. Stick with the first NGS and you are good to go. Play the second only to see how far ahead the first one is. Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    LOL @ xbox 360 fanboys rating this amazing game 0, this game one of the best games in the seris... Its so **** underrated, the story is wonderful and the gameplay is very good, i dont know why xbox fanboys hate it, its a really good game
  18. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    The game is really amazing. The better game that i played in PS3. Sometimes i must accept some features of games because the games aren't perfect. LOL
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  20. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    La verdad es que esta muy bien al principio, pero se vuelve repetitivo y algo tosco contra los enemigos, ni que decir tiene la dificultad...porque te cuesta el corazón poder vencer a los jefes finales, si eres fan de la saga, compratelo, pero no esperes mucho de el...a mi no me gusto mucho, lo devolví al otro día después de darme cuenta que no me enganchaba lo suficiente y que a los pocosLa verdad es que esta muy bien al principio, pero se vuelve repetitivo y algo tosco contra los enemigos, ni que decir tiene la dificultad...porque te cuesta el corazón poder vencer a los jefes finales, si eres fan de la saga, compratelo, pero no esperes mucho de el...a mi no me gusto mucho, lo devolví al otro día después de darme cuenta que no me enganchaba lo suficiente y que a los pocos días de pasarlo seria un juego que se quedaría en la estantería... Expand
  21. May 14, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  22. May 21, 2015
    6
    The game feels so sluggish given how it is a ninja game. Evading is not easy to pull off after attacks due to it feeling constrictive and just handicapped. Combos can't be directed they can only be executed in a straight line...how ridiculous. Bosses have grabbing techniques which you can't escape from once caught giving the game an even more slow and cheap feeling especially in harderThe game feels so sluggish given how it is a ninja game. Evading is not easy to pull off after attacks due to it feeling constrictive and just handicapped. Combos can't be directed they can only be executed in a straight line...how ridiculous. Bosses have grabbing techniques which you can't escape from once caught giving the game an even more slow and cheap feeling especially in harder difficulty levels. Characters and story are just plain bad and lazily implemented in the story. I enjoyed the game a lot when fighting non boss enemies as they don't just spam grab you and kill you fast. The bosses ruined this game for me and I give it a 6 only because I liked fighting the regular enemies through the game. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. A great title for PS3 owners offering a real challenge but not really worth a second purchase if you own the Xbox 360 version already.
  2. 82
    It's so utterly satisfying, you simply won't care that you're hammering two button for 12 hours. [Issue#184, p.70]
  3. 85
    There aren't a ton of sweeping differences between the PS3 and 360 versions of Ninja Gaiden 2 that were released a year apart from each other.