User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 99
  2. Negative: 13 out of 99

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasM
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    While this game doesn't have alot blood and gore, this game is till one of the best action titles out there. The sleek style of Sigma 2 really gives it a unique feel to it compared to it's 360 counter part. There is some camera issues but I feel it adds to the game difficulty as it's a difficult game in itself. I actually think it's a little easier to do combos than While this game doesn't have alot blood and gore, this game is till one of the best action titles out there. The sleek style of Sigma 2 really gives it a unique feel to it compared to it's 360 counter part. There is some camera issues but I feel it adds to the game difficulty as it's a difficult game in itself. I actually think it's a little easier to do combos than sigma 1. All in all, this game isn't for everyone and some may dislike the change of direction for this title, but it really is a terrific game worth a rent and hey, with trophy hunters out there who wouldn't want a few more in their collection. Expand
  2. RockmanX
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    To begin this review, I did not play Ninja Gaiden II for the 360. So I am starting fresh in playing this. I did play all the other Ninja Gaidens starting from the original on NES, SNES, Ninja Gaiden and Black for Xbox. This version is definitely the best one I have played. For one the graphics are superior to Sigma, the sound is 5.1 DTS which is great for Surround Sounds, and this game To begin this review, I did not play Ninja Gaiden II for the 360. So I am starting fresh in playing this. I did play all the other Ninja Gaidens starting from the original on NES, SNES, Ninja Gaiden and Black for Xbox. This version is definitely the best one I have played. For one the graphics are superior to Sigma, the sound is 5.1 DTS which is great for Surround Sounds, and this game play I like better than Batman Arkham Asylum. The collisions and combo system is great on there, but Ninja Gaiden requires a higher level of skill to achieve, and overall is better to me. AA is unique so that is why it's getting more attention right now. The difficulty so far on Warrior isn't hard at all if you played the other Ninja Gaidens. I mastered almost all the combos on the other games, been through some extremely tough missions on Black, and so a lot of those combos are in this game. It's a matter of using your invincible frame rates to get past the aggressive enemies. Now Master Ninja mode is another story, one direct hit and you are dead which adds realism to the battles. I look forward to Uncharted 2 this month, but in my personal opinion, this is my Game of the Year because of the intense action but Uncharted 2 can change me. Expand
  3. MattJ
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    Great Game Good fighting and i like all the weapons you get but there one thing wrong its to easy if you ever played the other ones they were hard but you can beat this game kinda easy the bosses were not hard and you can beat up all the bad guys without getting hit much but if you never played ninja gaiden before you should play it but if you are a die hard fan like me you might not like Great Game Good fighting and i like all the weapons you get but there one thing wrong its to easy if you ever played the other ones they were hard but you can beat this game kinda easy the bosses were not hard and you can beat up all the bad guys without getting hit much but if you never played ninja gaiden before you should play it but if you are a die hard fan like me you might not like it as much cause how easy it is but there alot of team missions in it and that real fun. Collapse
  4. Anonymous
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Great game, graphics are sharp/clean, the action is as furious as ever. The game is not as difficult as NGS1. The blood removal was somewhat of a letdown but you hardly notice it when the action gets really intense. Story as most NG games go is forgettable but the co-op is a nice addition which adds longevity to an already long game.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen... Truly underrated, the story is amazing and the gameplay is top notch, i dont get why som people hate it, its just an amazing game
  6. StevenA
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    There's tons of things to do in this game. It's lots of fun, the visuals are sharp, the lighting effects bring excitement and it's a true challenge. I will admit I'm disappointed with the removal of blood and a few ranged weapons, such as the windmill shuriken. And I dislike the inability to do missions alone. However, the losses, in my opinion aren't too much to There's tons of things to do in this game. It's lots of fun, the visuals are sharp, the lighting effects bring excitement and it's a true challenge. I will admit I'm disappointed with the removal of blood and a few ranged weapons, such as the windmill shuriken. And I dislike the inability to do missions alone. However, the losses, in my opinion aren't too much to cry over. It's a long adventure with a badass set of characters. I will admit that the story isn't great, but the cliffhanger kept me excited and I will wait for the 3rd Ninja Gaiden to come out. An excellent action game I would recommend to fans of Dead or Alive, Ninja Gaiden, God of War, Devil May Cry or to fans of hack-and-slashers, in general. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Better than xbox 360 version, and its one of the best games this gen... Its sooooooo underrated, the story is good and the gameplay is smooth, i dont know why some people hate it, its a really good game
  8. Dave
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Game play is spectacular, as usual. If you like this sort of thing, they really set the bar. Co-op play is excellent fun, although more levels would be nice. Personally i prefer the toned down gore. 3 complaints: Master ninja difficulty is a bit cheap compared to NGS I. Story is exceptionally weak. They should have made a few changes and allowed you to play all the characters on all (or Game play is spectacular, as usual. If you like this sort of thing, they really set the bar. Co-op play is excellent fun, although more levels would be nice. Personally i prefer the toned down gore. 3 complaints: Master ninja difficulty is a bit cheap compared to NGS I. Story is exceptionally weak. They should have made a few changes and allowed you to play all the characters on all (or at least most) of the levels. Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    LOL @ xbox 360 fanboys rating this amazing game 0, this game one of the best games in the seris... Its so **** underrated, the story is wonderful and the gameplay is very good, i dont know why xbox fanboys hate it, its a really good game
  10. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    The game is really amazing. The better game that i played in PS3. Sometimes i must accept some features of games because the games aren't perfect. LOL
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. A great title for PS3 owners offering a real challenge but not really worth a second purchase if you own the Xbox 360 version already.
  2. 82
    It's so utterly satisfying, you simply won't care that you're hammering two button for 12 hours. [Issue#184, p.70]
  3. 85
    There aren't a ton of sweeping differences between the PS3 and 360 versions of Ninja Gaiden 2 that were released a year apart from each other.