User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 131

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    for its time ninja gaiden is good but it has some flaws that make it not perfect for me first it is too long and feels repetitive after a while and controls are not bad but the camera's bad angles makes it bad
  2. May 8, 2013
    7
    It's not bad but it's a shame to say the gameplay is inferior to that of its old school predecessors. It's simple, repetitive button bashing with nothing in the way of diversity. I am new to the ninja gaiden series and decided to play the NES titles first. They blew me away. Still today they are immensely entertaining. And then I played the modern games and lost all interest. There is no originality, just watered down fights and a cliche storyline. The difficulty in the NES games felt natural but now it's artificial and lazy. It's a good game but to be worth anyone's time it would need to have completely different gameplay altogether. Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    4
    Sigma is one of those games that you get the sense it was something special when it came out, but re-releasing it years later after the genre has taken so mean leaps forward is just poor taste.

    In its graphics Sigma looks like exactly what it is, polished up decade old polygons that don't even try to test the PS3's potential, not even for 2007. Some games can hide it, but sigma fails.


    Sigma is lacking certain gameplay mechanics that are the standard for modern games of its genre. From the combat, to the camera, to map menu, to the check point system, it is ancient.

    Compare this to the awesome Gaiden 2 or the average Gaiden 3 and your looking at a game that should of been left in the past.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    The XBOX revival of "Ninja Gaiden" was the best action game of 2004. It was re-released a year later with additional content as "Ninja Gaiden Black". Unfortunately, for the Sony faithful, the PlayStation 2 never received a port. But the PS3 did with this enhanced version of it. "Sigma" introduced reworked level design, new enemies, exclusive weapons, and additional stages with an extra playable character, a buxom blonde armed with huge, um...weapons. This sleek action ninja game is similar to "Devil May Cry" with its fast, stylish action and extreme difficulty. Structurally, it is divided up into 19 levels that can take an hour or more to complete. The plot involves super ninja Ryu Hayabusa's efforts to take down the Black Spider Ninja Clan after they attack and decimiate his village. Eventually, the hero discovers their plot to conquer the world. Story-wise, it is a simple comic book, but while the game's mechanics are quite dated, this is still a standout title. Unlike the recent "Ninja Gaiden 3", it is more than a mere hack 'n slash. Defensive tactics and well-played offensive moves are keys to survival. And if you attempt to play it in a slightly casual manner, your ass will continously be handed to you. The game also contains light platforming and puzzle segments. Additionally, there is some backtracking that occurs. As tough as it may be, "Ninja Gaiden Sigma" is actually easier than the XBOX versions! It also simplifies a few of the puzzles, but the new combat tactics (firing a bow in mid-air, fighting on water!) are a nice addition. While I wouldn't say that "Sigma" is a better game than the original XBOX release, I would say that it is a port worth playing. So if you played and loved both "God of War" and "Devil May Cry", but haven't tried out "Ninja Gaiden Sigma", than do yourself a favor and pick up a copy! Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    One of the best action games of all time enhanced for the ps3. The game gives you a difficult and rewarding experience. The combat is totally cool and intense, and who doesn't want to play as a freaking ninja!
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    A beautifully made game, hard to beat at times, great gameplay. I loved the game mechanics, I love ninjas, I love this game. 10/10 Should buy. One of the first ps3 games I bought , and still one of my favorite.
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    Some of the low scoring reviews aren't doing this game justice, they come across as butthurt because they sucked at the game. That said they do have some legitimate complaints, I will address all of the major complaints I've seen as a long-time player and lover of this game and share any useful tips that may help overcome frustrations:

    CAMERA
    The camera is fairly frequently irritating
    until you learn to manipulate it properly, because of the way it follows your character there are some tricks you'll learn, think of the camera as like the dog in a Crufts agility test, you might have to run around in a circle to get it to where you want it this is nowhere near as frequent or obstructive as you might imagine!

    CONTROLS
    They're fine, whoever complained about the controls was just bad at the game and butthurt about it.

    DIFFICULTY
    Yes this game is hard, it's meant to be hard. The first two bosses are perhaps a little too hard so early in the game, the second one in particular is the problem though as it's not just hard it's hard in an irritating way. That said the game is huge and that's so insignificant a problem that you won't mind.

    THE NINJA ISN'T SNEAKY!
    What part of this game indicated that it was going to be another badly executed sneaking ninja game? If you want sneaking go play Metal Gear Solid, Snake is a ninja :)

    THERE'S NO DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE WEAPONS
    There is, try playing the game for more than five minutes and you'll be in no doubt that every weapon has its advantages while still allowing room for personal taste (I always like to play almost entirely using the crappy nunchaku you get early on from a dead ninja).

    WHAT'S THE POINT IN HUGE COMBOS WHEN EVERYTHING DIES IN A FEW HITS?
    The point is that it's hard to get combos over 30 (I've managed 200 before and that was insanely hard!) and you're rewarded for managing to switch between enemies without getting hit. You're rewarded with yellow, orange and blue essences, which are money, ninpo and health respectively. If you want to buy new weapons to have fun with then you want lots of money, the best weapon to do this with is the nunchaku because they're very low powered so you get more hits out of each enemy.

    THE COMPUTER PICKS MY TARGETS FOR ME!
    It does a little bit, and rarely it will get it wrong. The truth is though if you're actually skilled at the game you'll pick your own targets effectively 99.9% of the time and on those rare occasions when the game slaps you in the face you'll laugh it off because you're not a sissy.

    The verdict: Buy this game cheap, play it through to the end and make a conscious along the way to actually master it, it's a challenging game not just a button masher pretending to be challenging. Give it the respect it deserves and you'll find yourself coming back to it ten years from now. In short it's a classic that people will be playing on the emulators of the future and nostalgically reminiscing about.
    Expand
  8. Jun 11, 2011
    2
    its not like the game is to hard or anything. its just boring and repetitive, honestly i don't see how people could have so much fun doing the same **** over and over again. the combat is great yeah, but that doesn't save this game from the awful tedious level design, generic characters in tight clothing, awful voice acting, and well repetition. this was a waste of time in my opinion. overrated to say the least Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Genuinely new content doesn't abound, but Sigma remains such an expansive, challenging, and well-paced thrill ride that you won't care. [July 2007, p.84]
  2. It's a great game and worth a try if you're brave and/or a masochist. [July 2007, p.64]
  3. This is punishingly, mercilessly, remorselessly ferocious. You will never, ever finish it. Until you learn to block. [July 2007, p.98]