Ninja Gaiden Sigma PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 153
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Greg
    Oct 6, 2007
    4
    Hate, hate, hate, this game is annoying in so many ways. The camera is often off looking at the pretty scenery when you are trying to fight, the controls seem simple but are so basic that until you get into the game you realise you are more nimrod than ninja. You have to beat he 2nd boss before you are given the counter attack move - I'm a NINJA - shouldn't that be in the basic Hate, hate, hate, this game is annoying in so many ways. The camera is often off looking at the pretty scenery when you are trying to fight, the controls seem simple but are so basic that until you get into the game you realise you are more nimrod than ninja. You have to beat he 2nd boss before you are given the counter attack move - I'm a NINJA - shouldn't that be in the basic training. This game sucks and only got 9/10 from people becaiuse it is the only game that had any promise on the PS3. I am really starting to regret my decsion buying this machine at full price. Sony - get a grip and get some really playablle games out there!! Expand
  2. JacqueL.
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    This game is atrocious. Oh where to start..... The camera controls in this game are not only slow and sloppy but limited to the simple left right and tend to bounce off of walls continually. You can get a number of weapons not that it matters for any reason what-so-ever because everything works on everything, its all a personal style thing I guess. You can block not that it matters at all This game is atrocious. Oh where to start..... The camera controls in this game are not only slow and sloppy but limited to the simple left right and tend to bounce off of walls continually. You can get a number of weapons not that it matters for any reason what-so-ever because everything works on everything, its all a personal style thing I guess. You can block not that it matters at all since 85% of the shots people launch at you will either bypass blocking or throw you off balance giving them the ability to hit you, so basically it's really only a dodge button. You can do huge combos, but then again every creature requires huge combos so the fact you can is moot and fairly useless, why have enemies that die in 5 hits with a maximum combo of 6 hits when your max combo can be 30 or so hits and they die in 29, was, I guess...... the "reasoning". Oh and have I mentioned you play a "NINJA" with no stealth ability whatsoever??? Well now I have, Apparently the "Ninga Theory" is that anyone Incapable of using guns and dressed in a black spandex pleather suit MUST be a Ninja. The story is a wash as well, Its about as enthralling as reading a lexicon on Potato Farming. The animations are all rushed and blurred as are the cut scenes meaning that it's not even a "technically" impressive game. The "Action" of the game revolves around this....., DODGE, then mash buttons for 10 Minutes as a barrage of moves is sent at whatever target the computer "thinks" you are trying to attack (which is normally the wrong one), Block, Dodge, Lather, Rinse, Repeat......... ENDLESSLY. Yes that's right it's a very long game, difficult to boot (not that it would be were any actual skill required other than the ability to push the same button quickly). Basically this game is exactly like a Dynasty Warriors game with less enemies that take longer to kill..... but hey running on water MUST make up for that right??? This game goes to prove a point about critics however, they have no taste and would call a mound of crap a Gold vein as long as people keep reading they're articles. DO NOT PAY ANY SUM OF MONEY FOR THIS GAME!!!! Rent it, if you feel you must, but save yourself the cash for a game that isn't a mindless button-mashing, plotless, waste from someone that can actually make a good game. Your PS3 deserves better. Expand
  3. ToddMurchison
    Jul 11, 2007
    2
    I love my PS3, but I guess I'm still waiting for "Ratchet & Clank Future Tools of Distruction" for a game to play (not counting some of the excellent, but small download only releases). I rented "Ninja Gaiden Sigma" and I'm glad I elected to "test drive" it before investing in a purchase. It would appear that I fall into the camp of people who think this game is too hard to be I love my PS3, but I guess I'm still waiting for "Ratchet & Clank Future Tools of Distruction" for a game to play (not counting some of the excellent, but small download only releases). I rented "Ninja Gaiden Sigma" and I'm glad I elected to "test drive" it before investing in a purchase. It would appear that I fall into the camp of people who think this game is too hard to be fun. I could care less if people flame me for not being a "real gamer." I'm not interested in being "hard core." At the end of the day my plane, simple, honest goal is to have fun. Now, just so you know where I'm coming from, let me give you a little background. I am recently married, my wife and I recently bought a house, and we are expecting our first child due in a few weeks. My gaming time, once copious, is now limited to a few hours a week. I'm sure I'll have even less time when the kid arrives. This does not mean I don't still enjoy an involved game that takes dedication and persistence to progress through, but it does mean that I am not interested in spending my few precious gamming hours trying to beat the same difficult level boss over and over. The game does look fairly polished when played on a decent TV at 1080p. Aware of the general "difficulty" complaints I played through the first chapter, decided that for a first chapter it was a bit on the tricky side. So I Googled how to get the game into easy mode. This involved restarting the game back in chapter 1, but I didn't mind. Once I had the game in "prance around wearing pink" (aka easy) mode (you literally wear pink in this mode) chapter 1 did become boringly easy, so I thought this would resolve the problem for me. As a side note, the game is very insulting about going into easy mode. Your rank is called "Ninja Dog", you are forced to watch demeaning cut scenes in addition to wearing pink, and the game asks you 3 times if you are SURE you want to switch. And for the record, I completely approve. I actually like the whole idea in general of coming up with humorously insulting easy modes in games. Anyway, I digress. So there I am prancing about in my pink panties (I'm extrapolating) and I play to about half way through chapter 3. At this point I find that the game has becoming prohibitively difficult again - in easy mode! I would just like to point out that I'm fairly sure I could have completed the game, even in the default difficulty level. But I will reiterate: I am not interested in spending my gaming time trying the same difficult battles over and over again. I am also not the world's biggest fan of learning lengthy, complicated fighting combo button sequences. In general I think games should just offer a variety of difficulty options. It seems like an easy way to satisfy a wide range of gamers. Just slap a pink tutu on my character and let me enjoy the game in a more casual way. But the "easy" mode in "Ninja Gaiden Sigma" falls short (as does the game in general). I would also like to make it clear that even if the game had become easy enough in easy mode I still think I would have found it ONLY "playable" and not quite a game I'd want to spend $60.00 (or whatever the price is). I strongly recommend giving it a test drive as a rental first. Save the cash and use it to buy 5 or 6 really decent download only games instead. Collapse
  4. AngeloF.
    Sep 12, 2007
    4
    Alright, if it wasnt bad enough trying to remeber where I have to go and where I just came from but everytime you return to where you had to fight someone, do they have to reappear each and every f-ing time you return to a place where you have already been. I remeber I came to a part where I had to fight people on motorcycles and if the camera angles werent bad enough, after I beat I left Alright, if it wasnt bad enough trying to remeber where I have to go and where I just came from but everytime you return to where you had to fight someone, do they have to reappear each and every f-ing time you return to a place where you have already been. I remeber I came to a part where I had to fight people on motorcycles and if the camera angles werent bad enough, after I beat I left for a second and thought maybe I should make sure I didnt miss anything so I turn and go back to were I just came and the exact same sequence occured. It happened everytime, what a waste. I hope the peron or team who is reponsible for polishing up the game before it was released gets lessons on how to do their job correctly because as badly as I wanted to like the game it was just so annoying after a while. Expand
  5. jgg
    Aug 15, 2007
    2
    Same game that was out on xbox 3 years ago!
  6. Jun 11, 2011
    2
    its not like the game is to hard or anything. its just boring and repetitive, honestly i don't see how people could have so much fun doing the same **** over and over again. the combat is great yeah, but that doesn't save this game from the awful tedious level design, generic characters in tight clothing, awful voice acting, and well repetition. this was a waste of time in my opinion.its not like the game is to hard or anything. its just boring and repetitive, honestly i don't see how people could have so much fun doing the same **** over and over again. the combat is great yeah, but that doesn't save this game from the awful tedious level design, generic characters in tight clothing, awful voice acting, and well repetition. this was a waste of time in my opinion. overrated to say the least Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    4
    Sigma is one of those games that you get the sense it was something special when it came out, but re-releasing it years later after the genre has taken so mean leaps forward is just poor taste.

    In its graphics Sigma looks like exactly what it is, polished up decade old polygons that don't even try to test the PS3's potential, not even for 2007. Some games can hide it, but sigma fails.
    Sigma is one of those games that you get the sense it was something special when it came out, but re-releasing it years later after the genre has taken so mean leaps forward is just poor taste.

    In its graphics Sigma looks like exactly what it is, polished up decade old polygons that don't even try to test the PS3's potential, not even for 2007. Some games can hide it, but sigma fails.

    Sigma is lacking certain gameplay mechanics that are the standard for modern games of its genre. From the combat, to the camera, to map menu, to the check point system, it is ancient.

    Compare this to the awesome Gaiden 2 or the average Gaiden 3 and your looking at a game that should of been left in the past.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    87
    Genuinely new content doesn't abound, but Sigma remains such an expansive, challenging, and well-paced thrill ride that you won't care. [July 2007, p.84]
  2. Hardcore Gamer
    90
    It's a great game and worth a try if you're brave and/or a masochist. [July 2007, p.64]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    This is punishingly, mercilessly, remorselessly ferocious. You will never, ever finish it. Until you learn to block. [July 2007, p.98]