Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Ryu Hayabusa you are out to seek revenge after your clan is massacred by the Vigor Empire. Realistic battle actions and acrobatic ninja moves are at your finger-tips. You play with only your wits, your ninja skills, and your deadly sword. Slice down opponents in the Vigor Empire as youAs Ryu Hayabusa you are out to seek revenge after your clan is massacred by the Vigor Empire. Realistic battle actions and acrobatic ninja moves are at your finger-tips. You play with only your wits, your ninja skills, and your deadly sword. Slice down opponents in the Vigor Empire as you attempt to beat the Holy Emperor and reclaim the magic sword "Ryuken". Bringing the classic to the PlayStation 3, Ninja Gaiden Sigma is a more "complete version" of the Xbox Team Ninja title, with new moves, actions, and weapons for Hayabusa. Also added is a new playable character -- Racheal, one of the series' heroines, will be playable, and when using her, you'll get to experience the storyline from her perspective (with new cutscenes, attack moves and more.) [Tecmo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    There is so much to discover, so much to see, so many enemies of all shapes and sizes to vanquish with dozens of stunning moves using an array of lethal hand-to-hand weapons, and it's all just so wonderfully satisfying and addictive.
  2. I think this is pretty much a no-brainer if you own a PS3. If you haven't played the game yet, then all the better. This is the best version by a landslide.
  3. An excellent action-adventure. The fighting system is very good, and brainless button smashers die quickly. However, how about a completely new adventure next time around? [Aug 2007]
  4. Prepare for your senses to be overloaded in this ninjutsu epic.
  5. Genuinely new content doesn't abound, but Sigma remains such an expansive, challenging, and well-paced thrill ride that you won't care. [July 2007, p.84]
  6. Although I personally wished for the game to have more cut-scenes between the missions, more show-downs with other ninjas and samurais and not with fairytale creatures, I can definitely recommend Ninja Gaiden Sigma to all those who want to experience intense action, with very few interruptions.
  7. By no means the best the genre has to offer any more.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. VictorR.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    A true masterpiece.
  2. JaysonWan
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    TIS GAME BLEW ME AWAY WITH AN 'A'!

    To be frank, The Xbox and thes Xbox 360 sucks. I also hate Ninja Gaiden when my friends keep
    TIS GAME BLEW ME AWAY WITH AN 'A'!

    To be frank, The Xbox and thes Xbox 360 sucks. I also hate Ninja Gaiden when my friends keep saying it's easier than Shinobi and Nightshade. They say when PS3 comes, Ninja Gaiden won't be on the PS3. To bad it did and I got my ass handed to me later by my PS3.

    BUT I LOVE IT! The game's hard but worth it in the end when you pay good money for something that almost take you ages to clear it and the satisfaction of victory one you clear it!

    I can't say how good this game is bcos there ain't enough space for me as well as time! This game is ONE reason why people buy the PS3.
    Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    One of the best action games of all time enhanced for the ps3. The game gives you a difficult and rewarding experience. The combat is totallyOne of the best action games of all time enhanced for the ps3. The game gives you a difficult and rewarding experience. The combat is totally cool and intense, and who doesn't want to play as a freaking ninja! Expand
  4. todoroki
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    The extra save points and shops have balanced the difficulty level nicely and make the game less frustrating. You can also avoid annoying The extra save points and shops have balanced the difficulty level nicely and make the game less frustrating. You can also avoid annoying frequent load times by uploading the game to your PS3. Amazingly though, there are still some control niggles, dropping off ledges in to the hot lava, problems with diving in and out of water e.t.c. Collapse
  5. DTucker
    Feb 26, 2008
    8
    Graphically this game stunning and after a quick install will run smooth as silk. This can get repetitive at times, but the insane difficulty Graphically this game stunning and after a quick install will run smooth as silk. This can get repetitive at times, but the insane difficulty allows for hours of gameplay. Expand
  6. JustenK
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    This game was super aggravating at first, until I knocked it down to the "Ninja Dog" difficulty setting. Despite the obvious disrespect of This game was super aggravating at first, until I knocked it down to the "Ninja Dog" difficulty setting. Despite the obvious disrespect of calling me a dog, by the end I began to respect the game. It has its moments of fun, but I would only recommend this title for uber-fans of the 3rd person, Japanese combo (hack n'slash) video games. Expand
  7. JacqueL.
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    This game is atrocious. Oh where to start..... The camera controls in this game are not only slow and sloppy but limited to the simple left This game is atrocious. Oh where to start..... The camera controls in this game are not only slow and sloppy but limited to the simple left right and tend to bounce off of walls continually. You can get a number of weapons not that it matters for any reason what-so-ever because everything works on everything, its all a personal style thing I guess. You can block not that it matters at all since 85% of the shots people launch at you will either bypass blocking or throw you off balance giving them the ability to hit you, so basically it's really only a dodge button. You can do huge combos, but then again every creature requires huge combos so the fact you can is moot and fairly useless, why have enemies that die in 5 hits with a maximum combo of 6 hits when your max combo can be 30 or so hits and they die in 29, was, I guess...... the "reasoning". Oh and have I mentioned you play a "NINJA" with no stealth ability whatsoever??? Well now I have, Apparently the "Ninga Theory" is that anyone Incapable of using guns and dressed in a black spandex pleather suit MUST be a Ninja. The story is a wash as well, Its about as enthralling as reading a lexicon on Potato Farming. The animations are all rushed and blurred as are the cut scenes meaning that it's not even a "technically" impressive game. The "Action" of the game revolves around this....., DODGE, then mash buttons for 10 Minutes as a barrage of moves is sent at whatever target the computer "thinks" you are trying to attack (which is normally the wrong one), Block, Dodge, Lather, Rinse, Repeat......... ENDLESSLY. Yes that's right it's a very long game, difficult to boot (not that it would be were any actual skill required other than the ability to push the same button quickly). Basically this game is exactly like a Dynasty Warriors game with less enemies that take longer to kill..... but hey running on water MUST make up for that right??? This game goes to prove a point about critics however, they have no taste and would call a mound of crap a Gold vein as long as people keep reading they're articles. DO NOT PAY ANY SUM OF MONEY FOR THIS GAME!!!! Rent it, if you feel you must, but save yourself the cash for a game that isn't a mindless button-mashing, plotless, waste from someone that can actually make a good game. Your PS3 deserves better. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews