Ninja Gaiden Sigma Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Ryu Hayabusa you are out to seek revenge after your clan is massacred by the Vigor Empire. Realistic battle actions and acrobatic ninja moves are at your finger-tips. You play with only your wits, your ninja skills, and your deadly sword. Slice down opponents in the Vigor Empire as youAs Ryu Hayabusa you are out to seek revenge after your clan is massacred by the Vigor Empire. Realistic battle actions and acrobatic ninja moves are at your finger-tips. You play with only your wits, your ninja skills, and your deadly sword. Slice down opponents in the Vigor Empire as you attempt to beat the Holy Emperor and reclaim the magic sword "Ryuken". Bringing the classic to the PlayStation 3, Ninja Gaiden Sigma is a more "complete version" of the Xbox Team Ninja title, with new moves, actions, and weapons for Hayabusa. Also added is a new playable character -- Racheal, one of the series' heroines, will be playable, and when using her, you'll get to experience the storyline from her perspective (with new cutscenes, attack moves and more.) [Tecmo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    A strong case can be made for Ninja Gaiden being the greatest action game ever made. This is easily one of the best games to play on your PlayStation 3.
  2. I think this is pretty much a no-brainer if you own a PS3. If you haven't played the game yet, then all the better. This is the best version by a landslide.
  3. Ninja Gaiden Sigma is by far the definitive version of the franchise, making Sony's PlayStation 3 the lucky beneficiary of this gorgeous, fast-paced -- and still difficult -- game.
  4. It's a visually stunning game running at a superb framerate, with super tight action. While the camera can be a nuisance sometimes and the English voice acting isn't fantastic, the sum of Sigma's parts add up to an experience that no action gamer should be without.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    87
    Genuinely new content doesn't abound, but Sigma remains such an expansive, challenging, and well-paced thrill ride that you won't care. [July 2007, p.84]
  6. Ninja Gaiden once again makes an amazing showing on another system, too bad the game was cursed with a full retail priced release.
  7. By no means the best the genre has to offer any more.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 49
  2. Negative: 9 out of 49
  1. JeffA.
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    One of the best action games on any platform. You can play Ninja Gaiden Sigma for an hour and it feels like only 10 minutes has passed. If One of the best action games on any platform. You can play Ninja Gaiden Sigma for an hour and it feels like only 10 minutes has passed. If you own a PS3 you have got to add this steller game to your collection. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    One of the best action games of all time enhanced for the ps3. The game gives you a difficult and rewarding experience. The combat is totallyOne of the best action games of all time enhanced for the ps3. The game gives you a difficult and rewarding experience. The combat is totally cool and intense, and who doesn't want to play as a freaking ninja! Expand
  3. moo
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    I haven't played the original, but I must say I really like this game, although it reminds me very much of the Onimusha Series. One I haven't played the original, but I must say I really like this game, although it reminds me very much of the Onimusha Series. One thing that bugs me though: If you are in a room where you have to kill all the enemies and jump and slash like a madman you accidentally come near a door while pushing the Square button. You leave the room without eventing to leave, therefore you gotta get back inside and start slashing all over. One other things is the spongy camera. But in the end it is the best game so far on the PS3! Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2015
    9
    I am the ninja master, dont fool urselves kids. Ill kung fool ya. Oh how i love a good challenge and your always there when i need you ryu. IfI am the ninja master, dont fool urselves kids. Ill kung fool ya. Oh how i love a good challenge and your always there when i need you ryu. If i were only that kind of man wink wink. P.S. If you suck at gaming dont buy this, unless your a masochist, becaz it like i is a true ninja master. Expand
  5. DTucker
    Feb 26, 2008
    8
    Graphically this game stunning and after a quick install will run smooth as silk. This can get repetitive at times, but the insane difficulty Graphically this game stunning and after a quick install will run smooth as silk. This can get repetitive at times, but the insane difficulty allows for hours of gameplay. Expand
  6. JustenK
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    This game was super aggravating at first, until I knocked it down to the "Ninja Dog" difficulty setting. Despite the obvious disrespect of This game was super aggravating at first, until I knocked it down to the "Ninja Dog" difficulty setting. Despite the obvious disrespect of calling me a dog, by the end I began to respect the game. It has its moments of fun, but I would only recommend this title for uber-fans of the 3rd person, Japanese combo (hack n'slash) video games. Expand
  7. JacqueL.
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    This game is atrocious. Oh where to start..... The camera controls in this game are not only slow and sloppy but limited to the simple left This game is atrocious. Oh where to start..... The camera controls in this game are not only slow and sloppy but limited to the simple left right and tend to bounce off of walls continually. You can get a number of weapons not that it matters for any reason what-so-ever because everything works on everything, its all a personal style thing I guess. You can block not that it matters at all since 85% of the shots people launch at you will either bypass blocking or throw you off balance giving them the ability to hit you, so basically it's really only a dodge button. You can do huge combos, but then again every creature requires huge combos so the fact you can is moot and fairly useless, why have enemies that die in 5 hits with a maximum combo of 6 hits when your max combo can be 30 or so hits and they die in 29, was, I guess...... the "reasoning". Oh and have I mentioned you play a "NINJA" with no stealth ability whatsoever??? Well now I have, Apparently the "Ninga Theory" is that anyone Incapable of using guns and dressed in a black spandex pleather suit MUST be a Ninja. The story is a wash as well, Its about as enthralling as reading a lexicon on Potato Farming. The animations are all rushed and blurred as are the cut scenes meaning that it's not even a "technically" impressive game. The "Action" of the game revolves around this....., DODGE, then mash buttons for 10 Minutes as a barrage of moves is sent at whatever target the computer "thinks" you are trying to attack (which is normally the wrong one), Block, Dodge, Lather, Rinse, Repeat......... ENDLESSLY. Yes that's right it's a very long game, difficult to boot (not that it would be were any actual skill required other than the ability to push the same button quickly). Basically this game is exactly like a Dynasty Warriors game with less enemies that take longer to kill..... but hey running on water MUST make up for that right??? This game goes to prove a point about critics however, they have no taste and would call a mound of crap a Gold vein as long as people keep reading they're articles. DO NOT PAY ANY SUM OF MONEY FOR THIS GAME!!!! Rent it, if you feel you must, but save yourself the cash for a game that isn't a mindless button-mashing, plotless, waste from someone that can actually make a good game. Your PS3 deserves better. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers