Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From Marvellous comes this HD update of the Wii's No More Heroes release, a port that'll feature at least one additional game mode.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    90
    No More Heroes is still a great game, if a little inconsistent; dozens of inspired moments with the dullest sandbox world yet produced as the hub, sacrificing fun for drudgery, yet somehow getting away with it, a fast-paced action game, coupled with a frame rate volatile when you do anything too fast. This is a deeply flawed game but it is brilliant; overcoming a multitude of shortcomings and refusing to be crippled by its own flab.
  2. May 30, 2011
    80
    A slightly flawed gem. Any technical or gameplay flaws are made up for with unrelenting violence, dark humor, remarkable characters and a vicious attitude. Definitely worth picking up for players who have missed out on the-series to date. Fans of Suda51 or japanese weirdness will have a field day with this game.
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    80
    A fantastic game that has a lot to offer. It's got a unique flavor, some fantastic boss fights, excellent combat, slick visuals, and more than a few lines of dialogue that will have you laughing giddily. It also has a bit of an identity crisis that has you brutally killing waves of enemies one minute and cleaning the town of garbage the next, so the flow is a bit off.
  4. May 24, 2011
    70
    A fantastic game, held back by some frustrating design decisions. For every moment spent whooping in delight as you vanquish a foe, you'll spend two more grimacing as you have to mow someone's lawn, or try and pry yourself free from a lamppost. When it's good it's almost unbeatable, but the filler in-between is exactly that.
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    70
    Its wanton weirdness is still as charming as it was on the Wii, and its nonsensical narrative is always enjoyable. So if you're anxious to rekindle your bloodlust in the most over-the-top manner available, Heroes' Paradise may be worth a look.
  6. May 23, 2011
    68
    It's a 1:1 port from Wii, it's technically equal and Move isn't fully supported. What worked in 2008, simply isn't enough nowadays.
  7. Aug 31, 2011
    42
    It's shame that this port has been borked so badly; I don't think No More Heroes found the audience it needed on the Wii, and Heroes' paradise isn't going to do this franchise any favors.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Has to be one of my favourite games of all time. Picked up the Wii version a year or two ago for £7.99 and fell in love with it completely, so I was stoked that there was going to be an HD update for the Move. Definitely not a game for everyone, but this game has an excellent following nonetheless, and ticks just about every box.

    Brilliant dialogue teamed with a nice and unintrusive storyline and hilarious, amazingly interesting and brutal characters come together to make the innovative take on the Hack 'n' Slash action that much more fun and exciting, and the game keeps all of the fights interesting to complete more than a few times. The fact that this version of the game is uncut is also a huge bonus, as there was no blood in the European version of the Wii game, and the game is made that much cooler by being able to slice your enemies in two. Of course the main element of the game is the fighting and ranked battles that you have to take part in to reach the number 1 spot on the Assassin's rankings, the open world (the Wii game's biggest flaw) has been touched upon and improved, with many bugs being taken out and more reasons to explore.

    Of course, the new PlayStation exclusive features are all welcomed greatly, including the surprisingly nice graphics, excellent Move and Dualshock support and not to mention the extra modes such as the score and time based boss fight mode which really adds a lot of replayability to the game. The inclusion of a handful of brilliantly integrated bosses from Desperate Struggle (a game I unfortunately never bought) is an excellent idea and they are carried over well and leave me clinging on to the idea of a sequel (despite poor sales of this update). New beam katanas and paintjobs for the Schpheltiger (Schfeltiger?) Motorcycle are also a nice way to add new things to collect and experiment with.

    Overall, this game is great (despite a few technical flaws, but that's forgiveable when you consider it's an update of a somewhat less powerful Wii game) and it's such a shame that only 90,000 copies have been sold. Still holding out for the sequel though, that'd be ace. All that remains is to thank AQ Interactive and Marvelous Entertainment for updating this game for the PS3.
    Expand
  2. May 16, 2013
    10
    Almost ideal for video games:
    - Interesting and varied mini-games;
    - Catchy challenging bosses;
    - Improvement of the hero;
    - Vizulny
    individual style;
    - Humor, music and sound.
    So was supposed to be the God of War, but it made ​​a piece of for the kids. What else to expect from the West studio Well that game consoles are the real experts on the case from the Eastern studios that make a REAL video game, not QTE-movies.
    A masterpiece of modern gaming industry, is mandatory for gamers, it is not recommended to vanilla fans God of War, Uncharted and other modern "games."
    Expand
  3. May 25, 2013
    9
    One of the best Wii games of all time gets ported over to the PS3. I played this game a while back on the Wii so this is going to be more of a review of the port than the game itself. The game is meant to take advantage of the PS Move technology, but the game is still playable with your standard controller. Aside from the expected HD graphics upgrade the game also comes packed with extra content like more side missions, additional bosses taken from No More Heroes 2, and a mode that lets you re-battle the bosses for high-scores without having to replay the game. It was awesome revisiting this title, especially when more recent hack n slash action games have proven to be such a letdown for me. The only complaint I have with the game is that you have to grind through the side missions in order to collect enough money to advance the story. If you weren't able to play No More Heroes because you didn't have a Wii, or just never got around to it, pick up Heroes Paradise. All the extra content make it the definitive version of the game. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Having played through this game on the Wii a couple years ago, I was a fan, but the lack of HD visuals was a real downside of this game. I liked it enough to get it on the PS3 with the updated visuals and the extra content. I was quite pleased with this PS3 package. The combat is solid (I chose no to use the Move, even though I have one), the stages are challenging, and its got charm to spare. Thankfully, the horrible Japanese to English translations still exist in all their glory. Minor annoyances such as the awful driving and jobs are still there, but honestly, it would have taken away from the overall experience had they been removed. Let's hope they bring NMH2 over eventually as well. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    Such a odd game yet in a good way. No more heroes certainly can be given some credit for being some what original. Even though in the end it is a Hack n Slash game , though it is one that is done fairly well. The story is pretty off the wall and pretty goofy and trust me by the time you get to the end it only gets more insane but its also not taking its self seriesly ether. In between missions you can drive this insane tricked out rocket cycle around town in a free roam mode and do differnt things like assasine missions, look for orange balls to learn new skills , or work at odd ball part time jobs which actaully can be kinda intresting and fun to make some cash. you can also buy all kinds of clothing attire at the store and some upgrades for your beam like laser sword. The whole point of the game ultimatley is to become the #1 assasine in the world . The diffaculty with the bosses can be abit odd you will fight one thats way easy then one thats hard then one thats way easy again but still its a fun game and if you want some thing differnt then you should check this out. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    I usualy do not like/play this kind of games: mindless shooting/slashing/killing, but
    I have to admit that I REALY DO ENJOY THIS ONE!! at
    first I did not, I played for an hour or less
    and then I throw it and forget about it for quite some time, and then I picked it
    up again and start slashing and killing and this time I am hoked!
    it's not for everyone, and I am one picky videogame player, I do not play anything just for kicks
    I only play serious games like RPGs and action/puzzle games with story that can
    get my attention/interest. This game have no story and no puzzle, its just killing people
    and blood everywhere, I used to hate these kind of games and to judge those who
    like this kind of gener..but oh boy how I am enjoying this!!
    hope to see NoMore Heros 2 ported to PS3. In the other hand the graphics are a bit
    ..well..old school if I may say comparing it to other games of the gener, but hey
    its just a ported wii game, and now I just want to KILL thing!
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    complete garbage the main charachter is just a pervert and is just creepy and not funny the driving system suck and is hard to do there is no mini map and it is essential to have one in a game like this and it is so boring doing missions to get enough money to continue the story line and traveling through the city is boring and uneventful skip this don't even rent it if it weren't for the fact I had to pay 60 bucks for the game I'd snap the disc instead of trading it in I feel sorry for anyone that had to suffer through this Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews