• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2012
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 252

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful,
    different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Many re-released games do not stand up to their own legacy, fans loving them with the clouded eyes of nostalgia. Okami is not one of those games. Not only is it still one of the most beautiful, complex, and well designed action-adventure games of the last generation, the re-release is probably the best of this generation as well. When it came out seven years ago, many (myself included) dismissed it as a Zelda clone and left it at that. The truth is, the Zelda franchise has been slowly trying to capture the magic of "Ocarina of Time" without ever quite succeeding, tacking on more and more unnecessary gimmicks to hide its reliance on decades old franchise tropes. This does not mean Zelda is not still fun, but it certainly hasn't broke any new ground since 1996. "Okami" does not have this bogged down attachment to old tropes like a musical instrument, previous boss battles, set number of dungeons, creakily familiar plotlines. Every system is fresh from the ground up, from combat to level layout to world design. It is also surprisingly large for an action-adventure game, clocking in (for me, a side quest aficionado) at around 60 hours. Yet the game is so tightly woven -- nothing, absolutely nothing is worthless busywork (coming out of AC3, this feels pretty great). Every little collectible quest will actually give players tangible rewards, not just a worthless trophy. And it's easy to say a game is pretty to look at, but it's another to say the game's artistic direction actually matches the tone of the story and enhances it. Everything in this package belongs there, works together, and most importantly, feels fun. This is the first "10" I've given any game on this site, and for me it means I can't think of anything to improve. This is masterful work, and with the HD rerelease there is just no reason to miss this king of its genre. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This game is a condensed tome of all famous tales and legends from Japan, the art is awesome, the music is very traditional and well paced within the game content, gameplay is simple and clean, you will definitely enjoy the game with the move controller but the dual shock is OK. ::::::::::::::::::::::::: This time, the game includes a platinum trophy and it last about 30 hours, 40 hours for completionists and explorers, it has several locations and environments keeping your travels fresh, the combat system and enemies are a bit repetitive, there are three kinds of weapons, beans (whip), shields and swords, but they do not lower the level of fun this game has.:::::::::::::::::::: If you want to play the main tales of japan in an extensive RPG format, with beautiful graphics and traditional music, this game is for you. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    The definitive version of one of the most beautiful video games ever created, now in glorious 1080p. Buy this if you're taking yourself seriously as a gamer. Must have in every gamers collection.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for the Playstation, i couldn't keep the original any longer. However, seeing this in the Playstation store really lightened my day! I love the graphics,style,story and just the game in general! If you haven't already got this game, you should seriously buy it now!
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Everything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can be when designers are passionate about their product and are willing to step outside the box. From the beautiful art-style, to the atmospheric music, to the fantastic Zelda-esque gameplay; everything about Okami is near-perfect. Okami HD is the definitive version of Okami, and is a must play. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    as you can see from other user reviews, the game is a hands down masterpiece. the graphics and art is unsurpassable. nothing like you will ever see in your life. the controls are unsurpassable as well. i've never played anything like this.
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time, get it now!! it's a shame it was so underratef at 2006, In my opinion this is the game that benefits the most from the transition to HD of all the collections released so far. besides that the gameplay has aged great.
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I missed out on the Ps2 copy of this game and boy did i miss out! One word to describe this game is that it's a " Masterpiece ". I'm speechless of what to say about this game. The gameplay is impressive. I adore the boss fights and love the bestiary- battles that this game has to offer. You can choose to fight the demon scrolls whenever you want to so the game isn't forcibly trying to force repetitiveness down you're throat. It gives off this classical feel that you have to become stronger to progress through the game, even though you really don't unless you want to tackle the demon gates later on in this game. The game gives us different unique weapons every-time you defeat an important boss of the story and if you have enough money to dish out to buy some other unique weapons. The storyline is where you start to notice that "Hey this game is kick ass!" You take control of this canine-god Amaterasu or better known as "furball or Ammy" and embark on a journey to cleanse the lands of darkness with her celestial envoy, Issun. Throughout the journey you get "praise" to level up you're attributes such as the ink pot, health bar, astral pouch and gain money to learn new techniques to overcome puzzles, defeat monsters or just finish those darn side quests. And to top it off you can use the celestial brush to harm enemies, solve problems, create miscellaneous weather and/or earthly objects, help the citizens in certain cities and gradually make people take notice that you are a god. There's so much that i haven't gone over so my review doesn't pay respect to the game one bit. The man who created Okami was a huge legend of zelda fan, so was there any doubt that this game would be bad? I think not. This game is the kind of game i would dish out 59.99 for! It's so much better then the mediocre games that are out now and it's only 19.99! and that's a bargain for over a 30-40 hours of a pure classical Japanese tail that is Okami. Buy the game, you won't miss out on the adventure of the year. Expand
  10. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Original, epic, and unique worth the money anyday, after hearing about this from the Wii version, i knew it would be worth waiting for the HD transition.
  11. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous graphics, beautiful colors, great story, the best conversion of game to HD that I've ever seen. The fact that the dialogs are just some babbling with subtitles can be annoying sometimes, but it's just a minor detail that won't spoil an awesome gaming experience.
  12. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    9/10 for simple and obvious reasons. If you don't know them already, you have missed out on this gem.
    Okami used to look decent and be enjoyable gameplay-wise as well as in the story, which wraps up most major eastern legends and tales into a compelling story. Used to. Reborn as Okami HD, it's also very pleasing to the eye - of course not like a new release AAA title, but notably better.
    Fighting monsters, doing collection-quests as well as some others, acquiring new techniques to reach new places with and do new things with, it's much like the Playstaion-Zelda. The story is well-designed and -told, revolving around eastern mythology, bringing it's characters into an interesting adventure that will last any gamer with casual time-investment for quite a while. Definitely a purchase that can't be entirely wrong - if you don't love it, you'll at least enjoy it for once. Expand
  13. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    I never heard of this title until I came here. I picked it up from PSN and WOW!!! What a fun game! The art is beautiful!

    Only one thing that bothered me was the Zelda-esque bleep voice. Other than that it is stunning, fun, and defines what games should be like!
  14. May 4, 2013
    10
    There is only one word to describe this game and it's MASTERPIECE. Amazing story with beautiful and incredible characters with an amazing personality. The art design is just sublime in every aspect. The monsters that appear during the entire game are unique. The combat system is very good, the boss battle are epic, the gameplay is very good. The soundtrack is magical and never tiring. The only thing that might be a bit annoying is the voice of all characters in the entire game, for me it wasn't but we are not all the same. Expand
  15. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Played this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for the PS3 that was well worth the wait The game is just fantastic Its alot like Zelda but i think even more fun. The game has a fantastic Art style and and just looks wonderful even today. The puzzles are well done and the combat is alot of fun. The game is very long you will clock in any where from 40-60 hours depending on side quests. The story is also pretty entertaining Every thing about this game was just done so well and only leaves me wanting more Okami games for the future and not on the DS!!! or any portable! make them for the consoles.If yo are a RPG fan and never got around to playing this or like me got turned off by the ii version and you have a PS3 then okami HD is a must buy it plays so much better ith a REAL controller. Collapse
  16. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    are There is no doubt that Okami is one of the best, if not the best, game in its genre. The art style, character development, and sheer extent of the adventure, must be played to be believed. I reviewed this game years ago when I was still playing the PS2, and my thoughts haven't changed - this game should be considered among the best of the decade. My only problem is that this is a direct port, albeit in HD, but there are just a few niggling quirks that could have been remedied but were not. Unskippable cut scenes, long sections of nonsense dialogue, and the persistent interuprions from your companion could have bee eliminated to make this a smoother ride.
    Minor quibbles aside, this game rivals the best - im talking bioshock, zelda, AC, batman - this game is better. Can we have a sequel please?
    Expand
  17. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    A lovely, gorgeous remake of a fantastic game. Okami really is one of the greatest and most unique games ever made and it is nearly flawless, which is evident when the only negative thing people can say about it is "READING IS HARD!!!!"
  18. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    mixed with hack/slash and RPG element with 1080p, this game is awesome. the plot is also very good and long. This is one of the best games of all time but the sales is disappointment
  19. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    You shouldn't be reading this if you haven't played the game and instead go and play it now. For those of you who played the PS2 version, you'll be happy to know that it looks and sounds amazing and the hd makeover really makes it worth the price of admission. The move controller is a must to get the most out of this version, a match made in heaven. Ninetails won't see what's coming, much better than the wii version which wasn't bad but the wii remote acts up from time to time. Expand
  20. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This is the game I consider being the most beautiful and artistically stylish of all time, and HexaDrive did a hell of a job translating it to glorious Full-HD. It's simple, actually: if you're a fan of adventure games, this is a must-buy. If not, this is a must-buy. In other words, an experience that is timeless and you can't be allowed to miss.
  21. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    Do you want to know if you should buy Okami? Buy it. Now. Seriously, go.
    The art direction is stellar with its "ancient japanese painting" style and the "stages" are beautiful, varied and imaginative. The gameplay is solid and offers a lot of possibilities with its "brush mode", wich allows you to do all sort of things- making the Sun rise, slashing something in two, making trees bloom,
    making wind blow... The plot is fairly simple but surelty it's not bad and the characters range from epic to cute to hilarious. The music is fantastic if you dig its "ancient japanese music" style. The game is also long and offers challenges, mini-games and collectibles. The only problem is that it's a bit too on the easy side. Oh, and the game hasn't been dubbed, so if you don't like reading, well... it's one of those games. Expand
  22. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    A breathtaking work of art, that t'ill this day, never ceases to amaze me.
  23. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Having played the Wii version, this re-release was a great way to relive one of the best games I have ever played. 6 years old and still at the top of its genre. You owe it to yourself to get this game.
  24. 794
    Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. A perfect mix of fun gameplay, side missions, many secrets, and a beautiful story that can bring you to tears at it's climax. Okami is a game that nobody should miss out on, and now that it's in stunning HD you don't have an excuse anymore. Diving into the world of Okami is an experience you'll never forget.
  25. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If I could, I'd rate this game 9.6, but I rounded up. From the lush environments and your ability to rebuild them all the way to a fun, humorous, and usually compelling story, you can easily immerse yourself in this masterpiece of video game art. There is a reason that it's featured in video game museums.

    Only two elements hold this game back from being perfect: its combat is regularly
    too easy, and it features far too much sexism from Issun about various princesses and priestesses. Okami's combat is almost never challenging; once in a while, you'll have to consider your tactics with a boss or mini-boss, but you won't die in the process. With regard to sexism, the whole "rescue the princess" trope was already tiresome well before Okami (thank you Donkey Kong, Mario, and Zelda!), so the developers could've chosen something less banal and annoying. Granted, Amaterasu is the character who's rescuing the princesses, etc., but Issun is the sexist and vapidly shallow mouthpiece that won't stop objectifying them--over and over and over again. We get hints that Issun is over 100 years old, and, in that case, he's a 100+-year-old man-boy. Once in a while, Issun seems to mature through the narrative, but not whatsoever with regard to women. Expand
  26. May 4, 2013
    9
    Okami in full hd is perhaps the most beautiful game ever. All those details that were lost in the original pops out of the picture to form an artistic masterpiece.

    On top of that Okami is filled with interesting characters, excitement and humor. The game lack challange (you will never die) but it has more soul than most games out there.
  27. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    A beautifully stunning, overlooked classic in Capcom's case, Okami gets the HD re-release on the PS3 console -- since it originally came out during the PS2's final hours, it's been longingly deserved -- and it's aged marvelously well. Pros? The HD art design and cel-shaded graphics are as stunning as ever; Japanese folklore influences; incorporation of Zelda-esque action-adventure, platforming, and action-RPG elements; epic humor; epic quest; epic soundtrack; epic use of a paintbrush ever used in a video game; epic, well, everything. Cons? The combat can often become easy and repetitive; some minor camera issues; this is a neglected franchise. Expand
  28. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    This is everything a video game is supposed to be. Gorgeous visuals, beautiful music, compelling story, immersive atmosphere, tight controls, & unique gameplay. If you enjoy ARPGs this is a must-play.

    The only knock against this game I can think of (and I’m reaching, here) is that the camera frequently shifts into “close up” view automatically. Most of the time I prefer to have it set
    to “distance” view as it makes navigation & combat easier, but certain things will shift it back into close up mode which means I’m constantly having to shift it back. A very minor gripe, though, as they at least have another option to switch to (something Kingdom Hearts, for example, would have benefited from).

    This is a long game & a deep game that is chock full of secrets. Best of all, there is no level grinding. Instead of gaining levels in a traditional way, you improve various stats by earning “praise” from completing tasks or performing certain actions. You get to choose what to upgrade and when, which is nice. In addition, there are different weapons to find, gold dust items that upgrade each weapon, and also special abilities that can be learned from dojos. On top of all these are the brush techniques, which can be used for combat, exploration, altering the environment, and triggering plot events.

    Combat often requires a combination of regular weapon attacks & brush techniques to win, especially some of the epic boss fights. And every fight, even with the lowliest enemy, gives you a score based on how fast you finished & how much damage you took and will give you a cash reward accordingly. And instead of farming certain enemies for certain rare item drops, every enemy can be forced to drop the same item which is used as a special currency to buy rare items from a special vendor.

    The HD version is one that is much deserved for a game that looked beautiful even on PS2. It looks stunning on PS3. The addition of trophies is a nice touch, too. If you’re looking for something fun, unique & engaging to play, I can’t recommend this one enough. Be prepared to sink some time into it, though!
    Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    I played okami back in the day on the ps2 but for some reason i never finished it. But when the hd version was announced it was time to finish what i started. I had a great time with the game. Exploring the world was fun especialy because of the great art style. The puzzles where unique because of the brush mechanic. The combat was enjoyable but was never challenging and got quite repetitive in the later parts of the game. Expand
  30. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Amazing gameplay, gorgeous art style and graphics and a beautiful story.
    There is no better way to summarize this game.
    The only downside is that this game is just a tiny bit to long and doesn't have the song 'reset' the original PS2 version has (it does have the 'thank you' version of this song).
    Despite that this is the definitive version of this near perfect game.
  31. Sep 15, 2014
    9
    This is deifnitely one of the best gaing experiences I have ever had. The beautiful, hand drawn graphics assault the eyes with euphoric wonder. The characters are wonderful and memorable (Kamiki Village's Elder being one of my favorites, wait til you see his dance moves) and the quests are fun and engaging. The puzzles are fairly simple but make great use of the abilities the game doles out and lend to one or two 'Aha!' moments. It follows the Legend of Zelda formula of having areas being inaccessible without certain abilities and a long first act that leads to a world-traversing adventure. All in all, just completely enjoyable. Expand
  32. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    Played this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for the PS3 that was well worth the wait The game is just fantastic Its alot like Zelda but i think even more fun. The game has a fantastic Art style and and just looks wonderful even today. The puzzles are well done and the combat is alot of fun. The game is very long you will clock in any where from 40-60 hours depending on side quests. The story is also pretty entertaining Every thing about this game was just done so well and only leaves me wanting more Okami games for the future and not on the DS!!! or any portable! make them for the consoles.If yo are a RPG fan and never got around to playing this or like me got turned off by the ii version and you have a PS3 then okami HD is a must buy it plays so much better ith a REAL controller. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Seven years after its first appearance and Okami feels just as fresh now as it did back in 2006.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Still, for every demon slain, more beauty is restored to the land, as gorgeously rendered-flowers and wildlife spring up from the scenes of battle. And the wildlife that roams Nippon not to be feared, but rather fed, in sickeningly cute cutscenes.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    Okami HD is the definite version of the classic adventure. It is an amazing feat for a six year old game to look better than most of its recent rivals. A true classic, filled with emotion, adventure and laughter. [Feb 2013]