• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2012
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 231

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful,
    different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Many re-released games do not stand up to their own legacy, fans loving them with the clouded eyes of nostalgia. Okami is not one of those games. Not only is it still one of the most beautiful, complex, and well designed action-adventure games of the last generation, the re-release is probably the best of this generation as well. When it came out seven years ago, many (myself included) dismissed it as a Zelda clone and left it at that. The truth is, the Zelda franchise has been slowly trying to capture the magic of "Ocarina of Time" without ever quite succeeding, tacking on more and more unnecessary gimmicks to hide its reliance on decades old franchise tropes. This does not mean Zelda is not still fun, but it certainly hasn't broke any new ground since 1996. "Okami" does not have this bogged down attachment to old tropes like a musical instrument, previous boss battles, set number of dungeons, creakily familiar plotlines. Every system is fresh from the ground up, from combat to level layout to world design. It is also surprisingly large for an action-adventure game, clocking in (for me, a side quest aficionado) at around 60 hours. Yet the game is so tightly woven -- nothing, absolutely nothing is worthless busywork (coming out of AC3, this feels pretty great). Every little collectible quest will actually give players tangible rewards, not just a worthless trophy. And it's easy to say a game is pretty to look at, but it's another to say the game's artistic direction actually matches the tone of the story and enhances it. Everything in this package belongs there, works together, and most importantly, feels fun. This is the first "10" I've given any game on this site, and for me it means I can't think of anything to improve. This is masterful work, and with the HD rerelease there is just no reason to miss this king of its genre. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This game is a condensed tome of all famous tales and legends from Japan, the art is awesome, the music is very traditional and well paced within the game content, gameplay is simple and clean, you will definitely enjoy the game with the move controller but the dual shock is OK. ::::::::::::::::::::::::: This time, the game includes a platinum trophy and it last about 30 hours, 40 hours for completionists and explorers, it has several locations and environments keeping your travels fresh, the combat system and enemies are a bit repetitive, there are three kinds of weapons, beans (whip), shields and swords, but they do not lower the level of fun this game has.:::::::::::::::::::: If you want to play the main tales of japan in an extensive RPG format, with beautiful graphics and traditional music, this game is for you. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    The definitive version of one of the most beautiful video games ever created, now in glorious 1080p. Buy this if you're taking yourself seriously as a gamer. Must have in every gamers collection.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for the Playstation, i couldn't keep the original any longer. However, seeing this in the Playstation store really lightened my day! I love the graphics,style,story and just the game in general! If you haven't already got this game, you should seriously buy it now!
  6. Feb 4, 2013
    5
    This game has a LOT of lines of text you need to read, but has no voice-overs. I also feel it drags on for way too long. The story could've been told in 20 hours, and it's only 40+ hours long because of the 'filler' material.
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Everything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can be when designers are passionate about their product and are willing to step outside the box. From the beautiful art-style, to the atmospheric music, to the fantastic Zelda-esque gameplay; everything about Okami is near-perfect. Okami HD is the definitive version of Okami, and is a must play. Expand
  8. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    as you can see from other user reviews, the game is a hands down masterpiece. the graphics and art is unsurpassable. nothing like you will ever see in your life. the controls are unsurpassable as well. i've never played anything like this.
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time, get it now!! it's a shame it was so underratef at 2006, In my opinion this is the game that benefits the most from the transition to HD of all the collections released so far. besides that the gameplay has aged great.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I missed out on the Ps2 copy of this game and boy did i miss out! One word to describe this game is that it's a " Masterpiece ". I'm speechless of what to say about this game. The gameplay is impressive. I adore the boss fights and love the bestiary- battles that this game has to offer. You can choose to fight the demon scrolls whenever you want to so the game isn't forcibly trying to force repetitiveness down you're throat. It gives off this classical feel that you have to become stronger to progress through the game, even though you really don't unless you want to tackle the demon gates later on in this game. The game gives us different unique weapons every-time you defeat an important boss of the story and if you have enough money to dish out to buy some other unique weapons. The storyline is where you start to notice that "Hey this game is kick ass!" You take control of this canine-god Amaterasu or better known as "furball or Ammy" and embark on a journey to cleanse the lands of darkness with her celestial envoy, Issun. Throughout the journey you get "praise" to level up you're attributes such as the ink pot, health bar, astral pouch and gain money to learn new techniques to overcome puzzles, defeat monsters or just finish those darn side quests. And to top it off you can use the celestial brush to harm enemies, solve problems, create miscellaneous weather and/or earthly objects, help the citizens in certain cities and gradually make people take notice that you are a god. There's so much that i haven't gone over so my review doesn't pay respect to the game one bit. The man who created Okami was a huge legend of zelda fan, so was there any doubt that this game would be bad? I think not. This game is the kind of game i would dish out 59.99 for! It's so much better then the mediocre games that are out now and it's only 19.99! and that's a bargain for over a 30-40 hours of a pure classical Japanese tail that is Okami. Buy the game, you won't miss out on the adventure of the year. Expand
  11. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Original, epic, and unique worth the money anyday, after hearing about this from the Wii version, i knew it would be worth waiting for the HD transition.
  12. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    This game is unbearable. Despite the gorgeous artwork, it's just not that fun to play. Lots of roaming around. Occasionally you get jumped by bad guys, mash the attach button repeatedly and draw lines with the "brush," and that's pretty much it. And how friggin' annoying are the cut scenes? Sheesh, the intro scenes alone took FOREVER to get over with. Lots of wandering around talking to village folk with dialogue that's about as riveting as you'd expect. ...Yawn.... Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous graphics, beautiful colors, great story, the best conversion of game to HD that I've ever seen. The fact that the dialogs are just some babbling with subtitles can be annoying sometimes, but it's just a minor detail that won't spoil an awesome gaming experience.
  14. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    9/10 for simple and obvious reasons. If you don't know them already, you have missed out on this gem.
    Okami used to look decent and be enjoyable gameplay-wise as well as in the story, which wraps up most major eastern legends and tales into a compelling story. Used to. Reborn as Okami HD, it's also very pleasing to the eye - of course not like a new release AAA title, but notably better.
    Fighting monsters, doing collection-quests as well as some others, acquiring new techniques to reach new places with and do new things with, it's much like the Playstaion-Zelda. The story is well-designed and -told, revolving around eastern mythology, bringing it's characters into an interesting adventure that will last any gamer with casual time-investment for quite a while. Definitely a purchase that can't be entirely wrong - if you don't love it, you'll at least enjoy it for once. Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    I never heard of this title until I came here. I picked it up from PSN and WOW!!! What a fun game! The art is beautiful!

    Only one thing that bothered me was the Zelda-esque bleep voice. Other than that it is stunning, fun, and defines what games should be like!
  16. May 4, 2013
    10
    There is only one word to describe this game and it's MASTERPIECE. Amazing story with beautiful and incredible characters with an amazing personality. The art design is just sublime in every aspect. The monsters that appear during the entire game are unique. The combat system is very good, the boss battle are epic, the gameplay is very good. The soundtrack is magical and never tiring. The only thing that might be a bit annoying is the voice of all characters in the entire game, for me it wasn't but we are not all the same. Expand
  17. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Played this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for the PS3 that was well worth the wait The game is just fantastic Its alot like Zelda but i think even more fun. The game has a fantastic Art style and and just looks wonderful even today. The puzzles are well done and the combat is alot of fun. The game is very long you will clock in any where from 40-60 hours depending on side quests. The story is also pretty entertaining Every thing about this game was just done so well and only leaves me wanting more Okami games for the future and not on the DS!!! or any portable! make them for the consoles.If yo are a RPG fan and never got around to playing this or like me got turned off by the ii version and you have a PS3 then okami HD is a must buy it plays so much better ith a REAL controller. Expand
  18. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    are There is no doubt that Okami is one of the best, if not the best, game in its genre. The art style, character development, and sheer extent of the adventure, must be played to be believed. I reviewed this game years ago when I was still playing the PS2, and my thoughts haven't changed - this game should be considered among the best of the decade. My only problem is that this is a direct port, albeit in HD, but there are just a few niggling quirks that could have been remedied but were not. Unskippable cut scenes, long sections of nonsense dialogue, and the persistent interuprions from your companion could have bee eliminated to make this a smoother ride.
    Minor quibbles aside, this game rivals the best - im talking bioshock, zelda, AC, batman - this game is better. Can we have a sequel please?
    Expand
  19. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    A lovely, gorgeous remake of a fantastic game. Okami really is one of the greatest and most unique games ever made and it is nearly flawless, which is evident when the only negative thing people can say about it is "READING IS HARD!!!!"
  20. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    mixed with hack/slash and RPG element with 1080p, this game is awesome. the plot is also very good and long. This is one of the best games of all time but the sales is disappointment
  21. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    You shouldn't be reading this if you haven't played the game and instead go and play it now. For those of you who played the PS2 version, you'll be happy to know that it looks and sounds amazing and the hd makeover really makes it worth the price of admission. The move controller is a must to get the most out of this version, a match made in heaven. Ninetails won't see what's coming, much better than the wii version which wasn't bad but the wii remote acts up from time to time. Expand
  22. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    A bit underwhelming. The graphics are beautiful but the story is long and slow. And the gameplay is actually not that special, it's really quite traditional even though you use the paint brush. I never truly felt part off the world, but that's me. I give it a 7 because objectively, there's nothing really bad I can say, it's just not as special as people say and not as special as it looks. And I defenitely felt it was a PS2 game, these games were not as fluid as they are now. Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This is the game I consider being the most beautiful and artistically stylish of all time, and HexaDrive did a hell of a job translating it to glorious Full-HD. It's simple, actually: if you're a fan of adventure games, this is a must-buy. If not, this is a must-buy. In other words, an experience that is timeless and you can't be allowed to miss.
  24. Jul 31, 2013
    7
    I decided to play this game because I wanted to relax after finishing Hitman Absolution. It's part of my PlayStation Plus so I got it for free. But to be honest I won't buy it because it's not my type of games that I would enjoy.
    the game is fun and sweet. Cool story. But I hate the long conversations in cut scenes and other situations. Just too long and get boring. Also these
    conversations sometimes contain important information about your quest. So skipping them my result of returning to them later to understand what you should do.
    I'm enjoying the game play and the story. The graphics are so sweet. Characters are fun. But those long conversations and you have to follow and to move next you have to tab X is really annoying.
    This is 7 for me. I was right when I picked this one for a relax mode.
    Expand
  25. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    A breathtaking work of art, that t'ill this day, never ceases to amaze me.
  26. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Having played the Wii version, this re-release was a great way to relive one of the best games I have ever played. 6 years old and still at the top of its genre. You owe it to yourself to get this game.
  27. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    A game that had pretty graphics and great music when is released on the PS2 in 2006. It was beautiful on the Wii in 2008. And now with stunning HD graphics on PS3. The game always had good controls ( well not so much on the Wii ) awesome gameplay and most of all epic story and very lovable characters although the brush mechanics can get a little repetitive and annoying and there are many typos in the dialogue it is a great game Expand
  28. 794
    Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. A perfect mix of fun gameplay, side missions, many secrets, and a beautiful story that can bring you to tears at it's climax. Okami is a game that nobody should miss out on, and now that it's in stunning HD you don't have an excuse anymore. Diving into the world of Okami is an experience you'll never forget.
  29. Jul 11, 2013
    1
    if you start a game you never played before,the first 10-30 mins are the time u´ll make ur first impressions and after 15mins,i walked to the save spot and ended the game. why? because it was the most annoying intro i´ve ever HEARD,just didnt want to continue the game because i wouldnt survive another 5min of this "mumbling" or whatever u wanna call it
  30. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Okami HD is Okami, but than HD. I didn't like the first game, so i didn't like this one either. I was expecting just a little more for what i spent.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Seven years after its first appearance and Okami feels just as fresh now as it did back in 2006.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Still, for every demon slain, more beauty is restored to the land, as gorgeously rendered-flowers and wildlife spring up from the scenes of battle. And the wildlife that roams Nippon not to be feared, but rather fed, in sickeningly cute cutscenes.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    Okami HD is the definite version of the classic adventure. It is an amazing feat for a six year old game to look better than most of its recent rivals. A true classic, filled with emotion, adventure and laughter. [Feb 2013]