• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Okami, the player takes the role of the mythical sun goddess Amaterasu, in the form of a wolf. Her task is to restore color (or 'life') to the world by destroying the monsters who have stolen it. Since Amaterasu is a diety, there are naturally people who worship her and people who don't. The more people who worship her (as a result of her restoring color and doing other good deeds for them), the more powerful she becomes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    100
    Overall, Ōkami HD is an experience that should not be missed. It's stylized graphics and engaging gameplay really show that this game was ahead of its time with its initial release. Old and new players alike owe it to themselves to download it and either relive the adventure, or experience it for the first time. With its updated visuals and awesome gameplay, this is one that should not be missed.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    With its new face, Okami HD has never been so close to perfection, deserving its legendary status thanks to its beautiful visuals and its amazing soundtrack. Coming back from the dead, Cover Studio's title remains thrilling, offering a good opportunity to discover Amaterasu's adventures on PS3, especially for players that never had the chance to buy it the first time.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    93
    An example of innovative interactive mastery.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    An unforgettable, beautiful experience.
  5. Despite these flaws, however, Okami is still one of our favorite games and more than worth a meager 20 bucks. [Holiday 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    90
    Okami HD is an extraordinary, artistic and epic game that will absorb you entirely.
  7. While the game's temple design is never quite as consistently expansive or ambitious as a Legend Of Zelda, Okami's art, sturdy combat and inventive noodle-teasers have aged as gracefully as Jeff Bridges distinguished chin fur.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful, different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    There is only one word to describe this game and it's MASTERPIECE. Amazing story with beautiful and incredible characters with an amazing personality. The art design is just sublime in every aspect. The monsters that appear during the entire game are unique. The combat system is very good, the boss battle are epic, the gameplay is very good. The soundtrack is magical and never tiring. The only thing that might be a bit annoying is the voice of all characters in the entire game, for me it wasn't but we are not all the same. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    are There is no doubt that Okami is one of the best, if not the best, game in its genre. The art style, character development, and sheer extent of the adventure, must be played to be believed. I reviewed this game years ago when I was still playing the PS2, and my thoughts haven't changed - this game should be considered among the best of the decade. My only problem is that this is a direct port, albeit in HD, but there are just a few niggling quirks that could have been remedied but were not. Unskippable cut scenes, long sections of nonsense dialogue, and the persistent interuprions from your companion could have bee eliminated to make this a smoother ride.
    Minor quibbles aside, this game rivals the best - im talking bioshock, zelda, AC, batman - this game is better. Can we have a sequel please?
    Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Everything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can be when designers are passionate about their product and are willing to step outside the box. From the beautiful art-style, to the atmospheric music, to the fantastic Zelda-esque gameplay; everything about Okami is near-perfect. Okami HD is the definitive version of Okami, and is a must play. Collapse
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    I played okami back in the day on the ps2 but for some reason i never finished it. But when the hd version was announced it was time to finish what i started. I had a great time with the game. Exploring the world was fun especialy because of the great art style. The puzzles where unique because of the brush mechanic. The combat was enjoyable but was never challenging and got quite repetitive in the later parts of the game. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for the Playstation, i couldn't keep the original any longer. However, seeing this in the Playstation store really lightened my day! I love the graphics,style,story and just the game in general! If you haven't already got this game, you should seriously buy it now! Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    This game is unbearable. Despite the gorgeous artwork, it's just not that fun to play. Lots of roaming around. Occasionally you get jumped by bad guys, mash the attach button repeatedly and draw lines with the "brush," and that's pretty much it. And how friggin' annoying are the cut scenes? Sheesh, the intro scenes alone took FOREVER to get over with. Lots of wandering around talking to village folk with dialogue that's about as riveting as you'd expect. ...Yawn.... Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.