Okami HD PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Okami HD Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as theyIn Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as they must fight ominous beings and reclaim the earth from a curse that plagues it. It is crucial to help Amaterasu make the world a place where all living creatures can dwell once again. [Capcom] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    100
    Overall, Ōkami HD is an experience that should not be missed. It's stylized graphics and engaging gameplay really show that this game was ahead of its time with its initial release. Old and new players alike owe it to themselves to download it and either relive the adventure, or experience it for the first time. With its updated visuals and awesome gameplay, this is one that should not be missed.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    With its new face, Okami HD has never been so close to perfection, deserving its legendary status thanks to its beautiful visuals and its amazing soundtrack. Coming back from the dead, Cover Studio's title remains thrilling, offering a good opportunity to discover Amaterasu's adventures on PS3, especially for players that never had the chance to buy it the first time.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    93
    An example of innovative interactive mastery.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    An unforgettable, beautiful experience.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Despite these flaws, however, Okami is still one of our favorite games and more than worth a meager 20 bucks. [Holiday 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    90
    Okami HD is an extraordinary, artistic and epic game that will absorb you entirely.
  7. While the game's temple design is never quite as consistently expansive or ambitious as a Legend Of Zelda, Okami's art, sturdy combat and inventive noodle-teasers have aged as gracefully as Jeff Bridges distinguished chin fur.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they areThere is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful, different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Played this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for thePlayed this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for the PS3 that was well worth the wait The game is just fantastic Its alot like Zelda but i think even more fun. The game has a fantastic Art style and and just looks wonderful even today. The puzzles are well done and the combat is alot of fun. The game is very long you will clock in any where from 40-60 hours depending on side quests. The story is also pretty entertaining Every thing about this game was just done so well and only leaves me wanting more Okami games for the future and not on the DS!!! or any portable! make them for the consoles.If yo are a RPG fan and never got around to playing this or like me got turned off by the ii version and you have a PS3 then okami HD is a must buy it plays so much better ith a REAL controller. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If I could, I'd rate this game 9.6, but I rounded up. From the lush environments and your ability to rebuild them all the way to a fun,If I could, I'd rate this game 9.6, but I rounded up. From the lush environments and your ability to rebuild them all the way to a fun, humorous, and usually compelling story, you can easily immerse yourself in this masterpiece of video game art. There is a reason that it's featured in video game museums.

    Only two elements hold this game back from being perfect: its combat is regularly too easy, and it features far too much sexism from Issun about various princesses and priestesses. Okami's combat is almost never challenging; once in a while, you'll have to consider your tactics with a boss or mini-boss, but you won't die in the process. With regard to sexism, the whole "rescue the princess" trope was already tiresome well before Okami (thank you Donkey Kong, Mario, and Zelda!), so the developers could've chosen something less banal and annoying. Granted, Amaterasu is the character who's rescuing the princesses, etc., but Issun is the sexist and vapidly shallow mouthpiece that won't stop objectifying them--over and over and over again. We get hints that Issun is over 100 years old, and, in that case, he's a 100+-year-old man-boy. Once in a while, Issun seems to mature through the narrative, but not whatsoever with regard to women.
    Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time, get it now!! it's a shame it was so underratef at 2006, In my opinion this is the game thatThis is one of the best games of all time, get it now!! it's a shame it was so underratef at 2006, In my opinion this is the game that benefits the most from the transition to HD of all the collections released so far. besides that the gameplay has aged great. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    I played okami back in the day on the ps2 but for some reason i never finished it. But when the hd version was announced it was time to finishI played okami back in the day on the ps2 but for some reason i never finished it. But when the hd version was announced it was time to finish what i started. I had a great time with the game. Exploring the world was fun especialy because of the great art style. The puzzles where unique because of the brush mechanic. The combat was enjoyable but was never challenging and got quite repetitive in the later parts of the game. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for theThe original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for the Playstation, i couldn't keep the original any longer. However, seeing this in the Playstation store really lightened my day! I love the graphics,style,story and just the game in general! If you haven't already got this game, you should seriously buy it now! Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2016
    4
    For the price it's OK but nothing more.
    I played for one hour but I won't play more, maybe my kids will like it.
    The game has a lot of lines
    For the price it's OK but nothing more.
    I played for one hour but I won't play more, maybe my kids will like it.
    The game has a lot of lines of text you need to read but no voice-over ... it's annoying.
    It's not a bad game, it just looks too old, too boring and too childish for me.
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.