Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    The new combat system is smoother than in other Musou games and the good graphics turn this title into a must buy for every One Piece lover.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    83
    Finally an anime game which doesn't only use the franchise name to call attention. One Piece: Pirate Warriors looks great, it's fun and provides the whole One Piece Experience, starting with Ruffy's fight against Buggy.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    75
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors isn't the game of the year but it's probably the best game in the series. Some can say it's just a Dynasty Warriors-like, with all the problems that come with it, but it's a good one. The use of Quick Time Events is clever and brings some kind of renewal to the gameplay. Most of all, Pirate Warriors is the most accurate episode and it will be no problem to convince the fans.
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    76
    A playable anime, that's what this One Piece: Pirate Warriors is. A must-have for all Luffy fans around the world that comes exclusively to PlayStation 3 with a gameplay that pushes the boundaries seen in Dynasty Warriors to bring not only fights, fights and more fights, but also platform and puzzle mechanics with coop offline and online too. But its far from being the supreme One Piece game, because there are story arcs that the game doesn't include and the music and enemy AI are not at the same level that the visual part. A good game anyway, but a little too short even with its different modes.
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors is not the typical musou. Nice visuals, a light but effective RPG side and a good amount of content make the latest game from Omega Force a nice surprise.
  6. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Oct 1, 2012
    76
    The gameplay is deliberately kept simple, but offers enough depth to sink your teeth in. A combination of light and heavy attacks doesn't surprise anyone any more, but Luffy and his buddies move in such an enjoyable way it kept us entertained. [October 2012, p.74]
  7. 80
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors is a gorgeous game oozing with production value. There's plenty of content on offer, and while gameplay fails to differentiate from the Dynasty Warriors formula, it's hard not to enjoy such a mechanically sound, visually impressive adaptation.
  8. Oct 9, 2012
    75
    Definitely not the best anime adaptation, but also not the worst. There's a lot of fun to be had with One Piece... if you're willing to overlook the annoying camera and an incomplete story.
  9. Sep 23, 2012
    75
    A greatly polished, different game that relies on a well-known mechanic. If you're a fan of the anime and enjoy hack 'n' slash games it's fully recommendable. Also it's worth considering if you like either the series or the genre, but if One Piece or hack 'n' slash games are not your first choice, make sure you try it before you buy it.
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    If you're a One Piece fan or someone looking for something just a little different from your standard Dynasty Warriors title, One Piece: Pirate Warriors gets a heavy recommendation. Just keep in mind that "different" is the key word, for both better and worse. Your money buys a whole lot of content, so it won't be wasted. The Main Log, while mostly enjoyable, takes a bit of patience, but the other modes are worth the price of admission all by themselves.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    Another **** One Piece game reproduced. Playing this game made me feel so **** bad that I didn't change my underwear for a week after ****tingAnother **** One Piece game reproduced. Playing this game made me feel so **** bad that I didn't change my underwear for a week after ****ting and pissing in them. I slept in my own damn **** and piss. This game is that bad. Terrible gameplay and terrible story along with a ****-ton of bugs and bad graphics. This also **** up my ps3 by deleting saves from other games.. really?? Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    This has to be the worst game I have ever played on my ps3. It crashed my system, deleting all my other saves to games. The graphics are ****This has to be the worst game I have ever played on my ps3. It crashed my system, deleting all my other saves to games. The graphics are **** horse **** and the gameplay is even **** ****tier. I wish I could just take all of these games and destroy them it is so **** bad. **** THIS GAME, DON'T BUY Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Being a full on One Piece fan, no matter what the game was going to be like , Pirate Warriors was going to be an instant purchase for me.Being a full on One Piece fan, no matter what the game was going to be like , Pirate Warriors was going to be an instant purchase for me. Following Luffy's story up to the New World, the straw hat team go back in time to speak about their previous journeys. What also made the game so perfect was the fact that the game held its Japanese voice over with the original cast. However I would understand that not everyone enjoys reading subtitles but those who are into the one piece anime and manga then the cutscenes and dialogue are perfect. In addition the graphics at first did not sell, characters looked plastic as if the production cost for this game was not very high. However once I got into the game itself I was completely sold. It was as if the anime was given a next gen make over. Although once again there are some who may not like this art style and that too is understandable. Next the gameplay itself. Split into fighting and taking over territories, boss battles and quick time events, those who are familiar to the dynasty warriors games would feel at home playing this. Which comes to a major draw back to Pirate Warriors. As I was not fond of the Dynasty warriors series, I was worried how this game was to play out. Once I got into it It felt very familiar not I continued to enjoy it, not because of the actual gameplay which is at least satisfying as you use Luffy's gomu attacks and the straw hats iconic moves, but I realised I was enjoying this simply because it was One Piece. Those who do not watch one piece as well as not enjoying dynasty warriors will find little they would like in this game especially with the story being extremely shortened with arcs missing ( i did not mind these arcs as I never found them interesting e.g skypeia) and the development of the bonds with the characters is not present which is the main reason to why One Piece is so enjoyable, it is because I know these characters and finally I am playing as them.
    With the main log focused on Luffy, as well as the challenge mode and other side logs involving the other characters including a co - op online, Pirate Warriors would keep anyone especially one piece fans busy for a long time. I give this game a 9 as a bias opinion but for anyone who does not enjoy one piece and the dynasty warriors gameplay, I say save your money as Il give it as 6.5 in that circumstance as the game is not at all bad, but may not be enjoyable.
    Full Review »