User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 14 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    If you love the One Piece cartoon series then you will definitely love this game.

    The graphics are spot on, being either very good or absolutely excellent (the fur on Chopper the reindeer for example). The game play is mostly either fighting legions of pirates or quick-time events. The quick-time events are done well (much better than many other games that use them) and their use makes
    sense. The fighting is enjoyable as there are plenty of techniques and characters, and the boss battles are memorable. The story follows the series very closely.

    There is also an online option where you fight alongside other players against tons of computer controlled pirates, with the goal of securing all regions on the map. All the other usual features are there that you'd expect (like character profiles and other One Piece story info).
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Being a full on One Piece fan, no matter what the game was going to be like , Pirate Warriors was going to be an instant purchase for me. Following Luffy's story up to the New World, the straw hat team go back in time to speak about their previous journeys. What also made the game so perfect was the fact that the game held its Japanese voice over with the original cast. However I would understand that not everyone enjoys reading subtitles but those who are into the one piece anime and manga then the cutscenes and dialogue are perfect. In addition the graphics at first did not sell, characters looked plastic as if the production cost for this game was not very high. However once I got into the game itself I was completely sold. It was as if the anime was given a next gen make over. Although once again there are some who may not like this art style and that too is understandable. Next the gameplay itself. Split into fighting and taking over territories, boss battles and quick time events, those who are familiar to the dynasty warriors games would feel at home playing this. Which comes to a major draw back to Pirate Warriors. As I was not fond of the Dynasty warriors series, I was worried how this game was to play out. Once I got into it It felt very familiar not I continued to enjoy it, not because of the actual gameplay which is at least satisfying as you use Luffy's gomu attacks and the straw hats iconic moves, but I realised I was enjoying this simply because it was One Piece. Those who do not watch one piece as well as not enjoying dynasty warriors will find little they would like in this game especially with the story being extremely shortened with arcs missing ( i did not mind these arcs as I never found them interesting e.g skypeia) and the development of the bonds with the characters is not present which is the main reason to why One Piece is so enjoyable, it is because I know these characters and finally I am playing as them.
    With the main log focused on Luffy, as well as the challenge mode and other side logs involving the other characters including a co - op online, Pirate Warriors would keep anyone especially one piece fans busy for a long time. I give this game a 9 as a bias opinion but for anyone who does not enjoy one piece and the dynasty warriors gameplay, I say save your money as Il give it as 6.5 in that circumstance as the game is not at all bad, but may not be enjoyable.
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    El mejor juego o adaptación de una serie anime! The best anime game!
    Porque es sencillamente expectacular, muy fiel a al manga y a la serie, posee gráficos muy buenos, un gameplay genial, etc!
  4. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    If you like One Piece, you will absolutely love this game! Action packed to the core, amazing graphics and fun to play with a friend! If not a fan... just an average hack and slash game without jump button and lots of Japanese guys shouting! :P
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    9/10 for coop gameplay, 7/10 without friends (main log (campaign).
    If you like One Piece or love Dynasty Warriors this is probably a must-have for you. If you don't like any of them you will probably think this game is boring as hell, cause it's kind of repetetive. It's like Dynasty Warriors but actually with a cool story mode in which you will get to play as Luffy for most of the time
    but in ca. 50% of the missions you will also play different characters from the One Piece anime/manga series and fight through lots of enemies, do pretty interesting boss battles and solve some platforming puzzles (in my opinion there are too many of these).
    There's also a challenge mode in which you have to.. well.. kill even more guys.

    Best thing of the game is still, like in Dynasty Warriors, to grab a beer and slaughter hundreds of fighters and main characters from One Piece together with a friend. Like in DW there is not really a lot of violence.

    Compared to DW it has less playable characters (10-12?) but the story mode and a better combo system make the game highly enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. May 1, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "One Piece" Is A Good Anime For Me I Have Been Looking For Good One Piece Games But Nothing Sticks Out To Me Except One Piece Pirate Warriors A Fun Beat Em Up Now I Have Fully Played This Game So I'll Cover These Topic's (Story,Gameplay,Stages,Music,Cutscenes,Voice Acting)
    The Story To This Game Plays Like The Anime From The Beginning To *SPOILERS* Ace's Death With The Straw Hats To Reunite In 2 Years Starting The Timeskip Arc With Arcs Like Alabasta,Enies,Water7,Drum Roll I Think,ETC

    The Gameplay Plays Like Dynasty Warriors With Different Powered Characters Like Luffy,Robin,Nami,Usopp,Sanji,Zoro,Chopper,Franky,Brook,Jimbe,Boa Handcock,Ace,Whitebeard,ETC
    They Each Play Differently Like Sanji And Ace Are Extremely Overpowered To Weak Like Franky,Robin,Nami,ETC But The Stages Is Where The Game Shines Like The Town,The Ships,Alabasta,The Castle,Enies,Arlong Park,ETC That And There Are Bosses Like Don Kreig,Mihawk,Mr.2,Buggy,Lucci,ETC

    The Graphics Are Good For A PS3 Game And The Voice Acting Uses The Japanese Voices Instead Of The English Voices Which Is A Tiny Problem But Meh And The Stage Design's Aren't Too Bad Now The Music Is Good But Kinda Forgettable I Wish We Got To Listen To The Openings To The Show

    +Gameplay,Bosses,Story,Characters,Stages
    +Options
    -No Openings,Confusing Objectives

    Overall It Gets A 90/100 With My Rank Of Good
    Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    69
    There's something strangely uplifting here. [Issue#224, p.78]
  2. One Piece and Dynasty Warrior diehards will find plenty to love; anyone else will be bored after about two missions. [Holiday 2012, p.76]
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    If you're a One Piece fan or someone looking for something just a little different from your standard Dynasty Warriors title, One Piece: Pirate Warriors gets a heavy recommendation. Just keep in mind that "different" is the key word, for both better and worse. Your money buys a whole lot of content, so it won't be wasted. The Main Log, while mostly enjoyable, takes a bit of patience, but the other modes are worth the price of admission all by themselves.