Outland PlayStation 3

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    70
    Housemarque's adventure wears its ambitions so openly that the comparison is inevitable. By no means a classic on those terms, Outland is nonetheless a well-executed game that - hopefully - lays the groundwork for future iteration upon its central ideas.
  2. May 10, 2011
    70
    Outland is without a doubt a good game. The switching between light and dark works well in this platformer, and gets assisted by great smooth gameplay. Include the cooperative elements and you've got a game that belongs at the top of downloadable titles. That Outland doesn't belong to that elite is because of the sometimes very artificial and stale level design.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jul 17, 2011
    70
    It's occasionally fiddly and frustrating, but take one look at the pretty pictures and all that rage melts away. [Aug 2011, p.107]
  4. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    72
    The aesthetic is arresting, but the gameplay not so much. [Issue#206, p.99]
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    70
    It's a well directed game that surely will be used in a more ambitious sequel.
  6. Jul 21, 2011
    70
    It's not pefect, but Outland offers a very satisfying gaming experience for those who are willing to stick with it.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    I think we are getting to the point of expecting too much in some video games. While I feel plinking down 60$ warrants a great amount of timeI think we are getting to the point of expecting too much in some video games. While I feel plinking down 60$ warrants a great amount of time and effort to give me the proper bang for the buck...the downloadable games in the 10$ range are what they are and should be judged as such. Coming from gaming in the 80's, I found myself transported back to games of the era like The Impossible Mission from Epyx. I found Outland to be quite a treat, not too complicated and not too simple, a nice balance. There were some sections that required several tries to accomplish the task, but I remember games in the 80's that could be quite brutal in the learning curve. Outland was and is to me a great deal for the dollar. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Or a gem. :) Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay with a lot of challenge. I remember when I've played games in the NESFantastic game. Or a gem. :) Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay with a lot of challenge. I remember when I've played games in the NES era. Some of them were so hard. I got really pissed and angry because I died a lot. But after when I got through a hard area or a hard enemy, then that feeling THAT AMAZING FEELING, that catharsis. This game brings back those feelings and I want to thank "him" for that. Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    My primary concern was simply that there may not have been enough innovation in this title to warrant the purchase. That it was only $10 is aMy primary concern was simply that there may not have been enough innovation in this title to warrant the purchase. That it was only $10 is a huge selling point, worthy of the risk, and a risk that I was very pleased to have made. While it makes no attempt to turn the entire genre onto its head, the manner in which it presents its fairly nostalgic gameplay of gradually increasing abilities, backtracking to find secret areas (mostly optional) and generally challenging scenarios in which one must utilize a proper combination of quick thinking and reflexes in such a manner that the I was left entirely impressed by just how refined those elements were.

    This is a fairly hard game, with difficulty that grows after the first "world" and bosses that are at once taxing, but also logical in their attack patterns. Massive numbers of projectiles will force you to time your jumps and movements to be relatively precise; but there I felt a delightful level of accomplishment for having safely traversed each level. The audio and visuals are similarly refined. In fact, I found that they were part and parcel of what made the entire experience so delightful. There were some moments of the game where I found myself legitimately challenged to a point that I probably should have felt frustrated to some degree. That said, I soon realized that the primary reason for not growing frustrated was just how relaxed the artistic visuals and soothing audio had left me. Whether lush jungles or the somewhat chaotic final stages I could just take a moment, breathe, absorb some of the atmosphere presented, and get right back into the thick of things.

    There is more that can be said; but the point of it all is that this is one of the finer crafted games that I have played in a long time, the price is right, the difficulty is perfect, and I cannot recommend it enough.
    Full Review »