Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    90
    Exciting gameplay packed with clever mechanics and framed by a compelling artistic vision make Outland a superb experience.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    90
    When you get right down to it, Outland cannibalizes a lot of tried-and-true gaming elements and turns them into something entirely new and exciting. The magical realm you explore is visually captivating, overflowing with elegance and mystery. More importantly, it serves up some damn good gaming.
  3. May 4, 2011
    80
    A tightly designed downloadable game bursting with demanding traversal, surprisingly deep combat, and lush visual design. You can't be a fan of 2D action games in 2011 and not give this game a look.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Metroidvania. Ikaruga. Shadow of the Colossus. All the influences are there, but don't mistake it for those. Outland is a game all its own. It doesn't oversell.
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    70
    It's not pefect, but Outland offers a very satisfying gaming experience for those who are willing to stick with it.
  6. Jul 20, 2011
    70
    It's a well directed game that surely will be used in a more ambitious sequel.
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    86
    Outland is a mix of different good elements from different games. The graphical style is a bit floating, the audio sounds magical and the gameplay can be really tough but is good. Every gamer that will enjoy playing a pretty hard platform game must buy Outland.
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    Regardless of whether you're an old-school platform fanatic or someone who has never picked up a platformer in your life, Outland is a game worth checking out. An impulse buy with retail production values, it's hard to go wrong with this one.
  9. 80
    A great title for the PSN. It draws from several other games for inspiration, but is able to make an experience that feels unique.
  10. Jun 20, 2011
    87
    If you've ever lamented the stale state of today's 2D platformers, Outland will rekindle your faith in the genre.
  11. Jun 19, 2011
    88
    The platform spectacle with the nameless hero is so expertly staged that it is very hard to get away from it.
  12. Jun 14, 2011
    90
    Its impetus on platforming, combat and collecting will intrigue players that like any number of genres, and that's a good thing, because Outland does just about everything it does exceptionally well.
  13. Jun 13, 2011
    80
    Outland is a unique platform game. The gameplay can be really hard but manages to find a good balance between difficult and nearly impossible. It has a great visual style which adds up to the fun.
  14. May 10, 2011
    80
    Pretty, dense, nerve-challenging, immersive, innovative... Outland is easily one of the gems of April 2011. Combining with talent several influences (Limbo, Castlevania, Ikaruga), it goes back to the rules of 2D platformers, with an added twist. It's an enticing tribal journey, with a soul, at a small price.
  15. May 10, 2011
    70
    Outland is without a doubt a good game. The switching between light and dark works well in this platformer, and gets assisted by great smooth gameplay. Include the cooperative elements and you've got a game that belongs at the top of downloadable titles. That Outland doesn't belong to that elite is because of the sometimes very artificial and stale level design.
  16. May 6, 2011
    90
    Outland has enough virtues to be remembered as one of the best platforms games of the year. If you like the genre this is a must-have.
  17. May 5, 2011
    86
    A great game, plenty of funny puzzles and platforming. Visually stunning and with some enjoyable boss battles, Outland sometimes lacks in rhythm and narrative depth.
  18. May 3, 2011
    90
    This isn't just an amazing game; it's an 800 MSP warning shot across the bow of all £40 retail games currently in production. The downloadable titles are here, and getting better with each release.
  19. Apr 28, 2011
    90
    Something old, something new, something red and something blue, Outland stands as another fine example of how old-school platforming can be brought triumphantly into the modern era with tight gameplay and an interesting twist on an old staple.
  20. Apr 28, 2011
    91
    You could easily fill an entire review with the grocery list of games from which Outland cribs its gameplay elements -- Ubisoft's own marketing specifically calls out Ikaruga and Prince of Persia as "inspirations," for heaven's sake. But doing so seems unnecessarily reductive to me, because Outland manages to take those "inspirations" and create something that feels like genuine innovation.
  21. Apr 27, 2011
    80
    A tumultuous blend of Prince of Persia-style jumping action and the "bullet hell" of insane shooters like Ikaruga. It's complex, difficult and a lot of fun.
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    90
    I would have loved a more meaningful or full-bodied story in Outland, but at least the mystical narrative maintains the unreal vibe that the rest of the game exudes. Beyond that, the action-packed platforming, hypnotic music, and striking aesthetic make Outland a must-play. I am always astounded that more developers don't create 2D exploration games. With Outland, not only do we get a great new entry in the genre, but a unique variation on the theme unlike anything else on the market.
  23. Apr 27, 2011
    70
    Housemarque's adventure wears its ambitions so openly that the comparison is inevitable. By no means a classic on those terms, Outland is nonetheless a well-executed game that - hopefully - lays the groundwork for future iteration upon its central ideas.
  24. Despite the at-times frantic movement Outland superbly promotes fast flowing gameplay. It's a winner, and the two-player co-op modes are just bonuses on top of a truly satisfying and rewarding title. [July 2011 p84]
  25. It's occasionally fiddly and frustrating, but take one look at the pretty pictures and all that rage melts away. [Aug 2011, p.107]
  26. Jul 3, 2011
    89
    A well-paced and great-looking adventure, and one that rewards time spent with some incredible sights. [Aug 2011, p.92]
  27. Jun 26, 2011
    72
    The aesthetic is arresting, but the gameplay not so much. [Issue#206, p.99]
  28. The mechanic is both clever and well implemented, and Outland is a smart choice for those seeking a fun PSN diversion. [July 2011, p.86]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    I think we are getting to the point of expecting too much in some video games. While I feel plinking down 60$ warrants a great amount of timeI think we are getting to the point of expecting too much in some video games. While I feel plinking down 60$ warrants a great amount of time and effort to give me the proper bang for the buck...the downloadable games in the 10$ range are what they are and should be judged as such. Coming from gaming in the 80's, I found myself transported back to games of the era like The Impossible Mission from Epyx. I found Outland to be quite a treat, not too complicated and not too simple, a nice balance. There were some sections that required several tries to accomplish the task, but I remember games in the 80's that could be quite brutal in the learning curve. Outland was and is to me a great deal for the dollar. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Or a gem. :) Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay with a lot of challenge. I remember when I've played games in the NESFantastic game. Or a gem. :) Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay with a lot of challenge. I remember when I've played games in the NES era. Some of them were so hard. I got really pissed and angry because I died a lot. But after when I got through a hard area or a hard enemy, then that feeling THAT AMAZING FEELING, that catharsis. This game brings back those feelings and I want to thank "him" for that. Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    My primary concern was simply that there may not have been enough innovation in this title to warrant the purchase. That it was only $10 is aMy primary concern was simply that there may not have been enough innovation in this title to warrant the purchase. That it was only $10 is a huge selling point, worthy of the risk, and a risk that I was very pleased to have made. While it makes no attempt to turn the entire genre onto its head, the manner in which it presents its fairly nostalgic gameplay of gradually increasing abilities, backtracking to find secret areas (mostly optional) and generally challenging scenarios in which one must utilize a proper combination of quick thinking and reflexes in such a manner that the I was left entirely impressed by just how refined those elements were.

    This is a fairly hard game, with difficulty that grows after the first "world" and bosses that are at once taxing, but also logical in their attack patterns. Massive numbers of projectiles will force you to time your jumps and movements to be relatively precise; but there I felt a delightful level of accomplishment for having safely traversed each level. The audio and visuals are similarly refined. In fact, I found that they were part and parcel of what made the entire experience so delightful. There were some moments of the game where I found myself legitimately challenged to a point that I probably should have felt frustrated to some degree. That said, I soon realized that the primary reason for not growing frustrated was just how relaxed the artistic visuals and soothing audio had left me. Whether lush jungles or the somewhat chaotic final stages I could just take a moment, breathe, absorb some of the atmosphere presented, and get right back into the thick of things.

    There is more that can be said; but the point of it all is that this is one of the finer crafted games that I have played in a long time, the price is right, the difficulty is perfect, and I cannot recommend it enough.
    Full Review »