Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    100
    This is a master class in game design: you will understand it instantly, enjoy it instantly, and want to play again and again.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    Pac-Man Championship Edition DX introduces a number of terrific new elements that make it a superb update of the arcade classic.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    85
    Pac-Man Championship Edition DX is one of the finest games of 2010. It has wit. It has flavor. Most importantly, it has style.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    Though I still don't know what a perfect game of DX looks like, the fact that I'm still glued to it (despite -- at this point -- finishing what I estimate to be maybe one actual five-minute game in any given hour) should give you a pretty clear idea of how I feel about it.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    100
    I can't think of a single negative thing to say about it, and it's definitely in the contender for Game of the Year.
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    85
    Unmatched combination of simplicity and fun in one of the best games in history, which again demonstrates that after 30 years its gameplay is still strong enough to engage us in our new consoles.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    But when the actual game is compared to the finest of its score-hungry contemporaries - Trials HD, Super Stardust HD and Geometry Wars 2 - Pac-Man Championship Edition DX is a titanic event of equal worth.
  8. Jan 10, 2011
    95
    Simply a masterpiece. There's really no reason why this one shouldn't be in your collection, whether you are a fan of the saga or not. It's so funny and polished you really can't miss it.
  9. Dec 17, 2010
    91
    Pac-Man Championship Edition DX is an incredible game, from top to bottom.
  10. Jan 3, 2011
    100
    A must-have for every hi-score maniac, Pac-Man Championship Edition DX can keep you away from your friends more than any woman, and away from you woman more than any friend. An act of love to the golden era of the arcade games and probably on of the best downloadable games of the year.
  11. Jan 6, 2011
    80
    Pac-Man has received a facelift. The well-known bleeps that we know and love are now accompanied by a technobeat, the pace of the game is much faster and neonlights give the game a modern look. More importantly, the old concept of the game has been altered so that there's an original twist in every level.
  12. Distilled gaming awesomeness beamed from the arcade that time forgot. [Feb 2011, p.97]
  13. Dec 29, 2010
    91
    Bold, bright and insanely addictive. [Issue#200, p.102]
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    What a formidable tribute this Pac-Man Championship Edition DX is for the 30th birthday of Pac-Man. Addictive, thrilling, psychedelic, this frenzy-inducing downloadable title reinvents the classic gameplay with subtleness, without spoiling the substance of the original. Being able to refresh such an oldie without crushing it... kudos !
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    As far as 2010 goes, it's mightily difficult to recommend a downloadable title more than Pac-Man Championship Edition DX.
  16. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Updating the classics can be a touchy process, but Namco was, once again, up to the challenge.
  17. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    The stages are dynamic. [Feb 2011, p.101]
  18. Jan 3, 2011
    95
    Rarely do you find a package that contains so much nostalgia combined with original ideas for such a great price. Anyone looking to revive a classic series for modern sensibilities would do well to use Pac-Man CE DX as a template.
  19. Jan 30, 2011
    98
    Pac-Man Championship Edition DX is about as solid and sensible an arcade revival that we've seen in the downloadable space. It's reasonably priced, intelligently balanced, and incredibly hard to put down.
  20. This is retro homage done right. [Feb 2011, p.87]
  21. Dec 17, 2010
    80
    The different modes have enough variety to add a measure of replay value, with minor changes in the gameplay and some new mazes to chomp your way through.
  22. Championship Edition DX is superbly balanced. It rewards skilled players with a great challenge and extremely frantic gameplay, while those that initially struggle won't feel unfairly punished when the game speed knocks itself down every time Paccers dies. You will crave to beat your highscore on the litany of tables, and every time you complete a round something new opens up. [February 2011 p80]
  23. Dec 20, 2010
    100
    There are also a wealth of presentation options that cover the gamut of Pac-man's 30-year history.
  24. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    One of the best Pac-Man games you can get at the moment. The game looks pretty nice, the gameplay is oldschool but fun and it works great on the PlayStation 3. Beside the classic Pac-Man gameplay the game contains a lot of different modes to keep you playing.
  25. Jan 31, 2011
    100
    One of the most exciting titles available. It is, in short, a game any sort of player – casual or hard-core – will take a shine to.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Pac-Man Championship Edition DX just does what a game should do : it's fun to play and play again, it doesn't break too much away from thePac-Man Championship Edition DX just does what a game should do : it's fun to play and play again, it doesn't break too much away from the mold that made it an instant classic back when it originally released and adds a few variations here and there along with leader boards to give it replayability. Forget spending quarters over and over; for 10$, you'll be able to play this gem of a game without fear of running out of change. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games i've played on my Playstation 3. Is fast, fun and simply. I LOVE IT !!!! If you dont know which game buy onThis is one of the best games i've played on my Playstation 3. Is fast, fun and simply. I LOVE IT !!!! If you dont know which game buy on PSN, buy this. Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    Yes it looks cool and yes it appeals to nostalgic Pac-Man players. But lets be fair after you play one of the neon lit 'new' levels you stillYes it looks cool and yes it appeals to nostalgic Pac-Man players. But lets be fair after you play one of the neon lit 'new' levels you still come away thinking "meh". Sadly it still plays like a game which was only averagely playable 30 years ago. This is one for people with too many psn points or indeed gamers who don't want any depth or excitement to their titles. Full Review »