• Publisher: Minority
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    74
    Papo & Yo should absolutely be commended for wearing its heart on its sleeve. As an experience it takes unprecedented strides with the power of its narrative and it will be cherished years on for its memorable final act. As a game Papo & Yo is noticeably less ambitious, employing pedestrian challenges and clumsy mechanics throughout. It's worth it, but unfortunately not without a few qualifications.
  2. If you're looking for an ethereal, Limboesque puzzler that will challenge your intellect, this isn't it. What's required of you is always obvious, thanks to a predictable mish-mash of platforming and box puzzles. [October 2012, p76]
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Despite a few rough edges, this surreal platforming adventure is a heartfelt, emotional experience that's well worth your time.
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    70
    An allegorical puzzle game about a boy trying to help his alcoholic father. The compelling story explores a serious issue, but the game is somewhat lacking gameplay wise.
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    70
    I cannot remember the last time I played a game with so much heart & soul in its textures and scripts. Unfortunately, although Papo & Yo is probably one of the most heartbreaking, emotional and emphatic games of this generation, the feelings and experiences are above the playable side, something that makes the constant puzzles mostly mere an anecdote, but gives at the same time a powerful walkthrough.
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    70
    Never feels challenging, so it lacks exhilarating highs.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    70
    Papo & Yo is not a technically perfect game, and is perhaps a little short for the asking price, but it covers a topic that is rarely discussed in the world of video games thoughtfully with an inventive style that provokes an emotional response at several points.
  8. Aug 22, 2012
    70
    It's fun, cohesive and meaningful yet suffers from a lapse in replayability and all-round polish.
  9. Aug 22, 2012
    70
    A few rough edges don't detract from an adventure that is as emotional as it is brain teasing, and is worth experiencing whether or not you can relate to the subject matter.
  10. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    There is, however, a powerful experience here. Papo & Yo makes its player face the terrible relationship of abuse in a very personal way.
  11. Sep 6, 2012
    69
    Beautiful, but short. It could have been bigger, a PlayStation Network must-have, but Papo & Yo doesn't show ambition and offers an adventure with a great potential and a lot to polish. It's an emotional journey recreated through some unforgettable landscapes, however, when it comes to actual gameplay there are many things yet to be improved.
  12. Aug 17, 2012
    67
    And while polishing the game up a bit more would do little to impact the replay value, it would certainly have provided a more lasting memory than what Papo & Yo currently delivers, which is a shame because otherwise it's a game that is definitely worth experiencing.
  13. Aug 29, 2012
    65
    After finishing Papa & Yo, we were left with mixed feelings. The game offers a unique emotional experience through the creative fantasy world of Quico, accompanied by great music. But the platforming and puzzling never really gets challenging and the game is filled with bugs and technical issues. This makes Papa & Yo an unique game, but not the game it amazing game it could have been.
  14. Sep 13, 2012
    60
    All the great storytelling in Papo & Yo can't prevent the simple fact that the gameplay just isn't here.
  15. Aug 28, 2012
    60
    Though it may dip a little in the middle Papo & Yo finishes strongly, making good use of the game's evocative musical score and themes to create a resonant conclusion that may be a little on the nose, but still feels risky and experimental compared to the narrative tropes typically used by most games.
  16. 60
    Papo & Yo really tugged at my heartstrings, like few other games have managed as of late, and on that basis, despite some valid criticism, I feel it really is a worthwhile little game.
  17. Aug 18, 2012
    60
    In an age where indie games are finally beginning to bloom as a way to experiment with narrative, Papo & Yo still feels like a brave step forward into uncharted territory. And as with all first steps, it's something of a clumsy one, perhaps unsure of itself and its own limitations.
  18. Aug 14, 2012
    60
    Papo & Yo is undeniably one of the most unique PSN games you'll encounter. It makes brilliant use of symbols, metaphors, and beautiful presentation to tell a very dark and personal story about abuse, addiction, and consequences. And in that sense, it renders the gameplay issues -- from unwieldy controls, tedious late-game segments, and slightly one-note mechanics -- all the more unfortunate.
  19. Sep 5, 2012
    50
    Papo & Yo is a title of binary worth; not worth ignoring its issues, but still worth seeing through. While the trip it takes to reach the emotional highs of the story's payoff is indefensibly turbulent, there's no denying that they are indeed dizzying.
  20. Aug 16, 2012
    50
    Papo & Yo's narrative ultimately succeeds thanks in large part to the finale's pitch-perfect crescendo. But the voyage fails in its most fundamental aspect - gameplay - and it is impossible to divorce the metaphor from the medium used to deliver it. No matter how well the ending pays off, it's not worth the investment you have to make to get there.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    I rated Papo & Yo an 8. It's a deeply personal narrative, charming setting, full of character, hampered only by it's technical issues. At justI rated Papo & Yo an 8. It's a deeply personal narrative, charming setting, full of character, hampered only by it's technical issues. At just a few hours long, I completed the game in one sitting, how I believe the game would be most enjoyed.
    It delves deeply into 'games as art', the narrative and story itself being at the forefront of the experience, if you're looking for a genuinely compelling tale then you should definitely check this title out.
    There are various technical issues I came across, including an unstable framerate, moderate screen tearing in places, 2 separate bugs that forced me to repeat a section in order to proceed, and other general 'jank'. If you're a person who can overlook such flaws and see the vision which the creator is trying to have us experience, then I implore you to buy this game.
    The story is poignant, the game is full of personal touches, and the soundtrack is simply outstanding.
    It's most certainly a flawed gem!
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Small snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn'tSmall snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn't just playing a game but experiencing a work of art. A lot of work, time, love and passion went into the game and it shows. I actually decided that Papo & Yo was a day one purchase for me when I read about the inspiration behind the games story. I too had to grow up dealing with an abusive alcoholic "Monster with a capital M for a reason" of my own. To say that I could relate would be an understatement. Having played the game now I'm glad I bought the game and I truly hope you will too. Papo & Yo is something you have to experience. You will not regret it, Minority Media has a hit on their hands and I for one am excited to see future games from them! Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    I gave the game a 9. While the gameplay style is specific towards people who enjoy the pure elements of a platformer, the playthrough isI gave the game a 9. While the gameplay style is specific towards people who enjoy the pure elements of a platformer, the playthrough is entirely unique. With elements that fit together perfectly and a style that is both original and entertaining, I was hooked on the game from the second I picked it up. I completely relate to that as a child (and am beginning to wonder if my childhood wasn't a clever platformer as well). The game incorporates beautiful aspects of imagination. You see Quico rearranging houses in a row so that he can cross the tops of them and reach the other side. Quico pulls a rope and houses move away to form alleyways. Quico uses the belly of Monster to leap to great heights and across gaps. These are all the elements of imagination that solidify the backstory and engage our inner child. Aside from the cohesiveness of the gameplay and backstory, I find that the visuals are engaging as well. Graffiti littering the walls, small houses, the tin roof, pipes and sewage, the smoothness of monster's skin, the children that Quico meets up with. Based on the visuals alone, I would not have expected this game to come from an indie developer such as Minority. There were many scenic vistas throughout the adventure, places where I wish I could stand myself. Once again, though, this reinforced the perspective that all of this was centered around the experience of a child, a child using his imagination and placing himself in awe-inspiring places.

    Gameplay was pure platforming. Some people enjoy objective-based platforming, where each of your challenges has a definitive purpose and meaning. "I pull the lever, which releases the doors and allows the scientists to escape from a room filled with toxic gas". That style of gameplay certainly requires a lot of effort, but it isn't necessary for a platformer. In some respects, having that platforming style limits the amount of adventure a story can have. You pull the switch because you have to, not because you are curious as to what it does. The platforming style in Papo y yo encourages the adventuristic style of play. There are tons of coves and places to hide along the way, tiny details that developers added into the game to make it more of an adventure and less of a maze. I found that highly inviting and was overwhelmed by the adventure of the game. I was deeply affected by that personally.

    Finally, the backstory was inspirational. I've never found a game with such a touching topic as this was. I first found out about the game by reading the Playstation blog. Picking through the article, I found an issue that is very close to myself, and I think it relates to a lot of people in the community. So many of us deal with issues when we are children, and this definitely brings up a lot of those emotions in us. This is probably the strongest aspect of the game. It was what originally made me interested in the game, and watching gameplay footage was what sold the deal.

    In all, I found a very cohesive game that was inspirational, deep, and enjoyable. I have found few games that touch me the way this game has, and I am blessed to have been able to enjoy in this experience, and I profusely thank Minority for creating this game.
    Full Review »