• Publisher: Minority
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    8.25 - A buggy and unpolished indie title, yet an incredibly memorable and immensely creative indie title.  Papo y Yo deals with serious and mature themes, yet deals with them in creative, original, and imagineative ways.  The story is heavy with metaphors, yet it maintains innocence in its character study.  The underlying puzzle elements are incredibly simplistic, so don't8.25 - A buggy and unpolished indie title, yet an incredibly memorable and immensely creative indie title.  Papo y Yo deals with serious and mature themes, yet deals with them in creative, original, and imagineative ways.  The story is heavy with metaphors, yet it maintains innocence in its character study.  The underlying puzzle elements are incredibly simplistic, so don't expect to be challenged.  What is neat, though, are the ways you manipulate the world around you to access areas to move forward in the adventure.  I was wowed multiple times while playing.  The creative design of the game is incredible.  The soundtrack is also beautiful, a combination of Latin beats and gorgeous guitars and flutes and cellos that adapts and changes as you progress throughout areas.  It is buggy though, so be forewarned.  I had to jump out of the game once or twice, and had to help the game along sometimes.  Despite its blatant stumbles, I really think papo y yo is an incredible indie title.  I love how it deals with the heavy themes not frequently explored in games, and uses both metaphor and imagery to show the affects of substance abuse.  It's edgy, profound, and wildly original, which is exactly what I love in my games.  This is also a very good introductory title to the world of video games, becuase of the fact that it deals with such releveant themes in such a simplistic and ingenious way, and the simplicty of the game itself; i could definitly see people who have never played games before playing papo y yo and realize how far the medium of the video game has come.  I wish the puzzles were more than simple chores and the game is missing a layer of polish, but Papo Y Yo is a genuine, one of a kind experience. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    You probably already know what the game is about, namely a serious problem named alcoholism and domestic violence. (This is not a spoiler because that's what you learn right at the beginning of the game.) Now add the fact it's not only theoretical, but based on the personal childhood experiences of the developer. Thus, the game is very touching and the issue is brought across very well,You probably already know what the game is about, namely a serious problem named alcoholism and domestic violence. (This is not a spoiler because that's what you learn right at the beginning of the game.) Now add the fact it's not only theoretical, but based on the personal childhood experiences of the developer. Thus, the game is very touching and the issue is brought across very well, but let's get to the more basic stuff first. The game looks and sounds very good and on top of it, both music and design are both unique and creative as far as games are concerned. Gameplay is simplistic but there's still a lot of variety in the mechanics and how they are being used in each area. Overall, the game is very calm and relaxing with a dreamlike atmosphere. The thing that stands out is the monster, but when you play the game, it turns out it's not THAT important to the gameplay. You will need to get it through a lot of areas, but not always is it the key to solve the puzzles, the environment is usually being used much more often. Now the most important aspect storywise IS the monster and here is, I think, were the game struggles. You never get to build a relationship with it and it never feels like it cares for you much one way or the other. It's but a mere gameplay aspect, a pet or pawn you lead around the levels when it's in "nice mode". In "rage mode", it's not really dangerous or fear inducing, it's just annoying. Sometimes, you even MUST get it into "rage mode" in order to proceed. Overall, this felt counterproductive to what at least I thought should've been an important aspect of the game, namely giving you insight into how it is to both fear and love someone. But even the scenes when dream and reality collide and you get to directly see the real meaning behind the symbolic dreamworld fail to give you any feeling or emotion towards that person. In the end, it's "just another" sad boy's sad backstory - not that there's anything wrong with it and it's touching, sure, but it's a lot of wasted potential. That aside, the game is really good, even if you're not that much into emotional, artsy stuff. The only real downside I could think of would be that the game is much too easy. The puzzles are mostly obvious and can be solved by simply exploring the areas. I'm undecided between 8 and 9 out of 10, but I'll give it the 9 regardless. Just feels right for the experience I had with it. I see technical issues being mentioned a lot, but I cannot confirm that. Other than one trophy not unlocking when it should have but only on the second attempt, I had no problems with this. Collapse
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent game about a child who retreats into his mind to save his sister from child abuse while trying to reconcile with his father. This game does well to capture the psychological aspect of one person's personal struggle with domestic violence. Although the game needs a little polishing, the puzzles and mechanics are fantastic. The world is unique and interesting, the characters areExcellent game about a child who retreats into his mind to save his sister from child abuse while trying to reconcile with his father. This game does well to capture the psychological aspect of one person's personal struggle with domestic violence. Although the game needs a little polishing, the puzzles and mechanics are fantastic. The world is unique and interesting, the characters are memorable, and the story is poignant. Think of Journey meets Psychonauts with a darker feeling. The music, though having little to do with the gameplay, is some of the best I've heard in a game. If you are expecting guns and mindless violence, look elsewhere, but if you want to play a game that will make you feel something, this game is certainly worth a good play-through. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    If you like narrative, low impact gaming in the likes of "Ico," "Journey," or "Heavy Rain," "Papo & Yo" is about as good as they come. However, don't expect a whole lot of... well, game. The puzzles are just enough to keep you interested in the beautiful world and allegorical tale of a son dealing with his father's addictions. There are some serious graphical hiccups, and the physicsIf you like narrative, low impact gaming in the likes of "Ico," "Journey," or "Heavy Rain," "Papo & Yo" is about as good as they come. However, don't expect a whole lot of... well, game. The puzzles are just enough to keep you interested in the beautiful world and allegorical tale of a son dealing with his father's addictions. There are some serious graphical hiccups, and the physics engine is extremely wonky. It kind of feels like a game that should've been in the PS2 era, instead of a PSN major release... which is both a good and bad thing. Games like this remind me that narrative can be strong enough to carry a simple game. Just... you know, don't expect 20 hours of intense play. "Papo & Yo" will be a love it or hate it game. I loved it, and the story is unforgettable, but I'll admit it's not as smooth a game as, say, "Journey." Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Impressive game. Great graphics. great sounds and awesome characters. IGN needs to stop being so harsh on small PSN titles. Seriously. Its great and the story is good. What do you expect from a small PSN title?
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    I rated Papo & Yo an 8. It's a deeply personal narrative, charming setting, full of character, hampered only by it's technical issues. At just a few hours long, I completed the game in one sitting, how I believe the game would be most enjoyed.
    It delves deeply into 'games as art', the narrative and story itself being at the forefront of the experience, if you're looking for a genuinely
    I rated Papo & Yo an 8. It's a deeply personal narrative, charming setting, full of character, hampered only by it's technical issues. At just a few hours long, I completed the game in one sitting, how I believe the game would be most enjoyed.
    It delves deeply into 'games as art', the narrative and story itself being at the forefront of the experience, if you're looking for a genuinely compelling tale then you should definitely check this title out.
    There are various technical issues I came across, including an unstable framerate, moderate screen tearing in places, 2 separate bugs that forced me to repeat a section in order to proceed, and other general 'jank'. If you're a person who can overlook such flaws and see the vision which the creator is trying to have us experience, then I implore you to buy this game.
    The story is poignant, the game is full of personal touches, and the soundtrack is simply outstanding.
    It's most certainly a flawed gem!
    Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    It is certainly an interesting game, not the best game you can get for $ 14.99. It's a fairly short game, the graphics are very poor like the sound of the game (No DTS or Dolby Digital sound). The game's music composed by Brian D'Oliveira's is excellent.
    I love that game developers try new things, I can
  8. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This game was amazing. Amazing visuals, puzzles, graphics, art-style, gameplay etc. I loved the look of Favela and the story and ending was so emotional, it's easily comparable to Journey.

    – Some maybe complain about some technical issues or what not, me personally, I did not experienced any at all. And for being a PSN game for less then $10, it's actually pretty long, took about 5-6h
    This game was amazing. Amazing visuals, puzzles, graphics, art-style, gameplay etc. I loved the look of Favela and the story and ending was so emotional, it's easily comparable to Journey.

    – Some maybe complain about some technical issues or what not, me personally, I did not experienced any at all. And for being a PSN game for less then $10, it's actually pretty long, took about 5-6h for me and a friend to finish it compare to many other PSN games is about 2-3h.

    – Side note; Thinking of that this is a game in a child's perspective how to live and grow up with a alcoholic/aggressive father "Monster". I think politics should play/watch this, and re-considering the use (and their own use) of Alcohol bc it should be labeled as a heavy drug bc of Alcohol is the biggest drug that often in the end leads to aggression, anger, drama etc. more then other drugs... which then affects others more then you self.
    Expand
  9. Aug 4, 2014
    6
    This game gets a perfect score of 6.Through your journey to enlightenment this beasts claws touches the spots of the heart out of reach of a human with normal brain capacity. It leaves my mind beating like a heart with bad news. Pure genius. Purchase two copies.
  10. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    I'm finding myself drawn more and more to the smaller PSN downloadables than the major market games lately. I enjoy both, but it seems like all the big games for nearly two years now have been sequels and lack an originality to them. They might have superior gameplay to the indie games, but they have a "been there done that," feel to them. Games like Braid, Limbo, Journey, etc. have aI'm finding myself drawn more and more to the smaller PSN downloadables than the major market games lately. I enjoy both, but it seems like all the big games for nearly two years now have been sequels and lack an originality to them. They might have superior gameplay to the indie games, but they have a "been there done that," feel to them. Games like Braid, Limbo, Journey, etc. have a uniqueness I find so refreshing. Yes this game is rough around the edges, but the narrative, musical score, and imagery (especially in the game's finale) are extremely powerful. If you've played any of the aforementioned games and enjoyed them, I'm positive you'll like Papo & Yo. However, if you're more into a polished game with replay value and an emphasis on button mashing, this might not be for you. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  11. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Papo & Yo will always hold a place in my heart as the first game to make me tear up. The whimsical, surreal world, and the music that compliments it, forms an intensely emotional experience that builds up to an unparalleled cathartic release. Puzzles and platforming aren't overly complex, but watching the world transform around you keeps the gameplay fresh. There are a few technicalPapo & Yo will always hold a place in my heart as the first game to make me tear up. The whimsical, surreal world, and the music that compliments it, forms an intensely emotional experience that builds up to an unparalleled cathartic release. Puzzles and platforming aren't overly complex, but watching the world transform around you keeps the gameplay fresh. There are a few technical issues, but they dwarf in comparison to the bigger picture. Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    I give it a 9. it's a great game IMO. I didn't have any glitches.
    once you figure out what it's about and then i just read part of the back story on kotaku....it gives you chills. it's a great game to finish in an afternoon & then replay to get all the hats. It's sad that this happened to them in real life, but then we wouldn't have gotten this great game.
  13. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    I bought Papo & Yo for my boys, aged 12 and 10 as they really liked the demo! I watched them play and thought I'd give the game a try myself, and I have to say it's very good, I just keep wanting to play the next area and can't put it down! A great purchase!
  14. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Papo and Yo is possibly the most critically underrated game of the generation. Some critics will tell you that the graphics are only average. That is frankly ludicrous- what are they comparing it to? The graphics are colourful, sharp and details such as the comforting, leathery, skin on the 'Monster' are very nicely done. Maybe what they mean by 'average' is that the choice of graphicalPapo and Yo is possibly the most critically underrated game of the generation. Some critics will tell you that the graphics are only average. That is frankly ludicrous- what are they comparing it to? The graphics are colourful, sharp and details such as the comforting, leathery, skin on the 'Monster' are very nicely done. Maybe what they mean by 'average' is that the choice of graphical style with its lens bloom effects, that kind of thing, reminds them of the last generation. But if it does what you have to bear in mind is that it would be at the very uppermost of last generation PC quality art design. They also say that there is screen tearing. Yes there is but I found it to be of no detriment at all- that kind of thing should not be regarded as a major issue in such personal, emotional, brilliantly realised games as this. If anything, it just adds to the surrealness, a reminder that the game has been crafted and is not meant to be perfectly formed. Expand
  15. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    You have a whole evening alone or with with someone you love? You could go to the movies, bowling, shopping or leisure you like. You're looking for an honest good time, for entertainment. That's where Papo & Yo comes in. A video game, sure, but it was not made only for gamers. Forget about about Fallout-style open worlds. The game is linear: it tells you right from the start with lines onYou have a whole evening alone or with with someone you love? You could go to the movies, bowling, shopping or leisure you like. You're looking for an honest good time, for entertainment. That's where Papo & Yo comes in. A video game, sure, but it was not made only for gamers. Forget about about Fallout-style open worlds. The game is linear: it tells you right from the start with lines on the ground. You then have to grasp the basic mechanics. The game is paced so you can go to sleep at ease. The story WILL be told. And you'll be the engine that drives it all, piecing together the path to the end of the dream. So go ahead! Don't think about Doom, Diablo, the Sims, Assassin's Creed and you'll be fine. You'll even feel fine. You might even shed a tear. Expand
  16. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    For a while I have been searching for a game that wasn't relative, bland, generic or a FPS and I have proudly found it! I have never smiled so much at a game in a long time. The characters have nice personalities, the world is beautiful to look at and the entire game has so much character to it.

    Everything feels alive, probably because in some strange way they are. The Puzzles are
    For a while I have been searching for a game that wasn't relative, bland, generic or a FPS and I have proudly found it! I have never smiled so much at a game in a long time. The characters have nice personalities, the world is beautiful to look at and the entire game has so much character to it.

    Everything feels alive, probably because in some strange way they are.

    The Puzzles are challenging but not to a point where you would need a hint, although the option is there if you need it.

    If you looking for something different and/or interesting check this game out

    9/10 - Missed out on a 10 because the jumping to a higher level can sometimes (but rarely) annoys me.
    Expand
  17. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Papo & Yo offers just about everything: A captivating story seldom (if ever) seen in video games, gameplay reminiscent of past favorites like Ico and Portal, absolutely beautiful environs, and incentive to play through much more than once. But allow me to put things into perspective. I'm not one who usually enjoys downloadable titles on the PlayStation Store, simply because they often lackPapo & Yo offers just about everything: A captivating story seldom (if ever) seen in video games, gameplay reminiscent of past favorites like Ico and Portal, absolutely beautiful environs, and incentive to play through much more than once. But allow me to put things into perspective. I'm not one who usually enjoys downloadable titles on the PlayStation Store, simply because they often lack what I want most in a game - replay value and longevity. Most would call it blasphemy but in this regard, I always found ThatGameCompany titles to disappoint. And while most lament ThatGameCompany's departure from PlayStation exclusivity, I'm sitting here playing Papo & Yo hoping that Minority Media is what's next for the PlayStation Network. Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    I gave the game a 9. While the gameplay style is specific towards people who enjoy the pure elements of a platformer, the playthrough is entirely unique. With elements that fit together perfectly and a style that is both original and entertaining, I was hooked on the game from the second I picked it up. I completely relate to that as a child (and am beginning to wonder if my childhoodI gave the game a 9. While the gameplay style is specific towards people who enjoy the pure elements of a platformer, the playthrough is entirely unique. With elements that fit together perfectly and a style that is both original and entertaining, I was hooked on the game from the second I picked it up. I completely relate to that as a child (and am beginning to wonder if my childhood wasn't a clever platformer as well). The game incorporates beautiful aspects of imagination. You see Quico rearranging houses in a row so that he can cross the tops of them and reach the other side. Quico pulls a rope and houses move away to form alleyways. Quico uses the belly of Monster to leap to great heights and across gaps. These are all the elements of imagination that solidify the backstory and engage our inner child. Aside from the cohesiveness of the gameplay and backstory, I find that the visuals are engaging as well. Graffiti littering the walls, small houses, the tin roof, pipes and sewage, the smoothness of monster's skin, the children that Quico meets up with. Based on the visuals alone, I would not have expected this game to come from an indie developer such as Minority. There were many scenic vistas throughout the adventure, places where I wish I could stand myself. Once again, though, this reinforced the perspective that all of this was centered around the experience of a child, a child using his imagination and placing himself in awe-inspiring places.

    Gameplay was pure platforming. Some people enjoy objective-based platforming, where each of your challenges has a definitive purpose and meaning. "I pull the lever, which releases the doors and allows the scientists to escape from a room filled with toxic gas". That style of gameplay certainly requires a lot of effort, but it isn't necessary for a platformer. In some respects, having that platforming style limits the amount of adventure a story can have. You pull the switch because you have to, not because you are curious as to what it does. The platforming style in Papo y yo encourages the adventuristic style of play. There are tons of coves and places to hide along the way, tiny details that developers added into the game to make it more of an adventure and less of a maze. I found that highly inviting and was overwhelmed by the adventure of the game. I was deeply affected by that personally.

    Finally, the backstory was inspirational. I've never found a game with such a touching topic as this was. I first found out about the game by reading the Playstation blog. Picking through the article, I found an issue that is very close to myself, and I think it relates to a lot of people in the community. So many of us deal with issues when we are children, and this definitely brings up a lot of those emotions in us. This is probably the strongest aspect of the game. It was what originally made me interested in the game, and watching gameplay footage was what sold the deal.

    In all, I found a very cohesive game that was inspirational, deep, and enjoyable. I have found few games that touch me the way this game has, and I am blessed to have been able to enjoy in this experience, and I profusely thank Minority for creating this game.
    Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Short & Sweet : Tired of the typical run and gun COD game? Looking for something with more emotional depth than your average puzzle platformer? Me too. That's where unique games like Papo and Yo fit into the picture. It's a beautiful game that touches on serious subjects in a very creative way. Without spoiling too much, I can say that the game succeeds in it's aims at touching theShort & Sweet : Tired of the typical run and gun COD game? Looking for something with more emotional depth than your average puzzle platformer? Me too. That's where unique games like Papo and Yo fit into the picture. It's a beautiful game that touches on serious subjects in a very creative way. Without spoiling too much, I can say that the game succeeds in it's aims at touching the player on an emotional level, while also engaging them to explore a dream-like world through the cleverly used mechanics of a child's games. This is a one of a kind experience. I hope you'll give it a try. Expand
  20. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Small snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn't just playing a game but experiencing a work of art. A lot of work, time, love and passion went into the game and it shows. I actually decided that Papo & Yo was a day one purchase for me when I read about the inspiration behind the games story. I tooSmall snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn't just playing a game but experiencing a work of art. A lot of work, time, love and passion went into the game and it shows. I actually decided that Papo & Yo was a day one purchase for me when I read about the inspiration behind the games story. I too had to grow up dealing with an abusive alcoholic "Monster with a capital M for a reason" of my own. To say that I could relate would be an understatement. Having played the game now I'm glad I bought the game and I truly hope you will too. Papo & Yo is something you have to experience. You will not regret it, Minority Media has a hit on their hands and I for one am excited to see future games from them! Expand
  21. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Papo & Yo is a magical game to say the least. You play as Quico, a boy who enters a mysterious world, and you're greeted by an even more mysterious girl. The girl will seem like a guide, or a clever tutorial for the game, but she becomes so much more in the later parts. Quico has a little robot friend named Lula, who hangs out on your back, and can help you jump across large gaps, or fly to objects that you could not reach. Then there is Monster. Monster is a large, well, monster. Monster will follow you around, and he'll help you you get to objects, step on switches, etc. Monster loves coconuts, and you can use coconuts to your advantage to reach your goal. If you pick up a coconut, Monster will follow you to get it. This is a great way to lead Monster to a switch to stand on. If Monster eats too many coconuts, he'll go to one of his resting spots, and fall asleep. When Monster is asleep, Quico can use Monster's belly to jump to higher areas, and unlock a switch, or pull a lever, etc. Monster is addicted to frogs, and if he is able to get one to eat, he'll become a real monster. After eating a frog, Monster will become enraged, and start attacking Quico. Quico must find a blueberry (that's what it looked like to me anyway), and feed it to Monster, so that way Monster will pass out, and be normal again after waking up. You'll soon find out that the plot of Papo & Yo is to get Monster to a Shaman, and help cure Monster's addiction to the frogs. Mechanically speaking, Papo & Yo is a very solid puzzle-platformer. Most of the puzzles will involve Quico turning keys, pulling levers, and so on. The really cool puzzles involve picking up boxes, or pulling a chalk-like string. The boxes represent houses in the world, and when you pick up a box, you'll also be lifting a house. You'll use the houses to help you get across large gaps, that Lula couldn't even boost you across. As for the string puzzles, I'll let you guys see those for yourself. The platforming is very standard, with having you jump on blocks, and running across floating objects in the world. The main problem I ran into while playing Papo & Yo would have to be getting hung up on the environment . I didn't run into this issue often, but it was there enough to make you notice. Papo & Yo is one of the finest games available right now on the PlayStation Store. The story is well done, and has a very deep meaning to it. The world is beautiful to look at, and there is some breathtaking graffiti to see throughout the game. If you're looking for a game that feels original, and has great story telling, I can't recommend Papo & Yo enough. Expand
  22. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    "Papo & Yo" is AMAZING!

    The gameplay, the puzzles, the story, and specialy the beautiful grafittis and soundtrack.

    THANK YOU, Vander Caballero and Minority Media Inc., for this unforgettable and unique vision.

    From a Brazilian gamer,
    Felipe Trindade Costa.
  23. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    When I first took control of the young protagonist, Quicko, I couldn't wait to begin my adventure in the colorful and graffiti-filled shantytowns of Brazil. While I must admit, the vast majority of the puzzles in the game will not require much thought or stir up much frustration, I think that's one of the games main highlights. I think that the relative ease of the game causes you to focusWhen I first took control of the young protagonist, Quicko, I couldn't wait to begin my adventure in the colorful and graffiti-filled shantytowns of Brazil. While I must admit, the vast majority of the puzzles in the game will not require much thought or stir up much frustration, I think that's one of the games main highlights. I think that the relative ease of the game causes you to focus more on the games central purpose, that is, the story and the relation between the young boy and Monster.

    As many of you are probably aware, the poisonous frogs that Monster is addicted to are actually a metaphor for the Creator of the game's father who was an alcoholic. It's your job as Quicko to help tame Monster when he does eat these frogs by quickly finding a fruit to temporarily heal him of his rage-like behavior. I felt that this story was incredibly moving, and I applaud the games creator Vander Caballero for telling such a personal story through this 3-4 hour puzzle adventure.

    I was able to complete the game in one sitting, and I think that's really how the games meant to be played. It's really as if you're in a movie, interacting with the environments, in order to progress through the film. You'll constantly be solving a series of puzzles in order to guide Monster to the Shaman (The Shaman being the person who's supposedly able to cure Monster of his Poisonous Frog-eating addiction).

    The game's closing scenes nearly brought tears to my eyes, and I just sat in absolute awe as the credits rolled. I had just completed one of the most unique, story-driven puzzle/adventure games I'd ever played. While yes, the game isn't incredibly challenging, and no, the games character models are no better than something you would expect from a late PS2 era game, but I think the wonderful music, graffiti-filled environments, unique puzzle's, and compelling metaphorical story telling more than compensate for the few grievances I have for the game. Papo and Yo will without a doubt be one of the most memorable games I'll play not only this year, but also probably this generation.
    Expand
  24. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Papo & Yo is a fantastic work of art and a masterpiece for the video game medium. With a deep and personal narrative, charming settings with great visuals and excellent characters, it aims high and hits the mark. Sure there are some technical issues with animations and slow-down, but they do little to hinder the experience. You can find a more fleshed out review by me over here:Papo & Yo is a fantastic work of art and a masterpiece for the video game medium. With a deep and personal narrative, charming settings with great visuals and excellent characters, it aims high and hits the mark. Sure there are some technical issues with animations and slow-down, but they do little to hinder the experience. You can find a more fleshed out review by me over here: http://clgamer.com/2012/08/review-papo-yo-playstation-3/ Expand
  25. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I rated this game a 9 because it was one of the more emotionally engaging games I have played in my life. This is not your average game full of high action (although there's some of that), but rather a game that has a distinctive and deep feeling that I connected with almost immediately once I started playing. Playing it truly gave me some of the same feelings I remember having towards theI rated this game a 9 because it was one of the more emotionally engaging games I have played in my life. This is not your average game full of high action (although there's some of that), but rather a game that has a distinctive and deep feeling that I connected with almost immediately once I started playing. Playing it truly gave me some of the same feelings I remember having towards the world as a child, and that in itself was enough for me to give it an 8. However, I gave it a 9, because at one turning point in the story, I was so emotionally connected to the characters that I almost began to cry (which is interesting since there is not really a lot of "serious" character development....there's just an emotionally real element which is not present in many games). I played this game all the way through the first night it was out and I found it be beautiful, childlike and magical, with a side of raw emotion, which is what really makes it special. I sincerely hope there will be more games of this nature in the future. PS - The art and music in this are also awesome! Expand
  26. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    This game was great. A great story told perfectly through gaming. Fresh new mechanics, fantastic environment, music and sound, an all around good experience.
    I dont know what was up with that IGN review, but this clearly deserves much more than 4, and, yes maybe a little bit short, but that's it. I only experienced a bug once by falling through the world, and the chapters are really not
    This game was great. A great story told perfectly through gaming. Fresh new mechanics, fantastic environment, music and sound, an all around good experience.
    I dont know what was up with that IGN review, but this clearly deserves much more than 4, and, yes maybe a little bit short, but that's it. I only experienced a bug once by falling through the world, and the chapters are really not that long, so restarting isn't a big deal.
    But you know, I also fell through the world in Assassin's Creed 2, and that game was made by a team of over 200 people, so cut the little guys some slack.

    If, you have a PS3, try out this game.
    Expand
  27. Aug 18, 2012
    5
    It is a great game. If you have some spare time and don't know what to do, then Papo & Yo will perfectly fill the gap between afternoon and evening. Some fresh mechanics will bring a smile to your face, unique narrative provides nostalgia and your childhood memories with childish fantasy comes back immediately. From time to time, outstanding acoustic music is so perfect, that you just sitIt is a great game. If you have some spare time and don't know what to do, then Papo & Yo will perfectly fill the gap between afternoon and evening. Some fresh mechanics will bring a smile to your face, unique narrative provides nostalgia and your childhood memories with childish fantasy comes back immediately. From time to time, outstanding acoustic music is so perfect, that you just sit and listen to it very, very loud. It really is a great peace of work... but definitely it is not a good puzzle game. It's more like a mixture of platform and simple logic games. Unfortunately, you don't even have to think. Everything is clear just after you enter the new level. That's why I rated Papo & Yo 5. It has very good narrative, music and story, but, in terms of a GAME itself, it really lacks very, very much. Expand
  28. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This game could present some bugs. This game could start slow.
    But this game perfectly manage to tell a deep story, with a perfect pace.
    The game design around it could be described as "incredibly creative". It is true that game mechanics don't change that much, but every time the reaction to this mechanics is different. Sometimes pulling a switch will trigger a scenery change,
    This game could present some bugs. This game could start slow.
    But this game perfectly manage to tell a deep story, with a perfect pace.

    The game design around it could be described as "incredibly creative". It is true that game mechanics don't change that much, but every time the reaction to this mechanics is different.
    Sometimes pulling a switch will trigger a scenery change, sometimes it will make an house fly.
    The level design is just amazing.

    The art direction, as the music, is perfect. The graphics are great and the visual style is amazing. Also, the game contains some of the best acoustic musics of the year.

    One last thing: the ending. The game should be played just for it.
    Thanks Minority, for this little gem!
    Expand
  29. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Papo & Yo belongs in the company of Playstation classics such as Journey, Flower, Ico, and Shadow of the Colossus because it pushes the video game art form forward. Not only does it tackle an extremely sensitive topic most game companies wouldn't touch, but it does so in such a heartwarming, and later, heartcrushing way. Everything about this game - its setting, characters, story - is aPapo & Yo belongs in the company of Playstation classics such as Journey, Flower, Ico, and Shadow of the Colossus because it pushes the video game art form forward. Not only does it tackle an extremely sensitive topic most game companies wouldn't touch, but it does so in such a heartwarming, and later, heartcrushing way. Everything about this game - its setting, characters, story - is a stark departure from what gamers are used to seeing. And that's a great thing!

    The puzzles scattered throughout the game bring an imaginative whimsy to the Brazilian favela Quico and his friends run around in. The music adds an acoustic layer to an already charming game - I just wish there was more of it! Without spoiling it, Papo & Yo's ending is one of the most heartcrushing endings in the history of video games and you will regret missing out on it. The entire last fourth of the game is a rollercoaster of emotion and fantasy that is like no other video game before it.

    While the deeply personal story may not be for everyone, it is without question a game that needs to be experienced by all gamers because it will change the way you think about games.
    Expand
  30. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    I was taken completely by suprise by an innocently presented game tonight; "Papa & Yo" is a simple and beautifully designed puzzle platformer where you play the role of a child who must navigate thoughtful shape-shifting landscapes that closely mirror the real world, whilst guiding 'Monster' through to a shaman who can produce a cure for his terrible temper...

    Later on the game
    I was taken completely by suprise by an innocently presented game tonight; "Papa & Yo" is a simple and beautifully designed puzzle platformer where you play the role of a child who must navigate thoughtful shape-shifting landscapes that closely mirror the real world, whilst guiding 'Monster' through to a shaman who can produce a cure for his terrible temper...

    Later on the game reveals its true nature, telling a story that will cut deep to the core of many a player. This is not a kids game.

    Thoroughly impressed with this effort, and truly grateful for the experience. I highly recommend you play it to it's conclusion, which should only take you around 3.5 hours if you're taking your time.
    Expand
  31. Aug 30, 2012
    0
    You probably already know what the game is about, namely a serious problem named alcoholism and domestic violence. (This is not a spoiler because that's what you learn right at the beginning of the game.) Now add the fact it's not only theoretical, but based on the personal childhood experiences of the developer. Thus, the game is very touching and the issue is brought across very well,You probably already know what the game is about, namely a serious problem named alcoholism and domestic violence. (This is not a spoiler because that's what you learn right at the beginning of the game.) Now add the fact it's not only theoretical, but based on the personal childhood experiences of the developer. Thus, the game is very touching and the issue is brought across very well, but let's get to the more basic stuff first. The game looks and sounds very good and on top of it, both music and design are both unique and creative as far as games are concerned. Gameplay is simplistic but there's still a lot of variety in the mechanics and how they are being used in each area. Overall, the game is very calm and relaxing with a dreamlike atmosphere. The thing that stands out is the monster, but when you play the game, it turns out it's not THAT important to the gameplay. You will need to get it through a lot of areas, but not always is it the key to solve the puzzles, the environment is usually being used much more often. Now the most important aspect storywise IS the monster and here is, I think, were the game struggles. You never get to build a relationship with it and it never feels like it cares for you much one way or the other. It's but a mere gameplay aspect, a pet or pawn you lead around the levels when it's in "nice mode". In "rage mode", it's not really dangerous or fear inducing, it's just annoying. Sometimes, you even MUST get it into "rage mode" in order to proceed. Overall, this felt counterproductive to what at least I thought should've been an important aspect of the game, namely giving you insight into how it is to both fear and love someone. But even the scenes when dream and reality collide and you get to directly see the real meaning behind the symbolic dreamworld fail to give you any feeling or emotion towards that person. In the end, it's "just another" sad boy's sad backstory - not that there's anything wrong with it and it's touching, sure, but it's a lot of wasted potential. That aside, the game is really good, even if you're not that much into emotional, artsy stuff. The only real downside I could think of would be that the game is much too easy. The puzzles are mostly obvious and can be solved by simply exploring the areas. I'm undecided between 8 and 9 out of 10, but I'll give it the 9 regardless. Just feels right for the experience I had with it. I see technical issues being mentioned a lot, but I cannot confirm that. Other than one trophy not unlocking when it should have but only on the second attempt, I had no problems with this. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    Hypnotically old stuff. [Dec 2012, p.85]
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    80
    It's hard going, but worth the slog. [Nov 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    The gameplay halfway between platforming and puzzle-game works and is fun although it's a bit 'limited as varieties and situations, but in the end the relationship between Chico and Monster makes Papo & Yo a very good game and the finale is worth the entire game.