• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Papo & Yo will take players on an emotional journey that explores the relationship between a boy and his sometimes-scary best friend. As players progress, Monster will react differently to their actions based on his current desires. If Monster is in a good mood, he will play with Quico and help with tasks; if Monster is hungry, he will seek out food; if that food happens to be a poisonous frog, he’ll transform into a terrifying killing machine bent on nothing but destruction. Players will need to learn to use Monster’s emotions, both good and bad, to their advantage if they want to complete their search for a cure and save their pal. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Despite its brief tenure(less than four hours)and light mechanics, it's one of the most powerful and impactful games we've every played. [Oct 2012, p.82]
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    85
    The actual gameplay feels quite disparate from the story and Quico's journey, unfortunately. The jumping, climbing and head-scratching never seem tied to the greater challenge of dealing with the addiction of a loved one. Though they are disconnected, the actual puzzles are still inventive and add to the experience, but the platforming elements can be weak.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    84
    It's an experience that can penetrate even the thickest of skin, and it will make you feel something. What that is, I can't exactly say, but this is an emotional journey you won't soon forget. It's a short journey, but it's packed densely enough with cool stuff to see and do that I would enthusiastically encourage you to pay the fifteen-dollar asking price.
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    76
    A deeply personal story created with love and imagination. [Nov 2012, p.105]
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Despite a few rough edges, this surreal platforming adventure is a heartfelt, emotional experience that's well worth your time.
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    70
    A few rough edges don't detract from an adventure that is as emotional as it is brain teasing, and is worth experiencing whether or not you can relate to the subject matter.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    The on-paper premise of a traumatic childhood brought to life as a playable short story is brilliant, but the wounded execution can't quite sell the emotional expression. Papo & Yo bookends a technically disastrous and wholly uninteresting adventure game with brief moments of emotional resonance.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Small snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn't just playing a game but experiencing a work of art. A lot of work, time, love and passion went into the game and it shows. I actually decided that Papo & Yo was a day one purchase for me when I read about the inspiration behind the games story. I too had to grow up dealing with an abusive alcoholic "Monster with a capital M for a reason" of my own. To say that I could relate would be an understatement. Having played the game now I'm glad I bought the game and I truly hope you will too. Papo & Yo is something you have to experience. You will not regret it, Minority Media has a hit on their hands and I for one am excited to see future games from them! Collapse
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This game could present some bugs. This game could start slow.
    But this game perfectly manage to tell a deep story, with a perfect pace.


    The game design around it could be described as "incredibly creative". It is true that game mechanics don't change that much, but every time the reaction to this mechanics is different.
    Sometimes pulling a switch will trigger a scenery change, sometimes it will make an house fly.
    The level design is just amazing.

    The art direction, as the music, is perfect. The graphics are great and the visual style is amazing. Also, the game contains some of the best acoustic musics of the year.

    One last thing: the ending. The game should be played just for it.
    Thanks Minority, for this little gem!
    Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Papo & Yo offers just about everything: A captivating story seldom (if ever) seen in video games, gameplay reminiscent of past favorites like Ico and Portal, absolutely beautiful environs, and incentive to play through much more than once. But allow me to put things into perspective. I'm not one who usually enjoys downloadable titles on the PlayStation Store, simply because they often lack what I want most in a game - replay value and longevity. Most would call it blasphemy but in this regard, I always found ThatGameCompany titles to disappoint. And while most lament ThatGameCompany's departure from PlayStation exclusivity, I'm sitting here playing Papo & Yo hoping that Minority Media is what's next for the PlayStation Network. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    I give it a 9. it's a great game IMO. I didn't have any glitches.
    once you figure out what it's about and then i just read part of the back
    story on kotaku....it gives you chills. it's a great game to finish in an afternoon & then replay to get all the hats. It's sad that this happened to them in real life, but then we wouldn't have gotten this great game. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    You have a whole evening alone or with with someone you love? You could go to the movies, bowling, shopping or leisure you like. You're looking for an honest good time, for entertainment. That's where Papo & Yo comes in. A video game, sure, but it was not made only for gamers. Forget about about Fallout-style open worlds. The game is linear: it tells you right from the start with lines on the ground. You then have to grasp the basic mechanics. The game is paced so you can go to sleep at ease. The story WILL be told. And you'll be the engine that drives it all, piecing together the path to the end of the dream. So go ahead! Don't think about Doom, Diablo, the Sims, Assassin's Creed and you'll be fine. You'll even feel fine. You might even shed a tear. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    I was taken completely by suprise by an innocently presented game tonight; "Papa & Yo" is a simple and beautifully designed puzzle platformer where you play the role of a child who must navigate thoughtful shape-shifting landscapes that closely mirror the real world, whilst guiding 'Monster' through to a shaman who can produce a cure for his terrible temper...

    Later on the game reveals its true nature, telling a story that will cut deep to the core of many a player. This is not a kids game.

    Thoroughly impressed with this effort, and truly grateful for the experience. I highly recommend you play it to it's conclusion, which should only take you around 3.5 hours if you're taking your time.
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2012
    5
    It is a great game. If you have some spare time and don't know what to do, then Papo & Yo will perfectly fill the gap between afternoon and evening. Some fresh mechanics will bring a smile to your face, unique narrative provides nostalgia and your childhood memories with childish fantasy comes back immediately. From time to time, outstanding acoustic music is so perfect, that you just sit and listen to it very, very loud. It really is a great peace of work... but definitely it is not a good puzzle game. It's more like a mixture of platform and simple logic games. Unfortunately, you don't even have to think. Everything is clear just after you enter the new level. That's why I rated Papo & Yo 5. It has very good narrative, music and story, but, in terms of a GAME itself, it really lacks very, very much. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews