Payday 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 180
  2. Negative: 57 out of 180
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2015
    0
    horrible disgrace of a game its still broken how many years later. this game was nothing but a cash grab from greedy developers. you constantly disconnect and the one patch they did give took one year! YES ONE WHOLE YEAR!!
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    1
    Make no mistake, this is a multiplayer game. Playing it offline without an internet connection is next to impossible due to the bafflingly stupid AI. Add PS2-level graphics, slow loading times, texture pop-in issues and you will see why this isn't worth your time.
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    Way overhyped. This game is getting so much attention because no other game has done this yet (and so many want it) I feel like i'm playing a very early unfinished product. The AI is bad (and so bad that NOTHING compares to it) Better off not even calling it AI. You'll be in firefight and your AI friends will just stand in the middle of the street. Funny if it wasn't so sad. TheWay overhyped. This game is getting so much attention because no other game has done this yet (and so many want it) I feel like i'm playing a very early unfinished product. The AI is bad (and so bad that NOTHING compares to it) Better off not even calling it AI. You'll be in firefight and your AI friends will just stand in the middle of the street. Funny if it wasn't so sad. The cops..lol. You'll see them running..then disappear and reappear in different location. Love the soundtrack, style, and concept. I hope they rake in enough to actually make a decent game that is more playable online (better matchmaking) and fun offline splitscreen. If you disagree with this then you are wrong. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    4
    This game isn't bad. It's very fun and challenging at times. However, the fact that I cannot get into a match AT ALL and the fact that there is no split screen co-op is ridiculous. This is the perfect game to have split screen co-op, but they completely neglected that. Perhaps they'll release an expansion or something, but until then, I won't be playing too much. The AI is so freakingThis game isn't bad. It's very fun and challenging at times. However, the fact that I cannot get into a match AT ALL and the fact that there is no split screen co-op is ridiculous. This is the perfect game to have split screen co-op, but they completely neglected that. Perhaps they'll release an expansion or something, but until then, I won't be playing too much. The AI is so freaking stupid. If you play by yourself, expect to die alot. The AI cannot understand simple tasks like carrying bags or anything of that nature. The majority of the time they just stand there. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    4
    giving a 4, now if they fix the bugs that me and others are having I would give it an 8 but since I and others can't play co op on what is pretty much a 4 player co op game it is pretty much a waste of money. I have had the game for three days and have gotten into 3 matches 1 the the host was afk and never started so in three days I have played 2 matches. some people are not getting thisgiving a 4, now if they fix the bugs that me and others are having I would give it an 8 but since I and others can't play co op on what is pretty much a 4 player co op game it is pretty much a waste of money. I have had the game for three days and have gotten into 3 matches 1 the the host was afk and never started so in three days I have played 2 matches. some people are not getting this bug but some are if you do get the game best of luck and hope the fix it soon Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    2
    Is this game made by EA!? The public match making is broke so you can't join into random groups and good luck going solo the bots are useless and graphics are below average. Doesn't any one check their product before they release it?
  7. Oct 18, 2015
    0
    They added microtransactions to buy weapon skins with stat bonuses on them on top of the $200 worth of dlc. And they're liars.

    "We've made it clear that Payday 2 will have no microtransactions whatsoever (shame on you if you thought otherwise!)"
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    3
    I downloaded the game when it came up on PlayStation plus as I liked the sound of it. After playing through the first couple of missions I'm amazed that there are so many positive reviews. When compared to the standard of games graphically and gameplay wise it feels like it was built for ps2. Just so bad. Frustrating gameplay. AI of team members and cops is shocking. No incentive to pushI downloaded the game when it came up on PlayStation plus as I liked the sound of it. After playing through the first couple of missions I'm amazed that there are so many positive reviews. When compared to the standard of games graphically and gameplay wise it feels like it was built for ps2. Just so bad. Frustrating gameplay. AI of team members and cops is shocking. No incentive to push on with it. Deleted it from the system already. Very poor. Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    Unbelieveable. I've never played a Payday game until now, and I've downloaded the demo just to see if it's worth. I love robbery/heist games but this game is some sort of Left 4 Dead with even more ridiculous stuff.
    The frame rate is terrible, and when someone connects to your game; you just wait him for like a minute. How does that makes sense, seriously.
  10. Nov 13, 2015
    0
    "We've made it clear that PAYDAY 2 will have no micro-transactions whatsoever (shame on you if you thought otherwise!)"

    Well, who is to be ashamed now?
  11. Jan 2, 2016
    2
    I was interested in the premise of a heisting game because I hoped that the game would provide opportunities for tactical/stealth gameplay. When I got the game with PS plus and checked it out though, I was very disappointed to find a rather uninspired zombie survival-like shooter where the gameplay is in essence just waiting for a specific amount of time and shooting wave after wave ofI was interested in the premise of a heisting game because I hoped that the game would provide opportunities for tactical/stealth gameplay. When I got the game with PS plus and checked it out though, I was very disappointed to find a rather uninspired zombie survival-like shooter where the gameplay is in essence just waiting for a specific amount of time and shooting wave after wave of cops. Worse yet, the gunplay feels really crappy to me and the level system is very arduous. The developer support also is a big fat con. They pretty much abandoned the Old-Gen Console Versions of the game a long time ago. When they did Update the game they didn't really fix any of the issues that had been plaguing the game but rather removed the exploits the community found which circumvent the flawed Gameplay Systems, such as the Rats Job exp grinding method. Shutting this down was the wrong choice of action imo because the actual underlying problem was that the level system is **** (still is, btw). To me that's just a kind of autoritarian, inflexible style of managing your community and I really hate that. Another con for me too is that the game practically does not support solo play. Granted, some of the heists are doable solo, utilising the (also crappy) stealth mechanics, but especially in heists where you have to drill through some safes or something the AI companions are pretty much useless, and you can't withstand the police onslought alone. They are somewhat a helping hand in combat, but they generally do nothing whatsoever to complete the objective. So if you say, try to solo a bank heist, you have to set up, restart drills, carry around bags of loot, break open locker doors all by yourself. Not only is this tedious, but because this will probably take you about 20 minutes, it is hardly doable and especially so if you are low-level and have any good equipment and skills at all. It can be fun though if you play in coop, but if you are looking for a good coop (shooter) experience, there are much better options. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Oct 1, 2013
    75
    Payday 2 plays differently each time you boot it up. Nothing ever goes the way you planned, but that does not mean it does not feel the same each and every time. Despite its repetitive ways, this second payday feels more streamlined and fun than the first one. [October 2013 p.95]
  2. Play UK
    Sep 25, 2013
    79
    Worthless solo but superb as an online game. [Issue#235, p.83]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    80
    Coupled with a stronger focus on the sound and feel of gunplay, gamers are granted the chance to pull off memorable robberies worthy of Ocean’s Eleven, with shoot-outs as intense as Three Kings, unfortunately minus the Clooney. [October 2013, p82]