User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 137
  2. Negative: 30 out of 137

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    Way overhyped. This game is getting so much attention because no other game has done this yet (and so many want it) I feel like i'm playing a very early unfinished product. The AI is bad (and so bad that NOTHING compares to it) Better off not even calling it AI. You'll be in firefight and your AI friends will just stand in the middle of the street. Funny if it wasn't so sad. The cops..lol. You'll see them running..then disappear and reappear in different location. Love the soundtrack, style, and concept. I hope they rake in enough to actually make a decent game that is more playable online (better matchmaking) and fun offline splitscreen. If you disagree with this then you are wrong. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    2
    Is this game made by EA!? The public match making is broke so you can't join into random groups and good luck going solo the bots are useless and graphics are below average. Doesn't any one check their product before they release it?
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    4
    This game isn't bad. It's very fun and challenging at times. However, the fact that I cannot get into a match AT ALL and the fact that there is no split screen co-op is ridiculous. This is the perfect game to have split screen co-op, but they completely neglected that. Perhaps they'll release an expansion or something, but until then, I won't be playing too much. The AI is so freaking stupid. If you play by yourself, expect to die alot. The AI cannot understand simple tasks like carrying bags or anything of that nature. The majority of the time they just stand there. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2013
    1
    Make no mistake, this is a multiplayer game. Playing it offline without an internet connection is next to impossible due to the bafflingly stupid AI. Add PS2-level graphics, slow loading times, texture pop-in issues and you will see why this isn't worth your time.
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    4
    giving a 4, now if they fix the bugs that me and others are having I would give it an 8 but since I and others can't play co op on what is pretty much a 4 player co op game it is pretty much a waste of money. I have had the game for three days and have gotten into 3 matches 1 the the host was afk and never started so in three days I have played 2 matches. some people are not getting this bug but some are if you do get the game best of luck and hope the fix it soon Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    3
    I downloaded the game when it came up on PlayStation plus as I liked the sound of it. After playing through the first couple of missions I'm amazed that there are so many positive reviews. When compared to the standard of games graphically and gameplay wise it feels like it was built for ps2. Just so bad. Frustrating gameplay. AI of team members and cops is shocking. No incentive to push on with it. Deleted it from the system already. Very poor. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    Unbelieveable. I've never played a Payday game until now, and I've downloaded the demo just to see if it's worth. I love robbery/heist games but this game is some sort of Left 4 Dead with even more ridiculous stuff.
    The frame rate is terrible, and when someone connects to your game; you just wait him for like a minute. How does that makes sense, seriously.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Payday 2 plays differently each time you boot it up. Nothing ever goes the way you planned, but that does not mean it does not feel the same each and every time. Despite its repetitive ways, this second payday feels more streamlined and fun than the first one. [October 2013 p.95]
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    79
    Worthless solo but superb as an online game. [Issue#235, p.83]
  3. Coupled with a stronger focus on the sound and feel of gunplay, gamers are granted the chance to pull off memorable robberies worthy of Ocean’s Eleven, with shoot-outs as intense as Three Kings, unfortunately minus the Clooney. [October 2013, p82]