Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime spree. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-timePAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime spree. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that major PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    83
    Pulling off a frictionless heist is the exception to the rule in Payday 2, but the tension is still palpable as you try to orchestrate a robbery without getting caught, and the adrenaline flows steadily as you inevitably repel the barrage of police waves while trying to make your getaway. The overly expensive upgrade system and lackluster AI could use some work, but the minute-to-minute action is thrilling enough to overcome these complaints.
  2. 80
    Payday 2 is a step in the right direction for co-op action still throttled by lame single-player and an annoying unlock system.
  3. Coupled with a stronger focus on the sound and feel of gunplay, gamers are granted the chance to pull off memorable robberies worthy of Ocean’s Eleven, with shoot-outs as intense as Three Kings, unfortunately minus the Clooney. [October 2013, p82]
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    A far less significant improvement on the original than many will have hoped for, but still an enjoyable co-op shooter with a largely unique setting.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    Payday 2 brings crime to life with an alluring intensity that entertains in spite of some rough edges.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    70
    If you have a friends list full of like-minded and degenerate buddies, you really can’t beat the co-op experience for the price. But, by yourself, if you think you are going to be able to accomplish anything within this game beyond the simplest of heists, you’ve got another thing coming.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    58
    Payday 2 is a game that I really enjoy when it’s working right, which is definitely more often than not at this point.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I really like this game. It has nice mechanics, sweet gameplay, and a pretty freaking cool soundtrack if you like techno. People complainI really like this game. It has nice mechanics, sweet gameplay, and a pretty freaking cool soundtrack if you like techno. People complain about stealth in this game, but whilst stealth IS an option in many jobs, it's not heavily relied on by ANYONE. Even the people who complain about stealth being buggy don't rely on stealth I can almost promise you that. The game gets tense when it comes down to waiting for escape or a drill to open a door/safe and includes many tactics you'd think of if you were to pull off these jobs. For instance taking hostages and trading them for team mates who were taken into custody. I recommend it for anyone who likes games about teamwork and had a few friends to play it with. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2015
    10
    Lovely game with a splending community!

    The guys back at Starbreeze and Overkill are really helpful! Had a great time playing it with my
    Lovely game with a splending community!

    The guys back at Starbreeze and Overkill are really helpful!

    Had a great time playing it with my friends! ~d[O.o]b~
    Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Crazy cool game!! Game sounds crazy good and the rattle of a rifle when the robbery goes to hell makes me feel like I was in the final sceneCrazy cool game!! Game sounds crazy good and the rattle of a rifle when the robbery goes to hell makes me feel like I was in the final scene in the movie Heat. Buy it and discover just how fantastic a video game can be. Collapse
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    I know people complain about the online and the useless AI but I have to say, for the price the game is addicting. My AI does kill but it'sI know people complain about the online and the useless AI but I have to say, for the price the game is addicting. My AI does kill but it's unfortunate you cant order them to carry bag's or order them at all. I dont like the fact that upgrades and skills have a cost to them along with skill points only because the weapon MOD's are very expensive. I do wish it didnt take so many bullets to take down the cops but no game like it out and addicting as all hell. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    Disappointing is the word for this game. The graphics weren't really improved from the first at all and the gameplay is the same which youDisappointing is the word for this game. The graphics weren't really improved from the first at all and the gameplay is the same which you know, isn't a bad thing until you discover the missions are exactly the same ideas as the first. The game has an extremely poor matchmaking system and becomes very hard to find decent games. Playing with a friend or solo, the game is really fun for about a week at max but then it's a complete bore. don't recommend if you have Payday 1. The game is like a large DLC. Expand
  6. May 11, 2014
    5
    There's a great idea at the core of the game. Pulling off a heist and holding off the cops with your buddies in a video game sounds great, butThere's a great idea at the core of the game. Pulling off a heist and holding off the cops with your buddies in a video game sounds great, but unfortunately the game is a disappointment. With it's dated graphics, simple AI, and lackluster shooting, the whole experience feels subpar.

    There's a certain level of brainless fun to be had here. There's a certain thrill to pulling off a successful heist and pulling in the money with others, and the game's best moments are when you are looting stores or loading up acquired cash in the back of a van while dodging gunfire, but ultimately it's the stuff between these sections that bring the game down. The moments when you're waiting to do something like drill into a safe or wait for your ride are overly long and are basically just you and your buddies fending off wave after wave of dull enemies. These waits make up the majority of the experience and just aren't much fun at all.

    Allow me make something abundantly clear, this is not one you want to play by yourself at all. While there is some fun to be had with your friends, or even with strangers for that matter, it is hard to find any enjoyment with the experience at all on your own. With all of the better cooperative multiplayer games out there I find it hard to recommend this one at all. I have to say that I enjoyed the idea at work here. Maybe the developer will get it right with a Payday 3, because despite the all around subpar nature of it, there's the potential for a good game inside. As it stands now, there's really not much of a reason for me to recommend this one at all.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    1
    Make no mistake, this is a multiplayer game. Playing it offline without an internet connection is next to impossible due to the bafflinglyMake no mistake, this is a multiplayer game. Playing it offline without an internet connection is next to impossible due to the bafflingly stupid AI. Add PS2-level graphics, slow loading times, texture pop-in issues and you will see why this isn't worth your time. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews