Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    88
    A solid FPS that requires canny planning and teamwork to succeed. [Issue#213, p.96]
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    83
    If you like Left 4 Dead, heist movies, or multiplayer, you should be checking out Payday. The potential will be instantly obvious to you and it's well worth the $20 for the amount of replayability the game has.
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    81
    It's rough in places, but the pay-off's well worth it. [Jan 2012, p.94]
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    An insanely enjoyable game that more than makes up for its lack of polish with its devilish charm. It's worth every penny of the twenty-dollar asking price.
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    Regardless of its imperfections, if you're wondering about getting Payday: The Heist, simply ask yourself: did that scene from Heat get my blood pumping? Did those robberies in Point Break make me want to don a president mask and go buckwild on some bank tellers? Your answer will steer you in the right direction.
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    In spite of its few faults and a curious lack of a competitive multiplayer element, Payday: The Heist manages a fun and fresh cooperative experience that duly pays tribute to a genre rarely seen in games.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    77
    Payday: The Heist offers a great atmosphere, a well-done coop mode – a must-use feature due to a lacking AI – and fast paced action.
  8. Oct 20, 2011
    77
    A worthwhile multiplayer-oriented shooter that is diverse, intense, and offers plenty of depth…provided you can find it. The endless streams of foes, the stark presentation and lack of instruction, and the mediocre AI brings it down a notch, but the fun factor remains relatively high.
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    76
    A thoroughly entertaining shooter.
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    75
    Creepy masks and intense bank-robbing action make Payday: The Heist a thoroughly entertaining shooter.
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    75
    If you do have friends who can't get enough of heists, then Payday is a fine choice and an arguable target for a lawsuit from Michael Mann.
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    75
    PAYDAY: The Heist is a classic example of a diamond in the rough, a game that is just too enjoyable at its core for any of its issues to remain unforgivable.
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    75
    Working together to get the loot and the insanity of trying to get out alive are tense, enjoyable experiences. Issues like the clipping and generally "blah" presentation keep PayDay from being an amazing experience, but they don't stop it from being a good time.
  14. First you are confronted by regular police agents, then SWAT-teams and in the end even the FBI gets involved. To survive the constant stream of enemies teamwork is key. Even more so because you have a long list of objectives to fulfill. [December 2011, p.104]
  15. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    If you have a small group of friends with whom you usually buddy up to play shooters, PayDay is definitely worth looking into. Despite only having six playable missions, there's a ton of depth when you consider the titanic ranking system and numerous difficulty settings. On the flipside, if you're the sort who likes to ruck up with AI partners then caution is advised; going solo is considerably more time-consuming and almost impossible if playing on Overkill difficulty.
  16. Still, the simple, accessible premise produces plenty of fun, especially when played with friends. [Holiday 2011, p.74]
  17. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Overkill couldn't, for whatever reason, give Payday the development time it needed for its rough edges to be sanded down, but it remains a game with great potential.
  18. After a strong opening level, the campaign veers off through street shoot-outs and crystal-meth labs – there's only one other actual 'heist' after this. Hostages can be bound up and traded for a respawn, but can't be used for cover.
  19. Oct 27, 2011
    70
    There just isn't enough here to occupy a solo player thanks to spotty AI partners. One of the more original ideas for a shooter just slightly stumbles to find its way, but if you meet the right criteria, you will undoubtedly have a blast.
  20. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    Despite its flaws, I found Payday to be more Ocean's Eleven than Small Time Crooks; it's got some clever moves, a fun sense of imagination, and it makes you appreciate (and rely upon) every member of your cast. Not since Left 4 Dead have I wanted to get my buddies together and spend late nights working together towards a common goal.
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    67
    Payday: the heist isn't without its problems but it is easily one of the most enjoyable multiplayer experiences out there. Just make sure that you have some buddies on your friend's list with the game because joining up with random people, or better yet not being able to, can really suck the fun out of it all.
  22. Oct 18, 2011
    65
    I want to love Payday, but sadly I can't recommend this barebones PS3 port to anyone but the most die-hard of co-op shooter fans.
  23. Nov 26, 2011
    60
    Payday: The Heist is an ambitious game that doesn't quite manage to nail down the little things. Of course, as any good career criminal will tell you, the devil is in the details, and Payday's failure here is the difference in making off with the cash and getting gunned down in the street. The pieces were all in place, but this just fails to deliver in any meaningful way.
  24. 60
    A good idea only moderately well implemented, with the novelty of playing cops and robbers lasting only a relatively short time.
  25. Nov 6, 2011
    60
    Payday: The Heist can still be a good time with the right people, but you'd be better off playing a better game with them.
  26. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    There are moments of multiplayer thrill to be had here, but they're infrequent, and sometimes tough to get to.
  27. Nov 3, 2011
    55
    At the end of the day, Payday is a game that doesn't live up to the sum of its parts.
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    50
    Payday: The Heist could be fun when you grab friends and laugh together at all the random absurdities. I've said many times that adding co-op to your game can only make the experience better since you can enjoy with friends. Very few gamers will find a good time with Payday, but most will be wondering why they are not playing something else.
  29. Oct 24, 2011
    50
    Payday delivers the kind of multiplayer co-op shooter that's been absent on PSN, although its appeal is undercut slightly by weak presentation values and an absent online community.
  30. Nov 4, 2011
    42
    More specific classes, skills, and specializations would have been nice. Matchmaking is sporadic at best, which stinks because the game is almost useless as a single player exercise. The ally AI won't touch any of the mission-specific objectives, which means you've got to babysit that drill by yourself.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I had the pleasure of playing Payday at Gamescom 2011 and I have to say it rocks! It's a very fun 4-player co-op experience with lots of action. In order to succeed in the game, you need to coordinate your efforts well with the other players. You are playing against the clock with more and more cops and FBI agents showing up, trying to stop you and your crew of bank robbers. And yes, you are the bad guys in this game. The graphics also deserve special mention as they look gorgeous. I'm very much looking forward to playing the final game. Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    When I saw the user score on metacritic and the critics score, I was a bit sceptical if this is a good game. At the end I bought it, because a friend had it and he said it was a good game. OH MY GOD, after I played it an hour I realised how awesome this game is. The idea of doing heists is just a very good idea for a game. Fortunately, there is an AI-Director like in l4d2, that means that everytime, the situation will be different (for example the bank manager will be at another place etc.) Also, if you kill civilians, more cops will come (and stronger types of cops, such as SWAT or special units). That means that the heists will never get boring. The gameplay is exactly what you want from a FPS, the weapons feel great and the controls are precise. There are also level ups (you can unlock weapons, perks etc), some kind of perks (you can choose between ammo bag or health bag or you can choose between having more ammo or being stronger for example). This class thing is also important, since you really need to work together and have a good plan. The game is quite challenging, so coop teamwork is essential. Because you have to work together its very fun and tactical, especially if you play with friends. The best thing is, that it only costs 20 bucks. The only contra thing I have is, that the upgrade stuff isnt explain very good (you have to press tab while in the game, and choose the class you want to upgrade in the next level up). The graphics arent exactly crysis, but they look good (in my opinion). Finally I can only say, if you are tired of all these military FPS or just want to experience something unique in FPS or love movies like heat or the town or just want to play a great game, then go and buy payday. I give it a ten since some morrons give it a 0 (normally I would give a 9). PS: sorry for bad english^^ Full Review »
  3. Bas
    Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Payday: The Heist is just awesome. If you're looking for one of those just, pure fun games that are coop, this is one of the best. Payday falls short of a 10 because of reasons like there's no tutorials for anything, nothing explains how you level up, etc. The gunplay is somewhat not smooth, but you will easily get used to it and won't even notice when you're really in the game. Almost everything else about the game is awesome. It is very frantic, strategic, and has a fast pace. There are multiple ways to do a mission and because of this, and the fact that enemies are always in different places and attacking you differently, the game has an amazing replayability even though there are only 6 missions (at launch). Payday: The Heist is without a doubt one of the best downloadable games this year, is only $20, and an absolute must buy if you like coop shooters. 9/10. Full Review »