User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 62
  2. Negative: 12 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I had the pleasure of playing Payday at Gamescom 2011 and I have to say it rocks! It's a very fun 4-player co-op experience with lots of action. In order to succeed in the game, you need to coordinate your efforts well with the other players. You are playing against the clock with more and more cops and FBI agents showing up, trying to stop you and your crew of bank robbers. And yes, you are the bad guys in this game. The graphics also deserve special mention as they look gorgeous. I'm very much looking forward to playing the final game. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    Not much to do in the game besides shoot civillians, and you're not supposed to do that. Clumsy lobby menus. Average graphics. Characters are practically invincible. Kinda fun for 5 mins, but I wouldn't bother playing this much longer.
  3. Bas
    Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Payday: The Heist is just awesome. If you're looking for one of those just, pure fun games that are coop, this is one of the best. Payday falls short of a 10 because of reasons like there's no tutorials for anything, nothing explains how you level up, etc. The gunplay is somewhat not smooth, but you will easily get used to it and won't even notice when you're really in the game. Almost everything else about the game is awesome. It is very frantic, strategic, and has a fast pace. There are multiple ways to do a mission and because of this, and the fact that enemies are always in different places and attacking you differently, the game has an amazing replayability even though there are only 6 missions (at launch). Payday: The Heist is without a doubt one of the best downloadable games this year, is only $20, and an absolute must buy if you like coop shooters. 9/10. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    When I saw the user score on metacritic and the critics score, I was a bit sceptical if this is a good game. At the end I bought it, because a friend had it and he said it was a good game. OH MY GOD, after I played it an hour I realised how awesome this game is. The idea of doing heists is just a very good idea for a game. Fortunately, there is an AI-Director like in l4d2, that means that everytime, the situation will be different (for example the bank manager will be at another place etc.) Also, if you kill civilians, more cops will come (and stronger types of cops, such as SWAT or special units). That means that the heists will never get boring. The gameplay is exactly what you want from a FPS, the weapons feel great and the controls are precise. There are also level ups (you can unlock weapons, perks etc), some kind of perks (you can choose between ammo bag or health bag or you can choose between having more ammo or being stronger for example). This class thing is also important, since you really need to work together and have a good plan. The game is quite challenging, so coop teamwork is essential. Because you have to work together its very fun and tactical, especially if you play with friends. The best thing is, that it only costs 20 bucks. The only contra thing I have is, that the upgrade stuff isnt explain very good (you have to press tab while in the game, and choose the class you want to upgrade in the next level up). The graphics arent exactly crysis, but they look good (in my opinion). Finally I can only say, if you are tired of all these military FPS or just want to experience something unique in FPS or love movies like heat or the town or just want to play a great game, then go and buy payday. I give it a ten since some morrons give it a 0 (normally I would give a 9). PS: sorry for bad english^^ Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    I've been waiting for a game like this for years, since I first saw the movie "Heat". Intense firefights, 4-player co-op, missions changing structure like enemy placements each time you play, very impressive. That said, has some glaring faults at times. The game doesn't gives you a clear idea on how to proceed on the mission some (find an object, blow this up), or even how to change classes during the game, etc.
    Graphics get the job done, aiming a bit slippery, and some rough animations hold this game back from being a PSN game of the year, but a damn good start.
    Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2012
    3
    If I weigh up the fors and againsts on this game, I would reach the conclusion that it can get a maximum of 3/10 from me. There are 6 levels that come with the game, and the retail price at launch was £15. So effectively you're paying £3 per level (since you can't do anything other than play each level through). So in terms of value for money, it's basically like buying an expensive map pack DLC. So what about the level design itself? There is absolutely no innovation whatsoever. All the levels are the same, with almost no thought gone into level design at all. Not only are the levels not at all suspensful or intesne (as you'd expect from say, a bank robbery), but they are so predictable and lifeless too. Characters are copy and pasted, and are practically pointless as they seem like Joker's henchmen from a Batman movie. There's no sense that you're simulating an exciting heist and that there is a lot of pressure or co-ordination required. It's extremely linear and scripted, so feels very bland and unrealistic. Even GTA IV and GTA Vice City did better heists. The best by far is the bank robbery in Mafia 1 as that is not only realistic and believable (because you literally do everything - the planning, setting up, entry, execution and escape). Fair enough, the AI guards are placed in different spots each time but the game's mechanics are so broken it might as well be the same. Graphics on human models are the worst I've seen in this generation, and their intelligence is also questionable. Health system is ambigious, and enemies are not only dull, repetitive and dumb but also annoying when you get tazered and can't do anything. Graphics are average for an arcade game, but shockingly bad for a retail release. You also can't customise anything until you level up and the game automatically unlocks advantages such as extra damage and ammo capacity along with weapons. Ammo is a big problem also in this game. So what is there to stop this being a 0/10? Well, the controls are sensible and the combat is solid. Online is almost lag-free; a welcome change from most PS3 games. I suppose if you play with people you know it has potential to be fun, but so do Nintendo Wii games. If we're purely judging the game, the only thing it's actually not totally messed up is controls and online lag. Other than that, I see no reason to get this game at all. Lack of levels, short levels, boring, repetitive, lack of action, terrible mechanics for stealth, no involvement from the player, completely scripted and not at all intesnse, immersive or engaging. A viable concept if executed correctly but I really can't see how it could have possibly been executed any worse. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    I tried the trial to this game before buying, and finally caved in and bought it; for a reason. This game is fantastic for a PSN title. I didn't expect much, as a lot of First Person Shooters aren't very good (Such as Modern Combat 2: Domination, with bad graphics, clunky aiming and bad controls), but I've gotta say Payday stands out. It's graphics are decent for a PSN game. It's controls are well mapped, the different heists are dynamic, yet the only two things that stop me from giving this game a 10 is the bad team mate AI and it's poor aiming controls. It can jerk you around when in your iron sights and it can spin you in a 180 degree direction when you only meant to turn a corner. This game is like Left 4 Dead and Kane and Lynch 2's multiplayer got real close and had a baby. It's co-op works so well in a hi-octane environment, it makes a very cinematic, frantic feeling to it's gameplay. But besides it's shortcomings that I cannot submit this review without saying this game is a must-have for people who actively buy PSN games, because this is another example of a game better than a lot of retail games. Expand
  8. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    Brilliant shooter action, just the kind of game I've been waiting for, specially since Rage was such a huge let down, this came right down my alley! Intense combat, nice maps and great music, however I could have wished for more guns to go along with it. PC version is better. Builder out.
  9. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    This game is a nice little game to play when your bored of all your other games. And for only $20 its a very good purchase. It has a good amount of detail in the missions, and they never seem to get old for me. The leveling up system is great, makes you want to go and play it even more to get everything unlocked. The only real problem i had with it, is the tazer people who will taze you till your down, which really gets in the way. They seem a little to overpowered. But besides that, DEFIANTLY get this game. Expand
  10. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    Payday: The Heist is actually a thrilling and fun game. The difficulty for it is ridiculously hard but that's the key as it makes you work to achieve and finish a heist. As you work hard to survive and wait for your objectives to finish, you really feel like your one of the robbers which is an amazing experience.
  11. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    This is not the best game ever made. Its not the best co-op game ever made. Who cares? As long as you have at least one friend with you, its crazy fun! Even though it is quite repetitive with only 6 heists (plus an additional 2 if you buy the Wolf Pack), each time you play a certain heist its different. For example on the first heist, the first objective is to find a bank manager. He can be in one of maybe seven or eight different locations. I'd give this a 10 if the enemy AI weren't so stupid and if some of the animations weren't so lazy. But, I do think this game is worth $20 dollars. Expand
  12. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Not much to do in this game actually. Clumsy controls, subpar graphics. A bit of fun for the first 10 minutes but that's about it. Feels like an unfinished game somehow.
  13. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    Payday the Heist is a very fun 4-player co-operative game. It has a few flaws, for example the average graphics and poor ally AI, although the enemy AI is quite good. The game is very hard to play on single-player(due to poor allies AI), but if you can find a good match in multiplayer, it is fairly easy. The game´s 6 heists may not seem like much, but have great variety and replayabilty, due to the 149 reputation levels. The game also has TONS of unlocks. There are lots of different enemies, from simple bank guards to massive juggernauts. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    Ok game, just for a difference. It's very necessary to have some good friends to play with because otherwise the game is very hard. I hope the coming DLC's will give extra play hours.
  15. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    this game is pretty good if your into to coop. the game is pretty fun if your especially into left 4 dead type games.the gameplay is pretty good its fun. but the replayibility isnt that good its fun to go through a couple times but to me can become tedious and boring. so i would only suggest this for coop only. also i wouldnt recommend this unless you have online. sure you can play with the ai bots but they are like brain dead zombies half the time so like i said if your into coop go pickup the game. Expand
  16. Apr 14, 2012
    5
    Uh, this is the same game over and over EVERY mission. It's a strange first person shooter with questionable physics (I just need to point my weapon "near" a cop, he'll die). Missions are segmented into multiple parts, each being revealed to you AFTER you complete the previous portion and fought off a wave of cops. Then a mysterious voice directs you back and forth, over and over, fighting wave after wave of cops, completing portions of the mission. This goes on EVERY mission for several waves until you finally finish the mission or get arrested (I've never seen anyone actually die on MY team). Initially it's fun and exciting because how often are you the bad guys after all, but it lacks any real sense of reality. Just call it an arcade enemy-wave shooter. Being stuck with the same weapons over and over (depending on which character you take) is no fun neither, and I can't see playing the game long enough to acquire the XP to unlock more goodies (I've played a few hours and so far have an ammo bag and a different mask... how fun...). The AI is OK, and I never played with 3 other humans but I don't think that would fix the enemy-wave combat system. It's arcade fun if you're drinking, but if you're looking for a game that's more real, dig out your copy of Rainbow 6. Expand
  17. May 27, 2013
    8
    It's left 4 dead but with cops instead of zombies and I'm lovin it. The game is really hard (even on easy) and the missions are slightly randomized every time you play.
  18. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    This game is TERRIBLY UNDERRATED! Personally, It is one of the best games I've ever played! I couldn't stand looking at this low score it doesn't even deserve. 6 heists 2 DLC heists that you don't even have to pay for to play them is an amazing deal! Very good level design and long in lenght with a lot of replayability. This game shouldn't be judged on the Singleplayer experience that you're not even supposed to play! The game is difficult and requires strategy and teamwork in order to make it out alive, which makes for an extremely intense and enjoyable experience.

    Little rant: Why the hell does Payday 2 have a slightly bigger score despite being bug filled, easier, and overall a worse game.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    If you have a small group of friends with whom you usually buddy up to play shooters, PayDay is definitely worth looking into. Despite only having six playable missions, there's a ton of depth when you consider the titanic ranking system and numerous difficulty settings. On the flipside, if you're the sort who likes to ruck up with AI partners then caution is advised; going solo is considerably more time-consuming and almost impossible if playing on Overkill difficulty.
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    88
    A solid FPS that requires canny planning and teamwork to succeed. [Issue#213, p.96]
  3. First you are confronted by regular police agents, then SWAT-teams and in the end even the FBI gets involved. To survive the constant stream of enemies teamwork is key. Even more so because you have a long list of objectives to fulfill. [December 2011, p.104]