• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2011
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 25, 2011
    100
    PixelJunk Shooter 2 builds on the formula of its predecessor, with shooting, puzzles, traps, and a lot of various fluids to play with. The new gameplay mechanics are perfect and with them, Shooter 2, thanks to a well balanced difficulty, is an impeccable action title. Too bad that the multiplayer is but a small bonus, but it's not reason enough not to play the game!
  2. 100
    Shines in every way one could expect from a downloadable title, and it simply can't come more highly recommended.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    95
    PixelJunk Shooter 2 is Q-Games' most complete and robust package yet, offering not only an excellently polished single-player campaign, but also what will likely go down in history as one of the year's best multiplayer experiences.
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    95
    There really isn't one negative thing I can say about PixelJunk Shooter 2. The game is even better than I thought it was going to be. And after loving the original, I had high expectations!
  5. Apr 25, 2011
    90
    A lot like difficult classics like Mega Man or Ghouls 'N Ghosts in that the trials themselves are half the fun. [Issue#108, p.127]
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    90
    More of the same in a good way rather than a lazy more of the same. [Issue#204, p.96]
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    It has the same base as the first game, but adds lots of new dangers and interactive mazes that make it more than an expansion. And also something that extends the duration of the game: competitive and cooperative multiplayer modes.
  8. Mar 3, 2011
    90
    With its PixelJunk Shooter series, Q-Games has created some fascinating, beautiful worlds that are fun to explore and play in. And to its credit, PixelJunk Shooter 2 manages to successfully do what every sequel hopes to accomplish -- improve on the original in almost every way.
  9. Mar 1, 2011
    90
    The campaign seemed to last a good bit longer than the original did at just over seven hours with a good reason to replay those levels to get all survivors and diamonds that gives it a lot of replay value before the multiplayer factors in. If you enjoyed PixelJunk Shooter, there's no reason to skip out on the sequel.
  10. Mar 1, 2011
    90
    Almost perfect control in this puzzle shooter with lots of smart ideas. A fun multiplayer mode and the addictive co-op makes it a brilliant sequel to a great game.
  11. Apr 6, 2011
    88
    That said, however, Pixeljunk Shooter 2 is an excellent game. With a fresh graphical style, tight controls, and innovative gameplay, it's everything a downloadable game should be. While there are some minor stumbles for the more casual, puzzle-oriented player, that shouldn't discourage anyone who's curious from picking it up.
  12. Apr 10, 2011
    87
    Add a new competitive online mode (only two players, mind) where you can earn upgrades for your ship and you're looking at another must-buy. [May 2011, p.92]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire,ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire, water... a few more tricks and treats i won't... good sequel ...or expansion pack whichever you prefer... in any case... it has renewed my interest in the first pixel junk shooter i'm playing it now.. again ... that to me is the mark of a good sequel Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2011
    9
    Really liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did notReally liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did not see coming the first couple times), and online battles. The dark stages are a lot of fun. There isn't much room for error for the last boss, but nothing too difficult, I think they struck a good balance. The co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy, too (killing them with the lave suit is hilarious!) My only problem with is that I wish it was longer. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2011
    4
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play around with.
    Graphics are equally basic and crisp as the first game.

    But, this all doesn't matter actually, because compared to part one it's much too diffucult to possibly enjoy. i gave up after the first three levels.
    Full Review »