• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2011
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    70
    But while this multiplayer mode is one of the game's most successful additions, it's curious that a series known for rejecting convention seems to be embracing the 'bigger, better, more' mentality here.
  2. 70
    A slightly disappointing sequel that abandons much of the mellow charm of the original in favour of more action and a lot more aggravation.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    60
    More of an "expansion" than a true sequel, PixelJunk Shooter 2 manages to offer some great gaming moments, paired with unique visuals. On the downside, it tends to get too repetitive and has a checkpoint system that's one of the most unfair we've ever seen.
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    70
    It tries to expand the first game's experience by adding more length and difficulty, but a bad balance makes it a slightly worse game.
  5. Apr 7, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Mar 1, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed Shooter 2 enough to recommend it, but I don't see myself replaying levels in order to find all the secrets, like I did for the first game. At least not without help.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire,ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire, water... a few more tricks and treats i won't... good sequel ...or expansion pack whichever you prefer... in any case... it has renewed my interest in the first pixel junk shooter i'm playing it now.. again ... that to me is the mark of a good sequel Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2011
    9
    Really liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did notReally liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did not see coming the first couple times), and online battles. The dark stages are a lot of fun. There isn't much room for error for the last boss, but nothing too difficult, I think they struck a good balance. The co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy, too (killing them with the lave suit is hilarious!) My only problem with is that I wish it was longer. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2011
    4
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play around with.
    Graphics are equally basic and crisp as the first game.

    But, this all doesn't matter actually, because compared to part one it's much too diffucult to possibly enjoy. i gave up after the first three levels.
    Full Review »