• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Dec 10, 2009
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. A fantastic piece of downloadable software, PixelJunk Shooter becomes another reason that the PSN stands on its own two legs against Microsoft's XBLA.
  2. 100
    Among the already-unique PixelJunk games, Shooter manages to stand out.
  3. 95
    If you consider yourself a gamer and fancy the online stores, there is no excuse not to play Shooter.
  4. 93
    Don't miss this. [Issue#187, p.86]
  5. 91
    A brilliantly simple and addictive title, which is basically what we've come to expect from Q-Games. The mix of elements and the way they're handled is nothing short of fantastic, and all of the collection mechanics make for an experience that you can really dig in to. Absolutely do not miss this.
  6. A really interesting combination of a cave shooter and a action puzzler. The liquids are fun and they work really well. [Jan 2010]
  7. Fun and constant self-challenging are key to PixelJunk, to take apparently simple ideas and take them to practice with amazing mastery. Shooter is the best example of that, you won't be able to leave the gamepad until exploring the last gap of this changing world.
  8. So good that the old adage of "quality, not quantity" has never felt more appropriate. [Issue#91, p.111]
  9. PixelJunk Shooter combines the best aspects of old school shooters with its own unique brand of environmental puzzles to create a shooting experience unlike any other.
  10. There can be no doubt that the game's over too soon, but the journey is still worth travelling. When water meets lava... Well, that's worth the asking price alone.
  11. The animations and interaction of on-screen elements ooze character, and add a good dash of humour. [Jan 2010, p.113]
  12. The fourth instalment in the PixelJunk series is perhaps their best, but wherever you stand, this shooter with adventure elements is original and full of style.
  13. Briskness, innovation, charm and intelligence. That's what Q Games' PixelJunk series stands for. In those regards Shooter definitely is no exception. Easily one of the best downloadable titles of the year.
  14. Pixeljunk Shooter is a unique and addictive shooter, its got plenty to keep you thinking and every minute playing it is a joy. For the asking price its hard to fault, Highly recommended
  15. PixelJunk Shooter is another great new entry in the pixelJunk series: an accessible but challenging work of art, with great visuals and addictive gameplay. One of the best PSN exclusives yet.
  16. PixelJunk Shooter is simple, fun, and addicting, but a tad short. Nonetheless, Shooter is quite possibly the best bang for your buck on PSN.
  17. It’s rather difficult to fault the game on any conceivable level, but one minor criticism is that the game-length-to-game-price ratio is a bit uneven.
  18. Arguably PixelJunk's finest game, which is quite something considering their back catalogue. [Feb 2010, p.77]
  19. Another superb PSN offering from the Pixeljunk team. [Feb 2010, p.92]
  20. Yet another stellar title for the team. They have taken what is a classic concept and gone against the grain to produce something clean and fresh for us gamers to enjoy.
  21. 89
    A new great part in the PixelJunk franchise. The gameplay is really simple, but fun and playing this game with your friends will be more fun. Q-Games delivers with this new part a great one and all of the fans of the previous PixelJunk games shouldn’t miss this one.
  22. 89
    Q-Games has succeeded in bringing a classic game genre back to life for the fourth time in a row, this time with a very innovative PixelJunk Shooter. Puzzling with water, lava and ice – while shooting enemies and saving miners – is surprisingly fluent and offers quite some challenge without getting frustrating. This game comes highly recommended. We look forward to PixelJunk Shooter: Encore.
  23. PixelJunk Shooter isn't my favorite entry from Q-Games (Eden holds that distinction), but it is one of my favorite games of 2009 - arcade or otherwise.
  24. When it comes down to it, there's no denying that Shooter is over too soon. Far too soon. Even for completionists, there's likely less than five hours' worth of play in the singleplayer, with the only real replayability in the local co-op. If there was online multiplayer this wouldn't be an issue, but it is. Not a huge issue, not a deal breaking issue, not something worth complaining about too much, but an issue.
  25. This game shows how a flash-based shooter should be: simple to use and fun as hell!
  26. At the end of 2009, if you were of the mind that twin stick shooters had been done to death, please allow PixelJunk Shooter to quietly defy your expectations.
  27. PixelJunk Shooter is another great game in this series, though it’s an experience that ends quite a bit sooner than its predecessors that left us wanting more in the best way possible.
  28. PixelJunk Shooter is slick, addictive, and memorable, and more than worth the $10 dollars it'll set you back. It's also clear that this is just the first installment in what we're hoping is a long, ongoing inquiry into the science of fun.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What can I say about Pixel Junk Shooter? First and foremost it!s a game that I've been dreaming for years! It's a game that has been made by game enthusiasts to game enthusiasts. I enjoyed every minutes, every seconds of this game. It made me feel the excite mend that I was feeling when I first played legendary game Another World years ago. Pure fun. Pure addictive. Plus state of art genius levels and bosses designs. You can't get one which is better than this! Simple mechanics yet, truly, truly a beautiful game. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    PixelJunk Shooter is the first PixelJunk game I've ever really played. I've played the demos of Eden, Monsters, and Shooter all previously, and I've even bought all of them since then (plus Racers 2nd Lap and Eden on PC), but with backlogs what they are these days Shooter is the first one I've actually gotten around to playing. I say that to really say while I'm interested in the PixelJunk series, I didn't go into this as a pre-existing fan.

    The strongest points of Shooter are its clean, almost vector-like graphics, its bass-heavy soundtrack, and its unique fluid mechanics. Any one of these aspects could warrant a purchase to the right person, but the three in unison produce quite the artistic tour de force. Practically in trade-off for this however is a short gameplay length (Braid, Limbo), a fairly easy difficulty (Fez), and when you get down to it, generally unimaginative gameplay mechanics (Fez, again).

    Is it fun? Yeeesss... for a time. But few surprises are thrown your way and it's over right when it's gotten warmed up. The core gameplay is, if you look past the unique fluid mechanics, fairly simple. Fly around, collect survivors, kill a few token baddies. It's hardly taxing and fairly evident where the majority of planning and development went to. Two players can help to liven things up a bit, but is generally quite unnecessary.

    At a little over 4 hours in length its perfectly reasonable for a game of its type, though not a strong point. I'll mention that there's a "collect all the hidden gems mechanic" to extend the gameplay by a little bit, but not being much of a completionist, it really did nothing for me and honestly seemed rather tedious. But all in all Shooter is one of those games where the art, the sound, and the mechanics come together well for an experience greater than the sum of its parts.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    This game is really fun. Sort of like the "Kirby" games, it is easy - if you want to beat it, you surely will. I found it was very short too - cleared it in under a couple days. So why the high score? The core mechanics feel really good to interact with. The visuals are crisp, distinct and lively. The music by High Frequency Bandwidth is awesome. Also, even after you blast through it, there's the challenge of finding all the hidden diamonds and climbing the leaderboards. It's a good balance - most people can see the whole game, but those who want more challenge can push themselves to do better.
    The sequel pretty much threw that out the window and went for the hardest thing they could possibly make, so beware of that - but here I'm reviewing the first game, and it's a must have for PSN shooter, or PixelJunk/Q Games fans.
    Full Review »